Universal Love Marley

• Thread starter Thread starter wicksy

Easy now.

He does so many things right but his kicking is erratic at best. Helicopters, mongrels, blazing even makes simple drop punts look incredibly tough under no pressure. Decision making in the process also leaves plenty to be desired.

I worry about him and the frequency at which he coughs the ball up by foot resulting in the opposition hurting us on the scoreboard.

Wouldn't state it as starkly as that, maybe, but last night it was evident that his disposal by foot is his potential Achilles Heel. And mistakes in disposal coming out of the backline will be punished come finals time. But other weeks his disposal was consistently pretty good, so hopefully just an off night that led to the high clanger frequency. His attack on the ball carrier, the ball and his ability to evade and break tackles, though - no weaknesses there :)

I want to say from the outset that I think he has huge upside but I have never seen a player consistently turn the ball over as much as he does, love his intent, pace, attack on the ball and rebounding efforts but my god he has to get better disposal. Think the lead last night covered up a lot of his mistakes. Kicking is woeful times, missing targets by a good 5-10 metres. In the 4th qtr (home and hosed by this point) he had 5-6 kicks and didn't hit a target once and I'm not talking about clearing kicks either which are not expected to hit a target. Having said that I believe he has potential but needs to work on it

Yes, he produces a lot of mongrels that go no where near his target, turned it over a few times against the eagles.
Yeah, nah...;)
I do disagree Blaze...I think his kicking is sublime; I think his decision making is not there yet (actually quite average), but, mostly I think his "composure under pressure" is where he needs to improve.

Kicking is woeful times, missing targets by a good 5-10 metres. In the 4th qtr (home and hosed by this point) he had 5-6 kicks and didn't hit a target once
Agree with this. I can't remember ever seeing him beaten in a 50/50 one-on-one contest, and he also wins many where the ball is to the advantage of his opponent, but then wastes all that effort by burning the ball. Tenacious and tough as a honey badger, if he can sharpen up his disposal then all small forwards in the competition will wilt at the prospect of facing the Shaw/Williams/Toovey back line.

Yeah, nah...;)
I do disagree Blaze...I think his kicking is sublime; I think his decision making is not there yet (actually quite average), but, mostly I think his "composure under pressure" is where he needs to improve.

Sublime? :eek:

Do you remember against the eagles a few times he mongreled it straight to wce players chests after making a good run, i think most would say he is one of the worst kicks in our team with sinclair.

Still a good player

Better DE than Swanny last night ;)
Thought Marley's disposal was pretty good Friday night actually...commentator even said he was a nice kick at one point. He did some nice hit up passes under pressure deep. And the thing people need to remember about Swanny's disposal efficiency is that he gets a lot of quick hack kick forwards from congestion at stoppages to get the ball rolling in our way. When he has space and time his disposal is usually very good.

Sublime? :eek:

Do you remember against the eagles a few times he mongreled it straight to wce players chests after making a good run, i think most would say he is one of the worst kicks in our team with sinclair.

Still a good player

Or Josh Thomas... or Sidebottom... or Maxwell... or Swan... or Lynch... or Tooves... or Daisy... hell, even Heater...

We aren't a side overly blessed with elite users of the footy. That's reality. Overall, I can't recall a game this year where Williams has been below 70% disposal efficiency and with everything else he brings to the team I can certainly live with that.

Agree with others that he'll likely improve as he gets more exposure.

Look forward to guys like Broomhead, Ramsay and Oxley developing and getting senior games as they do seem very good users of the footy. They'll need to bring a lot more to the table than good disposal though to force Williams out of the side.

While his kicking can be a bit hit and miss he certainly isn't robinson crusoe there in the current collingwood team, but you gotta love his hardness at the contest and the fact that he rarely goes to ground. Especially liked in the gold coast game where Campbell Brown lined him up and hit him pretty hard, he bounced up like a flash and was back in the contest immediately. Lock for best 22 I say.

Geeze ya gotta be hard up to bump ya own post for self praise on an opposition forum :rolleyes:

Are there any more like you at home o_O

Was being facetious and love my footy regardless of the team, actually very excited by him, no harm intended.

Sorry mate its hard to judge context online sometimes, yes he is a feel good story, looked like he wasn't going to make it for a little while but he gives his heart and soul and sometimes that's enough.

I get it, no offense taken. My best mate is a Collingwood supporter so I watch you guys heaps, and Marley has really stood out to me. For ages I was trying to convince my mate who always said would only be a great small defender, that the midfield is where he should be. Tonight was confirmation for me, he looks like a little Ablett at times, great low centre of gravity, strength through the hips, explosive over the first 10 metres with long accurate kicking plus defensive pressure.

You guys are going to have a killer midfield this year with Kennedy, Adams and Williams providing that grunt you've lacked especially when Ball and Beams have been injured. Still need some xfactor at ground level in the front half of the ground but you guys will reclaim a top 4 spot this year.

I get it, no offense taken. My best mate is a Collingwood supporter so I watch you guys heaps, and Marley has really stood out to me. For ages I was trying to convince my mate who always said would only be a great small defender, that the midfield is where he should be. Tonight was confirmation for me, he looks like a little Ablett at times, great low centre of gravity, strength through the hips, explosive over the first 10 metres with long accurate kicking plus defensive pressure.

You guys are going to have a killer midfield this year with Kennedy, Adams and Williams providing that grunt you've lacked especially when Ball and Beams have been injured. Still need some xfactor at ground level in the front half of the ground but you guys will reclaim a top 4 spot this year.
Yes Williams has always been hard at the ball and ball carrier, his disposal let him down badly early on but Buckley saw something he liked - a player that played with guts and commitment so we persevered with him and he has repaid that faith handsomely. Others here have made the Abblett comparision and got laughed at. I can see the parallells and would be wrapt if marly gets 1/2 as good as Gazza, he seems to have the tools and attitude so time will tell.

Grundy has made a big difference also, not only his ruckwork but his work ethic and commitment to multiple efforts. He won me last year when Mumford tried to intimidate him at the interchange gates - young Grundy in his first handful of games didn't hesitate and virtually rag dolled mummy - which is no mean feat for anyone lol.

His sidestep is as good as any.

Love the full make up of him.

- As a defender is like a glove , has a bit of toe. Knows when to just kill a contest and knows when to sidestep.

Quickly becoming one of my favs

I'm not sure if I'd utilise him in the midfield yet.

His defensive capabilities are more of what we need atm.

I'm not sure if I'd utilise him in the midfield yet.

His defensive capabilities are more of what we need atm.
I tend to agree. If there is a dangerous small forward, like Rioli or Motlop, he is the go to guy.

Toovey is first :cool:

Been told that Marley's court case is due soon and their is real concern that he will be found guilty :(.

Anyone heard anything or is this just crap?

Been told that Marley's court case is due soon and their is real concern that he will be found guilty :(.

Anyone heard anything or is this just crap?

He didn't give the impression of being too worried about it.