10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Sharks v Falconsbeing the only Saturday game, at least it made it easy which game to televise!:D 3rd v 5 and this is a season defining game for both clubs. Can the Sharks kick on and finally play some finals football, or can the Falcons get their season back on track and stay in touch with the top 4.

Sharks have a very good running brigade, led by McGough, McNamara, Houlihan, Stevens, Monteath, Chidlow, Fasolo, Monk (who played well forward last week), Venturini. Last week they tackled and harassed brilliantly, but the defense didn’t have much work to do. Still, Spangher, Warren, Brennan were very good when they were called on. Up forward Monk was very good, McGough missed opportunities and the midfield basically provided a lot of the scoring opportunities as well, so the run needs to be stopped.

Falcons have a very good forward line, good running brigade and a very under rated defence. LeCras, Tsalikis, Gobbels, Saylor (if back) are a headache for most sides. Salecic, Guadagnin, Rice, Bewick, Crossland, Bartholomew provide some good run and real grunt inside with some of those guys. Down back Hunt is possibly having his best year and Lasscock, Tedesco, Pearce, Zanetti are providing good support. Should be a cracker this match, with so much on the line for both sides.

Teams

Sharks
B:A Stephen L Weller D Chidlow
HB:J Brennan M Spangher K Green
C:K Monteath L Fasolo S Dodd
HF:J Bayliss M Warren K Stevens
F:R Dunn A Monk C Hall
Foll:R Young M Mcgough J Mcnamara
I/C:A.Ciotti, T.Houlihan, J.Venturini, B.Bucovaz, S.Lee-steere, J.Slattery, T.Bruce
Emg:Nil
In:S.Dodd, J.Slattery, A.Ciotti, S.Lee-steere, J.Venturini
Out:L.Foster, M.Griffiths
Falcons
B:C Shadbolt D Hunt J Tindall
HB:C Lasscock J Gobbells M Tedesco
C:J Rice M Guadagnin D Burns
HF:A Strijk B Lecras L Harvey
F:R Bewick A Tsalikis J Salecic
Foll:C Keunen R Bartholomew A Saylor
I/C:S.Dearle, M.Andrews, T.Crossland, K.Holden, P.Elisseou, S.Bewick, N.Carney
In:J.Rice, T.Crossland, R.Bewick, A.Saylor, S.Dearle, K.Holden, P.Elisseou
Out:A.James, S.Zanetti, J.Pearce, L.Tedesco

Lions v SwansAnother big match this weekend, on a lovely Sunday arvo at Leederville. Lions can stay equal with Swans, in the battle for a top 2 spot, or Swans can get a 2 game break on the Lions, and stay equal with the Sharks, if they win, as expected by me.

Lions showed against the Tigers that they are far from a spent force, particularly as they hadn’t played for 23 days prior to meeting the tiges. They beat Swans at Basso with a more mature game plan, slowed the game down, pummelled the ball carrier and used the ball well when they had it in hand. Campbell’s been up and down, mostly down, but looms as a key in this match. Rix v Spaanders will also be critical, as Swans don’t have any really tall ruckman, Spaanders is only 194. If only they had some Naita fellow. Cossom. Keevers, Randall, Broadhurst, Hilda, Cockie, Nicoski will provide plenty of run and hardness. Parker and Rumble will provide good contests down back.

Swans need to rely on run and controlling the ball against the lions. Guys like Garlett, Wolfenden, Roach, van Groningen, Krakouer need to use their pace out in the open space. Roberts, Twomey, Walters, Pearce provide very good contest at the packs. Geappen, Hansen (if back) and Notte provide good focal points up forward and Ames, Spencer, Casserley, Jetta (a revelation this year) provide great rebound from the back half. Again, this should be a cracker and I expect it to go either way, perhaps I’m more hopeful than expectant.

Teams

Lions
B:C Phelan D Rumble R Kerr
HB:B Broadhurst A Parker B Randall
C:B Keevers K Horsley S Hildebrandt
HF:C Cossom A Campbell P Hassett
F:A Pickett M Re A Cockie
Foll:M Rix M Webb R Blechynden
I/C:p.Read, S.Douglas, A.Scott, J.Wooden, L.Newick, R.Stack, S.Worthington, R.Muller
In:S.Douglas, J.Wooden, R.Stack, S.Worthington, R.Muller
Out:M.Nicoski
Swans
B:L Pratt T Ames G Jetta
HB:W Twomey M Spencer T Casserly
C:C Hinkley J Roberts T Roach
HF:B Colreavy T Geappen A Hansen
F:M Walters T Notte A Krakouer
Foll:L Spaanderman R Davis M Riggio
I/C:B.Wolfenden, C.Garlett, B.Van groningen, J.Simpson
Emg:S.Parry, R.Manton, C.Boddy
In:A.Hansen, R.Manton, C.Boddy, S.Parry
Out:J.Menegola

Demons v Southsbeing held in the middle of the Demons heartland at Wongan Hills, so if you’re out bush, get out and have a look! Both teams are in poor form this year, one worse than the other. One is coming off a big win last week and will have high spirits and the other was smashed by their arch enemy. Could be an interesting game.

The demons looked good running through the middle of the ground at will last week, but they were playing Peel. Mzungu, Smith, Sullivan, O’Sullivan, Young all racked up the possessions and dominated through the middle. Armstrong, Ferguson were dynamite forward, whilst Billings continued his good form down back. Siekerka looked to be getting towards his best form for the year as well. Youngsters Elari, Sneeujwagt, Fiegert (with the old styled mullet) got some good game time and possies as well. One would think it was a pleasure to train at Lathlain this week.

The Bulldogs still have quality all over the field but were made to look second rate. I’d bank my house on A Hams never having that bad a game again. He wasn’t alone as McGrath, Miller, Dell’olio, Adams, Thornton all struggled to have an impact as well. Phillips continued his good form, Graham was competitive in the ruck and Murphy and Wilson were dangerous if the ball was delivered inside 50 quickly. The defenders should have been played into form, they saw that much of the ball. Guys like Head, Hams, McGrath, Siegert (if playing), Dell’Olio all need to lift.
If players play to ability the Bulldogs should win, but again, can see this one going either way as well.

Teams

Demons
B:D Robinson C Billings T Mzungu
HB:S Armstrong M Ferguson C Sibosado
C:J Bollenhagen A Elari R Young
HF:A Smith A Mcdougall S Siekierka
F:J Fiegert B Davis D O'sullivan
Foll:W Sullivan J Houghton B Sneeuwajt
I/C:K.Ransted, M.Mather, T.Ruffles
In:K.Lang, B.Warner, D.White, L.Smith, B.Hodge
Out:T.Cook
Bulldogs
B:K Hams S Hunt C Bossong
HB:R Adams A Mccarrey H North
C:A Guglielmana T Bairstow C White
HF:N Phillips R Murphy P Mugambwa
F:A Hams C Wilson A Collica
Foll:S Delmenico K Miller T Mcgrath
I/C:J.Palumbo, J.Winter, C.Amato, M.Carter, B.Stanford, G.Campbell, A.Siegert
In:S.Delmenico, P.Mugambwa, J.Palumbo, J.Winter, B.Stanford, G.Campbell, A.Siegert
Out:J.Graham, S.Thornton, C.Dell-olio, J.Head

Peel v RoyalsUnbelievably, the Royals win this and they are still in touch with the top 4. Peel win and they are equal with EP on wins, so this becomes a very important game for EP. in particular.

Peel have a fairly inexperienced squad and the experienced players are probably fairly average, excepting Battye, O’Brien, Williams, maybe a couple of others. Their youth look to have good potential and the only way for them to learn is to play league. Luff, Mason, Brown are playing this week and add in Bennell and Wilson and that’s a decent spread of talent. This is definitely a game Peel can win, because the Royal’s worst is quite poor.

The Royals have a decent player base, with the likes of Swan, Wulff, Pickering, Merrington, Travers supported by the up and coming Shepheard, Sweet, Cadwallader, Roberton, Prior et al. Last week showed what EP is capable of, they just seem to take a while to reach that top gear. They would have been motivated for the “hated enemy”, so can they keep the motivation up?

Teams

Thunder
B:B Filo D Chartres C Luff
HB:R Mason T Clarke M Holmes
C:J Crichton B Jones (c) R O'brien
HF:B Holmes M Brown M Giumelli
F:M Brown H Mcleod B Gillam
Foll:J Williams M Green R Beswick
I/C:J.Giumelli, T.Kovacevich, D.Murray, L.Padwick, B.Piggot, M.Ware, C.Timbrell
In:T.Clarke, M.Brown, T.Kovacevich, D.Murray, L.Padwick, C.Timbrell
Out:R.Dawson, T.Mcculloch, M.Battye
Royals
B:p Travers L Sampey B Dobson
HB:A Pickering T Noakes L Webster
C:D Roberton J Oakley-nicholls A Sweet
HF:M Seal H Shepheard D Cadwallader
F:H Fryer A Merrington M Swan
Foll:Z Beeck B Fotheringham C Glancy
I/C:A.Lovett, J.Eastwell, D.Macaulay, J.Keath, J.Birrell, K.Anderson, A.Prior, B.Lee
In:A.Lovett, J.Keath, K.Anderson, A.Prior, B.Lee, M.Seal, J.Birrell
Out:J.Derickx, C.Wulff, Z.Clarke

Very big in, A Lovett!

Pulsating match at Leederville, despite the final score. Blood pressure was sky rocketing leading up to half time, through the third and into the 4th.

Swans kicked 6 goals 5 in the first and probably should have kicked 9-10, they missed some sitters. That would have made the rest of the game a different ball game. I said to the SA mate with me that we had left the door ajar and Subi would roar back into it and that they did.

Pickett kicked 3 for the quarter and I know he's small, but there's no excuse for not watching your man fall off the back of the contest and motor forward. He was left alone that much that I thought we had given instructions not to man up on him. At half time it was 5 points to Swans favour and 12 of the first 14 goals had been kicked to the Vincent street end.

In the third the arm wrestle continued and Swans managed to kick 5 goals? to 1 to give a 30 odd point lead. Hansen and Krakouer continued on their merry way, with Davis being injected into the midfield to help Roberts and Roach.

Based on what had happened in the rest of the match I was unsure if 5/6 goals up at 3/4 time was enough. Then Subi kicks the first, Swans kick the next 4 or 5 points and Subi kicks another. I'm going hoarse at this stage just begging a Swans player, I don't even care if it's Hinkley, to stand up and kick a goal. Then Swans decide to run it in and a chain of give and go handballs release Roach to kick the 1 we need to get the margin back to 25 points. Then Krakouer kicks an amazing left foot snap and it's floodgates open, resistance broken. Finally we beat Subi by more than 1 point!

Blood pressure is still coming down too.:)

shit yeah!

Great to flog them at Leederville.

Also good to shove it up that knobhead on the terrace...

He was stirring the Swannies crowd, and loving it! But it was great the banter between him and the swans supporters, he was a lone hand eh?

But yeah, great to flog them at Leedy.:thumbsu:

Yeah, he was blatantly trolling for a reaction but I think the flaw in his plan was that the Swans were hammering Subi and the fans were happy to have a go. :)

I like to think we at least pissed off a few Subi fans as collateral damage :thumbsu:

Yeah, he was blatantly trolling for a reaction but I think the flaw in his plan was that the Swans were hammering Subi and the fans were happy to have a go. :)

I like to think we at least pissed off a few Subi fans as collateral damage :thumbsu:

Well, I can assure you that was achieved! I've gotten to know the 3 stooges that were sitting nextto that guy that was trolling. We sat and watched a bit of the ressies together. Lindsay, the flag waver, was not very happy with Swans supporters today, and neither were a few others.:thumbsu: The guys I know were just laughing.

Matches Thread - Round 12, 2010