Fulham FC, Real Madrid
after a pretty good performance against the doggies last week, where does Matt Arnot stand going into the year?

now a rookie, can you see him playing many, if any games this year, or even being promoted?
I for one would rather see him promoted and played in front of Thomas, as I think he has more upside, and in his few senior games last year, showed quite a bit (in my opinion)

oh and ps, how much does he look like scott steiner with that beard he has now? just needs glasses lol

upload_2015-3-8_10-50-32.png upload_2015-3-8_10-51-7.png

For some reason i see this when i see Matty Arnot

White_Walker_2x10.jpg

must be the beard.

As a rookie if Bikkies shows a bit this year I think they will persist with him. It's worth it becos to me he looks to have a bit more speed & more accurate kick(than Thomas) & has the body to be hard inside as well. But that's just my opinion....

Note, It is hard to tell in relation to Thomas as he's an inside mid & we don't get to see him in space often. So his kicks are more often than not under extreme pressure in congestion.

after a pretty good performance against the doggies last week, where does Matt Arnot stand going into the year?

now a rookie, can you see him playing many, if any games this year, or even being promoted?
I for one would rather see him promoted and played in front of Thomas, as I think he has more upside, and in his few senior games last year, showed quite a bit (in my opinion)

oh and ps, how much does he look like scott steiner with that beard he has now? just needs glasses lol

View attachment 114499View attachment 114501
I have not got a picture but I think arnott is a dead ringer for aaron finch

You wouldn't have a clue mate ;)
Im also not a 100% sold that he is gone, however, I think injury to others and good form in the VFL will have to coincide and the stars will have to align for him. This is probably his absolute last chance. If the young players show form equal to or better than his, it will be all over.

Really curious to see how he goes in the rest of the games. Hope he does well would love to see him and Miles getting the ball out. Would love to see him as a locked down defender.

I don't wish any player that wears the rfc jumper to fail... But Ive just never been a fan of him... I don't think he's up to it... Will never play an afl game again.

I'm not completely convinced either Reservoir tiger but based on that game I'd put him ahead of a few others (Excluding last years boys)..

Pushing shit uphill to get into our senior side. Especially when we welcome Dylan Shiel next year. He's just there to provide a big body in our VFL midfield and maybe get picked up by another team. But good luck to him anyway.

If he can control his aggression and make better decisions maybe he's a chance to stay but they would be two of the hardest things to improve. Especially decision making. Won't be holding my breath.

I wish him well but he's a fair way back.
Definitely agree he should be given a sniff before Thomas though.
He just has that unfortunate body shape for this day and age I reckon,and isn't skilled enough to set himself apart from the pack.
He really has to be exceptional at something I think to take a step.
If he does,good on him.

I like Arnot - reading the piece about him on the RFC website (http://www.richmondfc.com.au/news/2015-03-05/arnot-goes-allout) he seems like he knows he's got to make the most of his 2015 or he'll be in trouble. Also, IMO shows a good attitude if he can admit he wasn't consistently good enough during his first few years and needs to step up.

I personally wanted him to get the nod over Lambert (purely out of sentiment) but I've since changed and now hope the best player (whether Lambert, Arnot or someone else) gets elevated.

From the article:

“I’ve had a couple of years now, where I’ve been injured here and there, but just consistently my performance hasn’t been good enough.

“So I’ve attacked this pre-season as if it’s my last because, if you don’t play well consistently in this year, it probably will be. You’ve got to be realistic in that . . .

Arnot was one of the best players in a young, inexperienced line-up that Richmond took into last Saturday’s opening round match of the AFL’s pre-season competition, against the Western Bulldogs at Whitten Oval.

“I’d been really focusing on my accountability to my defensive aspect of the game. I thought I had a good game on the weekend, so we’ll see what happens from there,” he said.

“We’ve got a lot of players coming back in NAB 2, so whatever happens, happens. I’ll be pretty excited if I do play, and I’ll take that opportunity.

Hope he ultimately makes it but time will tell.

Would love Arnott to step up but there's a reason Thomas got games ahead of him last year... I'm afraid one gets the ball a lot more than the other.
Thomas is a lot more experienced and Arnott was coming back from stress fractures in his spine

if you don't have elite speed or skills you need a lot of footy nous... don't think Matty has that... at best his main attribute is hardness and fear factor but is it enough??