ablettjnr

Suspended
Centrals
Read today in the Addy that Geelong delisted him in 1998.

Didn't know that. Probably wouldn't get a game with us now.

ablettjnr said:

Yeah, cant really remember that much about him, but ive got a Geelong poster on my wall of the Geelong team in 97 (i think) and he is in it. Good lil player he if for the dogs now.

Ive got a mate called Matthew Robbins in my class at school, strange...

ablettjnr said:

Was Matthew Robbins that hot guy, i think i am thinking of??

If so he was an absolute GUN, just like Spriggzy! :D ;)

ablettjnr said:

Robbin's wasn't delisted but traded to the Bulldogs. For a player that had only played 7 snr. games in 2 years amazingly we received 3 draft picks in return.

Sammy D said:
What picks were they?

I think we got Steven King & Robbins at the same time/year, when they were only 16-17 years old. Pretty sure they both went to Belmont High for a couple of years.

I could be wrong but I think we got Robbins the year after King!

Found this thread the other day from 04 which has all the draft picks back to 86. It's got him in the 94 draft (assuming it's the same Matthew Robbins?? - I can't remember him at all), and King in the 95 pre-season draft.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=119091
Was pretty interesting seeing all the geelong picks, or players from geelong at other clubs.

This one was a surprise to me (if right)
is this Danny Frawley??
59 Daniel Frawley Geelong Wangaratta 1989 NAT

Yep Matty Robbins, Steven King and Ryan Houlihan all went to Belmont High School in Geelong. They were in the same year and were all great mates. People used to sit around the oval at lunch time and watch them kick the footy. Robbins in particular had a beautiful

I also remember having food fights with them in the school cafe. It was my group of mates vs them!

Good times..... :)

1994 National AFL Draft 2nd round selection (Geelong) No. 36 overall; 1997 National AFL Draft traded by Geelong for No. 15 (Joel McKay) and No. 38 (James Rahilly).

Well, that turned out to be an interesting trade.

Strong hands Magee said:
Yep Matty Robbins, Steven King and Ryan Houlihan all went to Belmont High School in Geelong. They were in the same year and were all great mates. People used to sit around the oval at lunch time and watch them kick the footy. Robbins in particular had a beautiful

I also remember having food fights with them in the school cafe. It was my group of mates vs them!

Good times..... :)

That would be Adam, Ryan's older brother. Ryan plays for Carlton.

Sammy D said:
What picks were they?

I think we got Steven King & Robbins at the same time/year, when they were only 16-17 years old. Pretty sure they both went to Belmont High for a couple of years.

15. J.McKay - 4 games. (crook back didn't help chances).
38. J.Rahilly - around 90 games. Handy fringe player.
54. J.Wood - 7 games. Showed promise didn't go on with it.

cats56 said:
15. J.McKay - 4 games. (crook back didn't help chances).
38. J.Rahilly - around 90 games. Handy fringe player.
54. J.Wood - 7 games. Showed promise didn't go on with it.

So Matthew Robbins' profile on the bulldogs website is wrong?

Draft History:
1994 National AFL Draft 2nd round selection (Geelong) No. 36 overall;
1997 National AFL Draft traded by Geelong for No. 15 (Joel McKay) and No. 38 (James Rahilly).

D0nk said:
So Matthew Robbins' profile on the bulldogs website is wrong?

Draft History:
1994 National AFL Draft 2nd round selection (Geelong) No. 36 overall;
1997 National AFL Draft traded by Geelong for No. 15 (Joel McKay) and No. 38 (James Rahilly).

We definately received 3 draft picks for Robbin's. Perhaps theres confusion in that i think Daniel Hargreaves was involved in a trade from the Dog's to Docker's and one of the draft picks was on-traded by the Docker's.

JUBJUB said:
Didn't he also end up at the Dogs ?

BTW,does anyone know if the Justin Wood that plays in one of the Geelong Leagues [GFL/GDFL/BFL] is the same one that played at Geelong ?

I think he did a pre-season at the Dog's but may have been overlooked in the pre-season draft but don't take this as gospel JUBJUB.

Was drafted from Tassie Mariners. My recollections of him were fairly skilled but matchstick thin. Looked promising early but failed to fire in his second season.

JUBJUB said:
Didn't he also end up at the Dogs ?

BTW,does anyone know if the Justin Wood that plays in one of the Geelong Leagues [GFL/GDFL/BFL] is the same one that played at Geelong ?

Sticko_64 should be able to comfirm this, but I'm pretty sure Justin Wood played some seasons at St. Albans in the GFL. Not sure where he is now.

Sammy D said:
Sticko_64 should be able to comfirm this, but I'm pretty sure Justin Wood played some seasons at St. Albans in the GFL. Not sure where he is now.

He was has been at Peel Thunder