benno87

Easily our downfall over the past couple of seasons was our ability to both hit targets, and hang onto marks. Now barring a couple of stters dropped by Rocca, these numbers are very promising, especially by spine players;

Leigh Colbert -10 Marks
Jess Sinclair - 9 Marks
Nathan Thompson - 9 Marks
Shannon Watt - 8 Marks
Saverio Rocca - 8 Marks
Daniel Pratt - 7 Marks
Troy Makepeace - 7 Marks

To have 7 players with 7+ marks (A few had 6, Inc. Archer, Co Jones), is a sensational effort, our two key forwards in Rocca and Thompson had 17 between them, then 23 between our three key backmen (Brown had 5).

To be honest I look at marks with dissapointed all the time, and to see these numbers excite me!

I think you are looking at the stats a little too much here. Some of our kicks today would be lucky to go 20 or 30 meters. We were chipping the ball around heaps all day. When you chip the ball around not only does the kick count go up but so does the mark count. Better off looking at the type of marks that were taken.

Stats can be deceiving.

We got a lot of disposals and marks from mind-numbing chipping the ball around. Going backwards, sideways, back again then switch play to the opposite side of the ground despite the fact we have nobody on that side of the ground is the kind of thing that will generate a lot of meaningless stats.

If those were contested marks going forwards or defenders taking contested marks from opposition kicks then I would get excited. ;)

We played very wide and very indirect because Pagan flooded so much the ground could have had the name changed to Atlantis. But a lot of the disposals we had went nowhere in particular. Our over-use of the ball down back ended up in us coughing it up and giving the Blues some very cheap goals.

Angus1 said:
I think you are looking at the stats a little too much here. Some of our kicks today would be lucky to go 20 or 30 meters. We were chipping the ball around heaps all day. When you chip the ball around not only does the kick count go up but so does the mark count. Better off looking at the type of marks that were taken.

I agree that at one point in the 2nd Q. the chipping around got to ridiculous levels a couple of times, with no real result.

However Sinkers, on After The Game did clarify that the boys went in with a plan to hang onto the ball, find the loose man, and starve The Fever and Whitnall of space and footy.

Seemed to work a bloody treat! Some good marking all the same, i reckon benno87

The stats overstate our skills.

But how refreshing was it when the game was up for grabs in the last quarter to see Rocca and Thompson take big marks and goal. That is what we have lacked for so long (since Carey).

Two capable big forwards is a heartening sign for the Kanagas.

Contested marks is what you want and because of the way we chipped it around yesterday, I think you'd find that a lot of the marks were from a 20m pass or a sideways pass to someone unmarked because Carlton had flooded back. It wasn't the number of marks that impressed me at all. It was that the side had a specific plan for a specific game and were able to carry it out with patience and discipline.

gokangas said:
The stats overstate our skills.

But how refreshing was it when the game was up for grabs in the last quarter to see Rocca and Thompson take big marks and goal. That is what we have lacked for so long (since Carey).

Two capable big forwards is a heartening sign for the Kanagas.

17 marks between Sav & Thommo. ten more than the Fever and Big Slim combined. now that's a stat I don't mind reading

la roux said:
17 marks between Sav & Thommo. ten more than the Fever and Big Slim combined. now that's a stat I don't mind reading

Thats unreal considering the pre season that these two guys carlton guys (fever and big red) have had compared with Sav and Thomo who have barely played at all if any good football over the pre season. i would say fever and big red were at there peak saturday and watt and brown were extremely good.