Mark Harvey

docker_johnno said:
Well sir change your signature. The best in the West is from the Port and we have the trophy to prove it.

If my noises in the powder room are right then my post is 100% accurate.

Lets analyse this. Harvey wants a top job, he was directly below Sheedy, He was wooed west to become the highest paid assistant ever, He came to Fremantle good list (Better than the Bombers) CC's job on the line was likely in most eyes to take the Freo job during the year.

The situation now looks like CC is safe, meanwhile Sheedy has been hanging around like Johnny Howard and it finally his time is coming to an end. Did you see the Essendon heavy on 7 news tonight saying Sheedy's job is 100% safe? A sure sign a coach is going to go. All good things must come to and end and Kevin has certainly had his time and done a fantastic job.

Harvey is the ideal man with his experience to get the job he has been waiting for the trip west has not hurt his chances one little bit.

All of you seem really touchy about this. He is an assistant coach, a good one but it is not the end of the world if he goes.

That's where you're wrong.

docker_johnno said:
Lets analyse this. Harvey wants a top job, he was directly below Sheedy, He was wooed west to become the highest paid assistant ever, He came to Fremantle good list (Better than the Bombers) CC's job on the line was likely in most eyes to take the Freo job during the year.

The situation now looks like CC is safe, meanwhile Sheedy has been hanging around like Johnny Howard and it finally his time is coming to an end. Did you see the Essendon heavy on 7 news tonight saying Sheedy's job is 100% safe? A sure sign a coach is going to go. All good things must come to and end and Kevin has certainly had his time and done a fantastic job.

Harvey is the ideal man with his experience to get the job he has been waiting for the trip west has not hurt his chances one little bit.

All of you seem really touchy about this. He is an assistant coach, a good one but it is not the end of the world if he goes.

Harvey wasn't directly below Sheedy. Gary O'Donnell is seen as a better coach by the bombers, so Harvey came across to be first in line for the Freo job if/when CC gets the heave ho.

Who decided Connolly is safe? Sure he got a lot of people back on side with the way he handled the Tassie situation and by winning the derby, but things can change quickly. If we lose to the roos or richmond the knives will be out again.

The Essendon CEO saying Sheedy's job is safe is a sure indication that his days are numbered? Hart and Schwab have been defending Connolly for 2 years, and he's still here. Sheedy is still twice the coach Connolly will ever be.

If Mark Williams, Denis Pagan or Bomber Thompson are interested in the bombers job at seasons end, do you think Mark Harvey will be ahead of those three?

I'm not touchy about it, I just disagree with you. I haven't seen a huge difference since Harvey arrived (we're still inconsistent) and wouldn't be disappointed if he left, aslong as Connolly also departs if we don't win a final. I want an experienced coach if we are looking at seasons end, not another untried assistant.

Redgum said:
I would not like to lose Harvey, If CC just keeps Freo performing as a 'middle of the road' team, which is all we have been , I cannot see the point of any more suffering of 'same old same old'. What I will say and I have been watching them train for the last 5 years is a DEFINATE change with the appointment of Harvey and Shaw. Players have jumped to new levels, JJ being a prime example. They are definately no longer a 'soft touch' team. I am 100% positive this new hardness at the ball and opposition is directly linked to Harvey. I like it and I want to see more of it, so that means Harvey should never be released.

Who is going to sack connolly if its the "same old"? The same people who appointed him and extended his contract will this be there.

Redgum said:
I would not like to lose Harvey, If CC just keeps Freo performing as a 'middle of the road' team, which is all we have been , I cannot see the point of any more suffering of 'same old same old'. What I will say and I have been watching them train for the last 5 years is a DEFINATE change with the appointment of Harvey and Shaw. Players have jumped to new levels, JJ being a prime example. They are definately no longer a 'soft touch' team. I am 100% positive this new hardness at the ball and opposition is directly linked to Harvey. I like it and I want to see more of it, so that means Harvey should never be released.

I agree. If there has been any influences this year, it has been Harvey and Shaw. I always (and still do) believe that CC doesn't apply good tactics when the heat is on. As another poster said, a few loses to lower teams i.e. Roos, Richmond and out will come the knives.

Connolly is safe I am right behind him, he is doing as good a job as any. The weekend was an abboration, winning teams dont play well after derbys, the eagles lost at home after their last.

The board have a lot to do with the club and they see first hand all the good work connolly is doing and they know it is the players who are letting him down.

dominguez said:
I want an experienced coach if we are looking at seasons end, not another untried assistant.

If CC is given the heave-ho I would like to see a new head coach that fires up the players!

We seem to have a head coach and a players leadership group that is incapable of firing each other up for a game and during a game.

So many times after an abysmal quarter of footy by the boys, CC is seen playing with the magnetic board. GET STUCK INTO THE PLAYERS! GIV EM SOME FIRE! Good teams have players that can 'coach' themselves out of poor play during a game. We dont have any.

malpaso said:
If CC is given the heave-ho I would like to see a new head coach that fires up the players!

We seem to have a head coach and a players leadership group that is incapable of firing each other up for a game and during a game.

So many times after an abysmal quarter of footy by the boys, CC is seen playing with the magnetic board. GET STUCK INTO THE PLAYERS! GIV EM SOME FIRE! Good teams have players that can 'coach' themselves out of poor play during a game. We dont have any.

Laidley might be worth considering. He certainly has the grumpy quotient you mention.
Out of favour at North ATM.

Slacker said:
Laidley might be worth considering. He certainly has the grumpy quotient you mention.
Out of favour at North ATM.

I can't stand Laidley, I recall a few times that he seemed to place the blame squarely on his players after a loss and I don't think that's good coaching! I'd be spewin if we ended up with him!

stylor said:
I can't stand Laidley, I recall a few times that he seemed to place the blame squarely on his players after a loss and I don't think that's good coaching! I'd be spewin if we ended up with him!
Just throwing it out there.

I agree that his stocks are down this season, however, he is a disicplinarian type coach and he has extracted some pretty good consistent performances from North's squad. Seems to be what most dockers fans desire, consistency and discipline.

Blaming the players after a loss could either be:
(a) A good coach playing mind games with his team
(b) A bad coach pointing fingers
I guess we just see that one differently, but it is a judgement call.

Slacker said:

I agree that his stocks are down this season, however, he is a disicplinarian type coach and he has extracted some pretty good consistent performances from North's squad. Seems to be what most dockers fans desire, consistency and discipline.

lol , go back and check their results!

They are more inconsistant than us

Slacker said:

Yeah, I've heard him mentioned as a possible coach a couple of times by friends but there's just something I don't like about him. Looks like he's going to blow a brain vessel sometimes and that can't be good! :)

RIPPER_46 said:
lol , go back and check their results!

They are more inconsistant than us
They seem to be pretty consistent when we play them.

But yeah Laidley's record has been fairly average till this year, pretty similar to CCs in fact. I guess I take the view that he has surpassed my expectations with the talent level available to him.

If, and a big if, we look to change coaches at seasons end I would be disappointed if he wasn't considered.

Slacker said:
They seem to be pretty consistent when we play them.

But yeah Laidley's record has been fairly average till this year, pretty similar to CCs in fact. I guess I take the view that he has surpassed my expectations with the talent level available to him.

If, and a big if, we look to change coaches at seasons end I would be disappointed if he wasn't considered.

Laids has done fairly average with fairly average players.

Connelly on the other hand has done fairly average with excellent cattle.

I would consider laidley an improvement. Sometimes a coach who cares enough to pop a blood vessel is a good thing.

spring6 said:

I would consider laidley an improvement. Sometimes a coach who cares enough to pop a blood vessel is a good thing.

They have both been there long enough to have the cattle that they have drafted.

I guess the difference is that Laidley took over a list of quality players who were long in the tooth, while Connolly took over a list laden with early draft picks.

Both have traded for success and failed.

docker_johnno said:
The board have a lot to do with the club and they see first hand all the good work connolly is doing and they know it is the players who are letting him down.

So we'll be trading 30+ players at seasons end? It would be much easier to get a coach that can inspire the playing group rather than make that many trades I would have thought.

spring6 said:

Laidley Comes from the Darth Vader meat head school, wouldn't go near him with a 100m pole.

docker_johnno said:
whether Jarrad has the hardness and will put his body on the line against a tough roos outfit?

I wouldn't be putting my house on it! anyway what has this got to do with Mark Harvey?