Marty Mattner

Chicago Bulls
This guy got absolutely destroyed by Medhurst today..

Maybe it didnt look so bad on the statesheet, 10 possies 6 marks 3 goals.. but he really got absolutely smashed.

What im getting at is if Marty has no spot in our midfield rotation, I reckon we gotta push Stiffy back into defence (On Milne),.. and drop Marty and bring in Rockin Ronnie.

Comments?

It's still early days for Mattner and he played on a very classy opponent. He was often caught short one on one with Medhurst but seemed fairly composed when he got his hands on the ball.

I don't think we need to bring in Burns. Our forward line worked well today, if anything our defence needs strengthening.

Mattner had a shocker today. Medhurst is one of those players that are really hard to match up on as is Milne. Crowell shut down Milne last year but he won't get a chance this time around. I don't think we will change our side for the next match unless there is an injury. This is Mattner's 1st bad game this year. I would give him a chance next week. As for Milne, I would probably play one of Smart, Hart or John**** on him. I wouldn't mind playing Reilly from the start on the wing.

Originally posted by DaveW
It's still early days for Mattner and he played on a very classy opponent. He was often caught short one on one with Medhurst but seemed fairly composed when he got his hands on the ball.

I don't think we need to bring in Burns. Our forward line worked well today, if anything our defence needs strengthening.

Medhurst was the one winner for the Dockers, but he is a very good player. I agree with Dave that although beaten, he still did some good things himself and will learn from that.

Personally I would go in with an unchanged team to play the Saints.

Originally posted by macca23
Medhurst was the one winner for the Dockers, but he is a very good player. I agree with Dave that although beaten, he still did some good things himself and will learn from that.

Personally I would go in with an unchanged team to play the Saints.

Medders has made far better players than Marty Mattner look sillier. He is icredibly hard to match up on ,plays far taller than his height has great second efforts and an accurate kick. I thought Mattner did an OK job on him (bit like Polly on Carey).

Medhurst is a great young talent, propably by the end of the year will be the best small forward in the league. His marking ability along with his great football smarts makes him superstar material.

Medhurst didn't have a great day I thought. As Dermott kept pointing out, dropped a few marks, and seemed pretty frustrated. He'll be better when our taller players come back.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Medhurst didn't have a great day I thought.

From where I was sitting he had a blinder... him and Pavlich prevented an absolute bloodbath at certain stages when we looked like threatening to blow you lot away. ;)

Medhurst did some good things, but he heard footsteps more than once too.

As for Marty Mattner, he was pretty consistently beaten in the air by Medhurst, but I thought he didn't beaten too often if the ball hit the turf. I think Mattner's worth persevering with against Milne - he's got the pace to go with him and he doesn't "play tall" like Medhurst does.

Originally posted by marvin
Medhurst did some good things, but he heard footsteps more than once too.

As for Marty Mattner, he was pretty consistently beaten in the air by Medhurst, but I thought he didn't beaten too often if the ball hit the turf. I think Mattner's worth persevering with against Milne - he's got the pace to go with him and he doesn't "play tall" like Medhurst does.

I agree that Mattner should be retained to have a crack at Milne, who plays very small!!

Just a thought though - Crowell gave Milne his biggest towelling ever last time we played the Saints. Any chance the Crows might pull a surprise selectionfor this game??

Originally posted by Carmelo Anthony
This guy got absolutely destroyed by Medhurst today..

Maybe it didnt look so bad on the statesheet, 10 possies 6 marks 3 goals.. but he really got absolutely smashed.

What im getting at is if Marty has no spot in our midfield rotation, I reckon we gotta push Stiffy back into defence (On Milne),.. and drop Marty and bring in Rockin Ronnie.

Comments?
I think James Gallager and Michael Doughty should go into the side before Ronnie...and to some extent Mattner and Reilly.

Originally posted by macca23
I agree that Mattner should be retained to have a crack at Milne, who plays very small!!

Just a thought though - Crowell gave Milne his biggest towelling ever last time we played the Saints. Any chance the Crows might pull a surprise selectionfor this game??

Very interesting point

It has precedent with McGregor brought in to play on Brown last year even though he had crap form with the Eagles

Crowell had a quiet game on Saturday and should be behind Gallagher Massie Burns Doughty and even Schell in the pecking order.

Ayresy likes a horses for course approach though and may pick him

Given that both Reilly and Ladhams spent time on the bench, he could well afford to drop Mattner for Crowell

Time will tell.

Mattner was carved up.
Id go with him again this week though.

Im tippin; Ayres will show faith in him against a side that doesnt pose too much of a threat. You cant learn the defensive part of the game being dropped for one poor performance.

Hed be good on Milne;)

Mattner was soundly beaten by Medhurst. Medhurst could have even more goals if he kicked straight. However, I reckon Ayres was keen to keep Marty on Medhurst as a learning experience considering we were never in danger of losing the game. If it were a final, I'm sure a change would have been made early in the game when it was obvious Medhurst had Mattner's measure.

On Stiffy, I believe he deserves to start on current form in front of Mattner & would be a better matchup pace-wise with the zippy Milne. Can't see Crowell being picked, otherwise there will be some ****ed off players who miss out. Ayres has stated that reputations mean nothing & he is picking on form. Probably no changes this week - keep the SANFL players hungry for a spot in the Crows' side!

Crowell is a bit of a smoky but he hasn't played much footy so far this year. Played a full game against Port, then missed the one against WC and played a quarter against the roos before getting dropped.

I would go in with the unchanged line up. I agree with Kane McGoodwin, we should give John**** a first crack at Milne . I am still not convinced Mattner can handle Milne. Has the pace but has he got what it takes??????

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am still not convinced Mattner can handle Milne. Has the pace but has he got what it takes??????

I saw the opening half of the Kangas-Saints game on FOX Footy... if Milf [sic] plays half as good as he did against North he'll skin Mattner alive.

I agree with you, JC should get the job.

Ben Hart should get the job on Milne IMO. I wouldn't give it to John**** because he seems to have a real attacking mentality now and I don't think that will be the best way to play Milne. Hart will beat him with his experience. I'd give Mattner a run in the SANFL and bring Burns in the team because if we had had a genuine crumber like Burns in the forward line against Freo it would have been 12-13 goals. The ball hit the turf so many times with our three talls that all we needed was Rockin' to snare a couple. Should be a good game. I'm going over, anyone else?

i'd go for Crowell again - if there is a way of getting him into the side - can't see them changing the side tho' unless there is an injury.

Tossup between John**** and Mattner otherwise - but they could do a tandem - hard bloke to mind for 4 quarters!

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I wouldn't mind playing Reilly from the start on the wing.
yeah. dont know why he only played a bit over a quarter on sunday, wierd, considering he was named to start on the bench before a last minute change...hope that last minute change didnt have n e thing to do with the fact that he corked his hip in the wixard cup grand final....

Originally posted by snakebite01
..because if we had had a genuine crumber like Burns in the forward line against Freo it would have been 12-13 goals...

Gotta be kidding mate. I watched our crumbers very closely against Freo and the likes of Bode, McLeod and Edwards couldn't get in front of talls quick enough. I closely followed Bode in the first half and every time the ball went in the direction of talls, Carey in particular, he couldn't get there quick enough. Fair Dinkum he had jets on!!!!!!:)