SWISH15

Rookie
geelong
Thought the big fellow had a great game last night. He really pushed hard to make himself a target and pushed hard forward a couple of times which is something i haven't seen from him in the past. I know the opposition ruck's weren't much chop however good to see the Mark have more of presence and hopefully coming up to the business end of the season he can continue these things

I agree.

I admit im not a massive fan but last night i actually was proud of the big fella, if he plays like that every week he's going to win a lot of people over.

Keep it up Blakey and we'll have the complete team

Otten's return has given Blake much more confidence. He is having an impact himself now around the ground, a couple of times Blake would position himself as a forward target, and he would involve himself in the midfield as a link player. Otten's presence also adds so much more around the ground in the ruck, and Blake is now able to continue to develop without the pressure of being the main man in the ruck. At his tender age, it was a hard task to be the main man in the ruck against older, stronger opponents early in the season, and to be honest for Geelong to go 8-1 in that time is a credit to the side.

Blake is coming along very well, and will certainly justify his selection as the future of the ruck over King last season. Ottens/Blake as a tag team ruck combination is fantastic for the team, and it's no surprise that since their reunification as a tag-team has seen Geelong starting to put the afterburners on. Blake is doing very well now.

Reasonable game from Blakey, only had 54% TOG, but was practically the complete show; plenty of hitouts, high disposal efficiency, good contested mark, kicked a goal and should have kicked another. Is beginning to show he could potentially be a strong No 1 ruck and not merely the perenial backup.

He's developing very well, and is again showing that the club made the right call in the trade period.

A couple of times last night i saw him really throw his weight around, which is an area he has struggled with in the past.

His hands are getting far better too.
He's holding more and more of his mark attempts, and last night alone he matched the seasons contested mark tally of his predecessor ;)

He deserves the chance to play in a premiership, so hopefully that happens this year.

Being the number one ruckman whilst Ottens was out has been the best thing that happened to Blake. It's helped him work on his play around the ground, and also his tapwork, last night was first-rate.

A couple of times last night i saw him really throw his weight around, which is an area he has struggled with in the past.

That's what really stood out for me as well... he looked a lot more committed to being an 'enforcer' around the stoppages and finally started using his weight to gain the best position at the ball-ups. He's improved a hell of a lot in his link-up play too - these days it's not unusual to see him be part of a chain of handballs that leads to a goal.

I definitely have more confidence in him now and having Ottens back out there helps a lot... although whenever he does get the footy, I still find myself yelling "Don't kick it! Hurry up and handball the damn thing!" ;)

Best thing about Blake is that he is a competitor and gives his all, is getting the most out of his footy, would much rather that than someone who has maybe more skill but rests on his laurelles

Maybe Bomber can get some kicking practice into the young man!

I love watching him, he always brings a bit of a chuckle and that when we see him get the ball... always followed by "get rid of it!" or "kick a goal!".

He's good value in my book :P

I'm old enough to remember Rod Blake and he became a star @ 28yo. Mark is ahead of him, imo, and I'm a huge fan.Would be great if the 22 on the park against Crows gets to play in the big one, without getting ahead of ourselves . I reckon that is our best 22. Apologies to Harry, and Prismall, but the blend on Friday seemed perfect. Perhaps against Hawks, we may need a taller defender, but I love Hunt, Rooke, Scarlo, Enright, Wojo, Harley, and Dasher, so if all available, how do we improve? The Otto/Blake combo is EXCELLENT, same with Stokes/Varcoe.

Blake's kicking has actually improved quite a lot.

His shot for goal wasn't the best example, but generally his field kicking is pretty solid these days.

As an aside, who'd have thought he'd have kicked 5 goals by this stage of the year?

I agree but I think if I had any criticism of him right now it is that he gets pushed aside far too easily.

he needs to develop more to his game, as at the moment he can't be relied upon to do something special, or turn a game is required

if you look at ottens he palms to the mids, whereas blake does not give the mids the same advantage

around the ground he still looks lost, needs to ensure he mans up, and provides a target when we go forward

if you are waiting till he is 28 for him to be a ripper, i'd suggest he will be elsewhere, needs to to dominate in next 2 years, otherwise will be another peter street, paul chambers

they too could tap ruck, but were useless around the ground
having said that, i think he needs a rest, as i think he and Hawk had too big a preseason and are now flat, a couple of weeks off after the dawks game might do him some good, going into the finals (given he carried the majority of the ruck duties early in the season)

what took you so long forrest. We all know you hate Blake and have a chubby for Mumford. I think your opinions are a little biased mate.

Blakey taps pretty well to the mids advantage so I disagree with you there. He is no Dean Cox and never will be. He has played well over the last few weeks and I thought against adelaide he worked really hard in the midfield as a link up player and got some handy touches.

what took you so long forrest. We all know you hate Blake and have a chubby for Mumford. I think your opinions are a little biased mate.

Blakey taps pretty well to the mids advantage so I disagree with you there. He is no Dean Cox and never will be. He has played well over the last few weeks and I thought against adelaide he worked really hard in the midfield as a link up player and got some handy touches.

there is no bias, but he will never be a no 1 ruck, that is for sure,
he needs to present more, feel like he is almost in awe

we lack a presence around the ground, which is what mummy potentially offers

both blake and taylor get pushed off their line too easily, need to work on this area of the game

as i said i think blake needs a spell after the dork game, to freshen him up for the finals, as he will need to be razor sharp

Didn't Blake and Ottens have the same advantage % this weekend?

have a close look at who causes the advantage, with ottens the mids know where the ball is going, and it is down their throat

with blake they don't have the same trust, and simply beat their oponent

if you are waiting till he is 28 for him to be a ripper, i'd suggest he will be elsewhere, needs to to dominate in next 2 years, otherwise will be another peter street, paul chambers

they too could tap ruck, but were useless around the ground

So what are you saying exactly, that he'll go backwards in the next couple of years, because he'd have to, and quite a bit at that, to be compared to Street or Chambers.

Im suprised knowone has mentioned this, but Blake doesnt have much awareness of whats going on around him, he lacks vision, where he lands, he will give the handball, without looking around for a better option..

Whereas I believe Ottens could be the most damaging ruckman in the comp, as he can push forward - and is more of a target around the ground, aswell as being more nimble than blake..

Im suprised knowone has mentioned this, but Blake doesnt have much awareness of whats going on around him, he lacks vision, where he lands, he will give the handball, without looking around for a better option..

Realise it's just a matter of perception, but I believe it's 100% opposite of what you say, he'll often pass up the first handball option to give it to someone in a better position; I recall last year he was accused of being indecisive because he didn't handball straight away, when in fact what he was doing was looking for someone better placed.

So what are you saying exactly, that he'll go backwards in the next couple of years, because he'd have to, and quite a bit at that, to be compared to Street or Chambers.

at the moment street would be just as effective as a second ruck

the young rucks coming through will push hard in the next 2 years, so he needs to advance to be ahead of them

let us not get ahead of ourselves, he is not a no 1 ruckman, and he does not look like one
he is a good 2nd ruck.

at the moment street would be just as effective as a second ruck

Have to agree to disagree with you on that.

the young rucks coming through will push hard in the next 2 years, so he needs to advance to be ahead of them

Agree, and that's what he's been doing IMO, was our most improved player last year and is continuing with that form this year.

let us not get ahead of ourselves, he is not a no 1 ruckman, and he does not look like one
he is a good 2nd ruck.

Don't think anyone believes he's a number one ruck "at present" but an excellent back up to Ottens.

Another two years in that position, honing his skills, and who knows what he'll become, but at the moment he's one half of the best ruck combo in the game.

Too slow for my liking, in mentally deciding what to do next and physically dishing it out to team mates. Everything he does looks like it’s in slow motion. The pace goes up a bit in the finals so I shudder to think how we would fare if Ottens wasn’t playing. Not hating, just stating how I see it.

Have to agree to disagree with you on that.

Agree, and that's what he's been doing IMO, was our most improved player last year and is continuing with that form this year.

Most improved player (bartel, ablett the list will go on)

Don't think anyone believes he's a number one ruck "at present" but an excellent back up to Ottens.

excellent in your opinion, not mine, good in my humble opinion

Another two years in that position, honing his skills, and who knows what he'll become, but at the moment he's one half of the best ruck combo in the game.
in years time might be playing in SA, needs to have a presence which he does not, need to sooner or later have a young AA ruck in this team