MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl

Adelaide Crows
Well maybe the footy wasn't as good as we hoped but we still had a great time in the Sunshine! There were milestones, inciminating photos & lots of fun. Here is a small run down for those who didn't venture to QLD.

We went via Canberra - great airport :D it was Matts first time in the ACT. It was also his first visit to QLD! Well done Matt - that is 3 states in 1 day!

Then we ventured to SIZZLERS! for lunch. Yes thats right folks - SIZZLERS! They still have this lovely joint in QLD. And they still have the famous cheese bread - we even brought some home for Anne!!!

It was 35 degrees in Brisbane on Friday - so we went to the very classy BIGW and bought bathers! :D :D A sight to be seen - trust me.

The game was not good. Matt & I sat with 2 other Crows supporters and about 20 drunk Brisbane supporters. I controlled myself though - I didn't swear at them once! I cried like a baby when Bicks was chaired off :( :( very sad for me! I then turned to alcohol at the after match function. 3 Vodkas made me feel better :D :D

We went to Dreamworld on Saturday. Matt was so excited! We rode all the rides. We have some hilarious photos from the rides - I look shocking in all! We had a fabulous time. Dreamworld was a great therapy for us!

We came home today (sunday) and I went to the SANFL finals and was pleased that my Eagles gave me a win. Topped off a terrific weekend for me - I hope all of you had a good time 2!

k
xx

I was hoping you'd do the write up. I was thinking of doing it, except I couldn't be arsed.

I wish you didn't make the decision to go to Dreamworld right at the last minute. :( Ah well, I've been there before, so no biggie.

And you forgot to make mention of me winning the raffle at the after match function. I'm now the proud owner of a football signed by the team. :D

Originally posted by DaveW

And you forgot to make mention of me winning the raffle at the after match function. I'm now the proud owner of a football signed by the team. :D

WTG Dave!!

At least 2 of us know how to win raffles!! ;)

I was hoping you'd do the write up. I was thinking of doing it, except I couldn't be arsed.

I wish you didn't make the decision to go to Dreamworld right at the last minute. :( Ah well, I've been there before, so no biggie.

Yes Dave thats right, you were a winner at the aftermatch!! Well done Dave - its a great footy!

We decided at 1.00am Saturday morning to stay over on Saturday and go to Dreamworld. We were going back Saturday morning - then we changed it to Saturday night - then we changed it to Sunday - we were just having way 2 much fun!

k
xx

Originally posted by macca23
WTG Dave!!

At least 2 of us know how to win raffles!! ;)
Heh yeah, I did remind myself of your win.

I bought three tickets and I think it was the third one they handed me that was the winner. :D

Had a fantastic time - Brisbane was great fun.

Got to the airport on Friday to sweltering heat! - Was a shock to the system coming from freezing cold and rain down here. Walked out the doors of the airport and were blown away by the heat. It was great!! - We were also blown away by a couple of nasty creatures that we regretted to admit were fellow Crows. The main culprit had no more than 1 tooth in her mouth - we thought she must have been from the 'other' side of Port Road, or maybe she was just confused... either way, she was the stuff of nightmares. After escaping from her, we got a taxi to our hotels.

Anyway... checked in, did some shopping, went to Queen Street mall, met some friends, then, we stopped dead in our tracks at the sight of... wait for it... SIZZLERS!! - It was fantastic, hadn't been there since they went bankrupt down here. Went there and stuffed ourselves silly for lunch. Probably overloaded on the cheesy bread and potato skins... stomach regretted it for a while afterwards. It was one of the highlights of the trip, which is quite embarassing to admit!

Had another look around the shops, and then realised we had half a day to kill, and the heat was searing, so we wandered into Big W and bought ourselves some tragic $20 "disposable" bathers to go swimming. Went and had a great swim at our pool back at the Novotel, then went and got ready for the game.

Got the bus to the footy, the ride was pretty quick, the streets there are cool, and pretty well planned. Most of them are one way so it doesn't take long to get around, and there are a lot of "busways", which are a great idea, make public transport pretty user friendly.

Met up briefly with Moderator Danni before the game where we went through what was happening with the banner. She was very friendly and welcoming to us invaders!! Would have liked to have caught up for a drink, but didn't have a lot of time. Went out with the banner, it went up OK, and all was well.

The game itself was ****house. We played well in patches, but it was frustrating, especially at the end when we collapsed. We had a fair few tossers around us that took to abusing us personally towards the end, and they even booed off Mark Bickley as he was carried off crying in his last game. That part didn't sit well with me, considering Bicks is a champion and is respected by the majority of opposition supporters - he didn't deserve to go out like that. The Lions supporters that were around us had no idea, didn't understand the basic rules of the game, and were off their face... looked like they didn't have anything better to do, so just showed up to the footy to cause hassles. The Brisbane supporters that helped out with the banner were great though, their cheer squad were very friendly.

Anyway, after a few tears from Kristie, we left the Gabba, and had a few drinks at the aftermatch function. Saw interviews with Brett Burton, Robert Shirley and Simon Goodwin. Dave won a signed footy, the lucky bugger. Got a cab back to the hotel where it started to sink in that we'd lost and the season was over. We basically realised that there would be no Sydney trip next week, so we might as well blow our cash in Brisbane considering we'd come all that way. Plus, my birthday is Monday, so I wanted to celebrate, so we rang and had our flights changed, and organised to stick around in Brisbane for an extra day.

Went to Dreamworld on Saturday, it was UNREAL. Went on the Giant Drop... only once, never again... and the Tower of Terror, which was fantastic fun, went on that three times, would have liked to have done it more. Kristie just managed to make it over the height requirement... we got a photo as proof. The rush and the force on the Tower of Terror as you took off was amazing. Also went on the Cyclone rollercoaster, saw the Big Brother house, Angry Beavers (HAHA), and pretty much all the rides there. Had a fantastic day, we all had a lot of fun. Had wet arses for a lot of the day though, particularly Kristie, she was drenched. While I'm giving her sh*t, you have to see her facial expressions on photos from the rides, they are hilarious.

After all that, went back to the hotel and collapsed. We'd planned on watching the footy, but we fell asleep before the first bounce. I did anyway. Unfortunately we discovered that 'they' had won, but oh well, go Pies next week.

Had a great weekend, Brisbane was cool, can't wait to get back there. Had a lot of fun, and a lot of laughs, definitely one to remember. Planning on going to Sydney if we play there next year.

Way to go guys................. well done on a great job doing the banner also:D :D :D I love going to Brisbane whoever goes up there we always have a ball Sezza_20 and Fitzy's_eyes can tell you that................. Im disapointed I couldnt go but yeah work has to come first unfortunately:rolleyes: Next year I will be there!!!!!!:D :D :D

Fitzy'_eyes is the one that robs me of raffles ask her about the trip she won in 2002 to Adelaide,flights,tickets to the game and accomadation she had the ticket right before mine:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Go South

Went to Dreamworld on Saturday, it was UNREAL. Went on the Giant Drop... only once, never again... and the Tower of Terror, which was fantastic fun, went on that three times, would have liked to have done it more. Kristie just managed to make it over the height requirement... we got a photo as proof. The rush and the force on the Tower of Terror as you took off was amazing. Also went on the Cyclone rollercoaster, saw the Big Brother house, Angry Beavers (HAHA), and pretty much all the rides there. Had a fantastic day, we all had a lot of fun. Had wet arses for a lot of the day though, particularly Kristie, she was drenched. While I'm giving her sh*t, you have to see her facial expressions on photos from the rides, they are hilarious.

LOL Matt! Your naughty! I made the height requirement easily (at least by 30cm or more! :D )

My bum was wet - so was my T-Shirt after that "tidle wave" on the rapids ride!

But the highlight for me was when we were lined up in the Angry Beavers ride :D :D - Matt was hit on by a couple of skanky tarts - "MMMMM something smells nice" as she looked at Matt "It must be you" The look of horror on Matts face was very funny - ROFL - damn I wish I had the camera out! :D :D

It is true - I look crap in the ride photos but then I do in most actually!

k
xx

Go South,

Your point about Brisbane supporters is spot-on.

We went to Brisbane a few years ago and the supporters around us were exactly the same-only there because it was popular, no idea about the game nor players, booed the umpires for decisions which were clear cut, started the mexican wave ten minutes into the last quarter for no reason, talked about the rugby and every othjer topic but the football.

I wonder whether they will attend matches when the Lions go into a losing cycle?

Cheers,

a.j.

Originally posted by ajmart
Go South,

Your point about Brisbane supporters is spot-on.

We went to Brisbane a few years ago and the supporters around us were exactly the same-only there because it was popular, no idea about the game nor players, booed the umpires for decisions which were clear cut, started the mexican wave ten minutes into the last quarter for no reason, talked about the rugby and every othjer topic but the football.

I wonder whether they will attend matches when the Lions go into a losing cycle?

Cheers,

a.j.

They had no idea... the comments they were making, and yelling out, were ridiculous and most of the time didn't even make sense. They cheered and booed the wrong things, and were generally morons.

This was just the people around us, I'm sure there are a lot of Lions supporters that are well versed in AFL, but these certainly were not.

As I said though, the cheer squad were great and very friendly.

Re: Re: Matt, Kristie & Dave in Brisy!

Originally posted by bluecrow
:eek: Don't bag Big W! Remember, we sell for less!! ;) Actually, as I was walking past the bathers tonight at work, I thought of you guys...and I must say, Big W bathers just ooze class. :p :D

"Class" isn't the word I was looking for. I think they just ooze.

Re: Re: Re: Matt, Kristie & Dave in Brisy!

"Class" isn't the word I was looking for. I think they just ooze.

I thought you and Dave in the matching bathers was quite cute!

k
xx

It was a tremendous sight. Kristie's multi coloured floral bathers were the best though.

We've submitted our pics for the Big W Summer catalogue.

It was a tremendous sight. Kristie's multi coloured floral bathers were the best though.

We've submitted our pics for the Big W Summer catalogue.

Normally mutli coloured flowers are not my scene - but trust me when I say the selection wasn't great :D :D

I reckon it will be a "sealed edition" of the BIG W catalogue - after all we wouldn't want to frighten any small children!

k
xx

How disturbing.

ROFL - thats Marty for you! I'll even offer to sign Marty's copy - might be worth something when we are in demand all over the world for our magnificent modelling.

k
xx

You guys have got to start somewhere with your 'modelling' careers;)

Big W today...............................Paris catwalks tomorrow:D :D :D

I hear they like the Floral look in Paris:D :D :D

Originally posted by maccas_no1
You guys have got to start somewhere with your 'modelling' careers;)

Big W today...............................Paris catwalks tomorrow:D :D :D

I hear they like the Floral look in Paris:D :D :D

LOL - mind you I think I am way 2 short for the catwalks! The floral look wasn't good in Brisbane - not sure how it would go in Paris - but I am willing to give it a shot!

k
xx