Vidman

Brisbane Lions
Man Utd, SF 49ers, Englnd
Gliding through the midfield for the NT, which gets an age concession, was Mark McLean, the 19-year-old son of Brisbane Lions veteran Michael McLean. But the eyecatcher for the NT was a scrawny 18-year-old from Darwin who kicked two rousing goals late in the match that nearly delivered his side victory.

anyone know how many games michael mc played for brisbane, and if they might pick him up under father son?

Tumbling is reckoned to go in the top five. Overated or not is debatable. As far as Mark McLean goes I think the Lions could have picked him up under the F/S rule last year. Not picking him up at all even in the draft with a late pick gives a good indication that he is not rated as a potential senior player.
One of the traps that a club can fall into is taking recruits under the F/S rule purely on sentimental reasons. (Collingwood)

Originally posted by irel
Tumbling is reckoned to go in the top five. Overated or not is debatable. As far as Mark McLean goes I think the Lions could have picked him up under the F/S rule last year. Not picking him up at all even in the draft with a late pick gives a good indication that he is not rated as a potential senior player.
One of the traps that a club can fall into is taking recruits under the F/S rule purely on sentimental reasons. (Collingwood)

Still would be nice if they rookie listed him (Magic's boy) for a year at least to have a look at him. Looking at Aaron Davey, these blokes can sometimes almost slip through if you're not careful.

Magic was a bit of a late bloomer.

Magic McLean played 88 games for Brisbane, well under the required 100 games to be able to select Mark under the father-son rule.

I understand Magic played 95 games for Footscray. Whether that can be inflated by pre-season games I'm not sure.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
Magic McLean played 88 games for Brisbane, well under the required 100 games to be able to select Mark under the father-son rule.
I understand Magic played 95 games for Footscray. Whether that can be inflated by pre-season games I'm not sure.
BOM I noticed Marcus Allan - the son of the Lions' football manager Graeme is showing some good form in the championships as well. I understand he played his footy for Collingwood and Fitzroy. Do you know how many games he played for each.
Also i believe that Craig Lambert's boys are pretty good footballers and would be of drafting age over the next year or so.

What a dilemma for the club. How to get and fit them all? Is It possible?

In the Northern Territory squad there are three McLean boys. Does anyone know what relationship the other two boys have with Magic McLean?

BOM I noticed Marcus Allan - the son of the Lions' football manager Graeme is showing some good form in the championships as well. I understand he played his footy for Collingwood and Fitzroy. Do you know how many games he played for each.
Also i believe that Craig Lambert's boys are pretty good footballers and would be of drafting age over the next year or so.

What a dilemma for the club. How to get and fit them all? Is It possible?

In the Northern Territory squad there are three McLean boys. Does anyone know what relationship the other two boys have with Magic McLean?

How old are lamberts kids? anyone know? Are there any other future father/sons over the next few years? We got a steal with jonathon brown, it'd be nice to get that sort of result again!

Originally posted by Vidman
How old are lamberts kids? anyone know? Are there any other future father/sons over the next few years? We got a steal with jonathon brown, it'd be nice to get that sort of result again!
We can't recruit the Lambert kids under the F/S rule 'cause Craig has not played 100 games for the Lions. They would be Richmond bound if they decide to go under the F/S rule. Don't know how old they are.
Marc Murphy has the potential to be another Brown type father/son recruit. He will be eligible to come to us at next years draft. Although my opinion is, we should do what the Tigers did with Thomas Roach. Get him to the club a year earlier and begin to induct him as if he is a senior member, although not on the list. In this instance it would mean relocating a year earlier and all the complication with education and family etc...that needs to be considered.

Originally posted by MSB ROYS
Lambert played 98 games!
A suggestion.
Draft Craig Lambert again give him two mora games on the bench and then in two years time when his kids are eligible we won't have any problems of getting them under the F/S rule.
Why not? He can retire soon as he reaches his 100th and we promote a rookie.
This way we wont miss out on his sons if they are any good.

A suggestion.
Draft Craig Lambert again give him two mora games on the bench and then in two years time when his kids are eligible we won't have any problems of getting them under the F/S rule.
Why not? He can retire soon as he reaches his 100th and we promote a rookie.
This way we wont miss out on his sons if they are any good.

hehehe .. just had the same idea in the Leppa - Caracella thread.

* For the stats sticklers - I reckon he actually played 96 games - 49 Bears games and 47 Lions games.

BOM I noticed Marcus Allan - the son of the Lions' football manager Graeme is showing some good form in the championships as well. I understand he played his footy for Collingwood and Fitzroy. Do you know how many games he played for each?

I think both clubs will struggle
Code:
Graeme 'Gubby' Allan

One of the AFL's most experienced football administrators, he is originally from VFA
 club Sunshine and was a skilful and creative centreman who played a total of 141 AFL 
games and kicked 126 goals with Fitzroy (1975-80) and Collingwood (1981-84 and 1986).

Haven't got an exact breakdown, but it looks like 50/50 roughly.

Lambert played 98 games!

This is what Craig Lambert said on the Aka and Macca show. (see the archive on the web page to listen). Not too sure on the full stats. I am sure Brain of Morbius will have the definative answer!

Maybe they count pre-season comp games?

Great if they do. Then we just need to rookie list him, tell'em Crackers' shoulder is crook, elevate Lamby for the wizard cup, and de-elevate him once he gets the required games (and crackers' shoulder is better, of course).

Sounds like a plan. No big risk even if the kiddies turn out to be average footballers.

Gubby, we know you love a bit of BigFooty. We'll leave it with you, righto? ;)

Originally posted by xplo
Maybe they count pre-season comp games?

Great if they do. Then we just need to rookie list him, tell'em Crackers' shoulder is crook, elevate Lamby for the wizard cup, and de-elevate him once he gets the required games (and crackers' shoulder is better, of course).

Sounds like a plan. No big risk even if the kiddies turn out to be average footballers.

Gubby, we know you love a bit of BigFooty. We'll leave it with you, righto? ;)
Need to be under 23years of age to be rookie listed, unfortunately.
So we need to draft him in the National draft or the pre season draft.:)

Gubby Allan played 87 games with the Roys and 54 with the Pies.

I'll have to check on Craig Lambert's stats but I'm pretty sure he played 96 games for Brisbane (49 of them for Brisbane Bears). He may well be counting pre-season games but I would've thought he'd have played more than two of those.

Originally posted by BrainOfMorbius
Gubby Allan played 87 games with the Roys and 54 with the Pies.

I'll have to check on Craig Lambert's stats but I'm pretty sure he played 96 games for Brisbane (49 of them for Brisbane Bears). He may well be counting pre-season games but I would've thought he'd have played more than two of those.

Can Gubby sit on the pine next to Lamby?

Here's a list of Fitzroy players who've played 100 games or more who last played for the club in or after 1970.

Name Games Years
Ron ALEXANDER 133 1976-81
Mathew ARMSTRONG 132 1987-94
Jason BALDWIN 125 1989-96
John BLAKEY 135 1985-92
Norm BROWN 181 1962-73
Scott CLAYTON 160 1981-90
Mick CONLAN 210 1977-89
Russell CROW 158 1960-64,68-73
Michael GALE 105 1986-93
Chris HANSEN 101 1977-82
Leon HARRIS 186 1979-89
Warwick IRWIN 213 1970-80,83
Grant LAWRIE 131 1978-88
Gary LAZARUS 132 1963-70
Alastair LYNCH 120 1988-93
Ross LYON 127 1985-94
David McMAHON 218 1973-84
Harvey MERRIGAN 197 1969-81
John MURPHY 214 1967-77
Kevin MURRAY 333 1955-64,67-74
John NEWNHAM 116 1964-71
Richard OSBORNE 187 1982-92
Barry PADLEY 159 1968-78
Stephen PAXMAN 102 1991-96
Tim PEKIN 107 1984-89
Gary PERT 163 1982-90
Bernie QUINLAN 189 1978-86
Matt RENDELL 164 1981-91
Paul ROOS 269 1982-94
Alex RUSCUKLIC 108 1966-74
Doug SEARL 131 1968-76
Laurie SERAFINI 146 1977-85
Chris SMITH 163 1973-82
Brett STEPHENS 133 1987-93
Alan THOMPSON 138 1970-79
Ross THORNTON 146 1980-89
David WALL 132 1967-76
Garry WILSON 268 1971-84
Jim WYND 137 1986-94

And here's a list of retired Brisbane Lions/Bears/Fitzroy players who played 100 games total between the three clubs.

Marcus Ashcroft 318
Richard Champion 119
Adrian Fletcher 107
John Gastev 113
Brad Hardie 101
Matthew Kennedy 188
Martin Leslie 107
Scott McIvor 200
Jarrod Molloy 120

Plus another who's moved on but yet to retire:

Matthew Clarke 130
(who played his 100th game for Adelaide last weekend)

Plus at least 17 current players.

I'm not sure if someone having a lend here or not - but Craig Lambert's kids are not long out of nappies so if we are looking at drafting them now - then they are going to be sensational by the time they are 18

Originally posted by Eagle Eye

I'm not sure if someone having a lend here or not - but Craig Lambert's kids are not long out of nappies so if we are looking at drafting them now - then they are going to be sensational by the time they are 18

This is good. Gives us plenty of time to get 4 games into Lambey Snr.:D

Yeah, but given that they're likely to be 'in and under' types, I reckon we can afford to get em started now. ;)