Sep 17, 2006
Vic
Storm,Victory,Blue Jays
When does he come to Aus?

Re: Martine Clarke Coming ?

Is it against the rules to let him train with us before he is officially on the list? Obviously he signed a contract and trained with us so we could test him out but is there such a rule? Otherwise he could go on the Arizona trip but I doubt they would allow him anyway.

• Banned

jabso said:
Is it against the rules to let him train with us before he is officially on the list? Obviously he signed a contract and trained with us so we could test him out but is there such a rule? Otherwise he could go on the Arizona trip but I doubt they would allow him anyway.

He will be porbably working on is Aussie Rules Skills!

880475681a1526538200b577174499l%5B1%5D.jpg

Martin Clarke, Scott Pendlebury and strawberry jam on toast, a sign of the future for Collingwood?

jabso said:

I read somewhere recently that he was flying over in October so I assume there must be different rules for internatinal rookies and he'll be allowed to join the players before the drafts. If so, I'd expect him to enjoy the Arizona camp and bond with the players...:thumbsu:

• Banned
lenny&carl said:
Thinking of overseas recruits, maybe we should recruit a few 7'2' U/18 Chinese 2nd rate basketballers, and see if we can teach them to ruck.

Why Not,

It Could Work, Good Marking Objects!

lenny&carl said:
Thinking of overseas recruits, maybe we should recruit a few 7'2' U/18 Chinese 2nd rate basketballers, and see if we can teach them to ruck.
I've thought that for a while - There are so many American basketball players that don't make it, despite heaps and heaps of physical talent, it'd be interesting to see if they could be recruited.

Hard Yakka said:
I read somewhere recently that he was flying over in October so I assume there must be different rules for internatinal rookies and he'll be allowed to join the players before the drafts. If so, I'd expect him to enjoy the Arizona camp and bond with the players...:thumbsu:
I don't see why he couldn't start training. He's a consenting adult!

The main reason for restrictions on draftees is that most of them are still in high school and have exams.

FIGJAM said:
I don't see why he couldn't start training. He's a consenting adult!

The main reason for restrictions on draftees is that most of them are still in high school and have exams.
Well, no, you're not allowed to have kids train with you before the draft because it would be an unfair advantage to get a look at them.

I think we could have Martin Clarke come train with us in Arizona though, because he's not eligible for the National Draft, and we will be adding him to our list as an International Rookie when the Rookie Draft comes around.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
Well, no, you're not allowed to have kids train with you before the draft because it would be an unfair advantage to get a look at them.

I think we could have Martin Clarke come train with us in Arizona though, because he's not eligible for the National Draft, and we will be adding him to our list as an International Rookie when the Rookie Draft comes around.

I'm sure Eddie could pull a few strings so that Collingwood just happen to "bump into" Clarke in Arizona.

Eddie: It was purely coincidental that Clarke was booked into the same hotel, working out in the same gym and caught the same flight over with us.:p

vinnie_vegas69 said:
Yeah, but he's not going in through any draft. He's signed up legitimately. He's finished high school. Not allowing him to train with us would be restraint of trade.

FIGJAM said:
Yeah, but he's not going in through any draft. He's signed up legitimately. He's finished high school. Not allowing him to train with us would be restraint of trade.
See, technically he isn't - Not until the Rookie draft actually occurs.

On the other hand, in situations where a player cannot go anywhere else, like Dylan McLaren last year, the AFL can give special permission for players to train with the team, so it will be interesting.

The biggest obstacle might be cost, if the club gets the players to pay their own way again ;)

lenny&carl said:

that is actually a great idea lol, Yao in the ruck and resting FF...

anyone can train with any club as long as the club let them. Ive got a mate training with carlton and he aint on there list. he just rocked up one day and asked if they would take a look at him and hes been training there ever since. So its fine for clarkey to be traing with us

Not if they are under 18 and nominated for the draft.
VFL players and other lower comp players are alowed to I think.

I think there is also some rule about letting future f/s picks train with them. IIRC Trav or Cam Cloke trained with us from pretty early on, but it wasn't a full pre-season just a couple of part-time appearences.

There aren't many 7ft tall Chinese men around.
Yao Ming was effectively genetically bred. His grandfather was one of the tallest men in China, his parents were "hand picked" by the Chinese government, both were basketball players and very tall. There are also allegations he was forced to play basketball at a young age despite his dislike for the sport.

MagpieScouser said:
yao ming would do better than guy richards,come to think of it lots of people would do better

Yao would kick 16 goals standing in the goal square against anyone, even sandilands

jabso said:
There aren't many 7ft tall Chinese men around.
Yao Ming was effectively genetically bred. His grandfather was one of the tallest men in China, his parents were "hand picked" by the Chinese government, both were basketball players and very tall. There are also allegations he was forced to play basketball at a young age despite his dislike for the sport.
Not true at all - China is producing 7 footer after 7 footer now that kids are getting proper nutrition.

Their basketball team is one of the tallest in the world. They're not particularly good, but I can name at least 6 or 7 Chinese basketball players that are 7 foot tall.

Yao Ming, Wang Zhi-Zhi, Mengke Bateer, Xue Yu Yang, Tang Zheng Dong, Yi Jianlian and Mo Ke are the ones I know of, and that's just the ones that were good enough to play high level basketball.

The fact is, with a billion people in China, some of them were always going to be tall.

vinnie_vegas69 said:
I've thought that for a while - There are so many American basketball players that don't make it, despite heaps and heaps of physical talent, it'd be interesting to see if they could be recruited.

With the American Basketball rejects, you'd get 6'7" professionally-trained teenage athletes. Do their feet know what to do? Can they kick??? This is Collingwood, so from now on we ask all the recruits three times if they can bloody well KICK!!! What about a 7' 17yo Brazilian soccer rejects who can kick like a bastard & run like the wind...can he learn to footy? or is he too old already to learn a new trick? Should we go international scouting for 14 year olds ala soccer clubs?

As for Clarke, assuming he doesn't come to Melbourne and turn into a compulsive poon/gear/grog/fame/superiority junkie, he'll probably apply himself to footy and get 1st-draft-pick-good at it. that's my honest optimistic hope. There's no donuts for calling it early; and he'll maybe be a dud which would stuff my prediction; But I'm calling it early - this guy gets 8 or 9 out of 10 on sooo many of his top 30 draft factors questionnaire questions....That I reckon he's a real chance. He's also the longest of longshots because he's not even from Australia, (not ideal for Australian Rules) but he's an international wookie which we can get for free in terms of list-spaces and salary cap. So wy not give it a go.

I'm just optimistic and thinking that maybe,... maybe he's got elite, eye-catching ballgame skills that will transfer over from Gaelic to Footy. But I can't tell the future. If the Ronaldo of Gaelic can't kick a footy, then we've merely proven the superiority of footy over galic, because their apparant best can't cut it.

But I don't wan't to be puttin pressure on the young lad or nothin like that.

Martin Clarke Coming ?