Hulk_Hawkins

Man U/Hotspurs
I was dumbfounded :confused: when MM was not named in the side for the Brisbane game. We are definately an option short in our forward line without H down there and that has been painfully obvious in the couple of games he has missed. We have had no one presenting or providing a contest recently and with MM's form in the ressies recently surely he has to be given his (last) chance to play against Hawthorn? We cannot afford another game with out a marking option on our HF line. Thoughts :confused:

I think you will find he will get a chance next game. He would have been no good up in Brissie anyway to wet for marking. Maybe thats why they left him out. He's got to be better than Gardiner.

Re: Matty McArthy

MAC ATTACK
Tuesday, June 21
JAY CLARK

GEELONG could turn to a white knight in the VFL to solve its biggest problem.

Just who can fill the void left by Henry Playfair at centre-half forward?

Matthew McCarthy's bid, with 13.5 from his past three VFL games, could not have been more impressive.

It is also pretty timely, with the Cats' coaches desperate to bolster their forward line against Hawthorn in a fortnight's time.

They gambled on a more mobile attack in a 69-point lashing on Sunday, but without Playfair and Brad Ottens, lacked a big man to take a grab.

David Haynes was the exception.

Standing at 197cms with some of the stickiest mitts at the club, McCarthy could be just the rescue package the Cats are after.

Or at least a stand-in half forward until Playfair resumes in just less than a month.

Coach Mark Thompson will decide this week whether to punt on the 23-year-old he said last week was not ready for a senior recall just yet.

After all, McCarthy, with 17 AFL games to his name, has only had three hit-outs in the twos since missing a month with a fractured wrist.

But bags of seven, two and four goals from a range of high marks, quick leads and long kicks, suggests his form is good enough.

His kicking for goal and use of the body to make good position has also come along just as quickly.

Especially since Thompson last gave him public praise after booting two against Fremantle in the wet last year.

``You stand in front of Matt McCarthy and stand in front of Shan Byrnes and I'll tell you who you wouldn't want to be hit by,'' Thompson said of McCarthy last season.

``He's the sort of forward we need because Kent and Ben provide lead-up roles but he's a real jump-and-split-the-pack man.

``He's someone to kick to deep in the corridor and that's one of the things that finals does provide you because you've got to kick to the contest a bit more and that's why he is slowly coming into the team.''

The Cats could do worse than try again.

Actually was interesting last year McArthy was brought in for the wet game against Freo, and kicked two. At least I'm pretty sure it was McArthy.

Sorry bout that, some reason I just copied the title, I will allow you to shoot me now.

A lot of people on this website think that he’s the answer to our forward line problems, I don’t think so, playing Lonners is a far better option in my opinion. Although Lonners doesn’t have the body yet, he’s got a better footy brain and will be a better player for the cats in the future.

Scarlett30 said:
A lot of people on this website think that he’s the answer to our forward line problems

Who has said that Matt is the answer?

We don't even bloody well know the question, let alone the answer.

tayls said:
I think you will find he will get a chance next game. He would have been no good up in Brissie anyway to wet for marking. Maybe thats why they left him out. He's got to be better than Gardiner.

His best game for us was when it poured rain against Freo last year.
The lack of match fitness excuse used by Bomber is a load of crap.It didn't stop King playing Rd1,despite playing half a VFL game in 6 months.Also Gardiner had no pre-season and only played about 2 VFL games before getting a senior gig.Why was McCarthy treated differently ?
He only missed 4 weeks and he'd played the previous 2 weeks.

You would think maybe it was between Haynes and McCarthy for a birth in the side. Maybe they chose Haynes because he had done ok for a longer period than McCarthy and therefore deserved a chance more than Matt did. You could even say it was between Matt and Lonergan and the same theory applied.

Phat said:
Who has said that Matt is the answer?

We don't even bloody well know the question, let alone the answer.

No one is saying he is the answer only maybe a short term soloution to give us a marking option across CHF or at least be providing a much needed contest (until H is fit) and if he is not marking he needs to be getting the ball down for Chappy/Ablett and co. ATM it is not happenning. Opposition backlines are having a field day! We need the White Knight!

JUBJUB said:
The lack of match fitness excuse used by Bomber is a load of crap.It didn't stop King playing Rd1,despite playing half a VFL game in 6 months.Also Gardiner had no pre-season and only played about 2 VFL games before getting a senior gig.Why was McCarthy treated differently ?

Because double standards exist at the selection table, you heard it here first!

King and Gardiner are two of Thompsons love childs.

JUBJUB said:
His best game for us was when it poured rain against Freo last year.
He only missed 4 weeks and he'd played the previous 2 weeks.

In all fairness to the match committee, King is a veteran of 150+ games, captain and number 1 ruckman of the side, McCarthy appeared to be heading into his last season at the club and has played 17, mostly ordinary, games. So the selection there is understandable. Gardiner I'm not so sure about, but he has been all the rave over the past 2 preseasons and showed some great glimpses of what he can do last year, so he would obviously get back into the side quicker.

I'm not saying I agree with the selections, but you can see the reasons for them. It is understandable that the selectors would want McCarthy to prove himself over a couple of games, as he has been known to struggle for consistency.

nananana catman said:
Because double standards exist at the selection table, you heard it here first!

King and Gardiner are two of Thompsons love childs.

Totally agree (see I can be objective). From memory I think Steve Johnson had to come back through the 2nds earlier in the season as well, and he's miles better than Gardiner. I'm not sure McCarthy is going to be the answer, but to send the right message you have to reward form. At the moment I don't see how Gardiner deserves a game and a guy who kicks 13 goals in 3 weeks doesn't.

Although Lonners doesn’t have the body yet, he’s got a better footy brain and will be a better player for the cats in the future

you obviously go to the Grant Thomas school of "the magical future". It is about now mate, now, not grooming kids for the future. I WANT FLAGS NOW DAMNIT!

scottydeewah said:
you obviously go to the Grant Thomas school of "the magical future". It is about now mate, now, not grooming kids for the future. I WANT FLAGS NOW DAMNIT!

well at the moment, now is a pipe dream. might as well make the most of injuries and give the players of 2007 - 2008 their start.

Yeah true we're f***ed. Just pass the halfway mark in the season and we are the fourth best performed team in the league but really we have no chance. I think the best option would be to play for priority picks from here on on, rebuild and have a crack at 2007 or 2008. I mean we are no chance from here, best leave it up to Richmond and Collingwood to charge into the finals and take it out.

Phat only out of my extreme fear that you will never allowed me back is stopping me venting myself AT THAT F********EN DRIBBLE, CR@P, W@NKER STATEMENT! I had a go at people this year for not having faith. Why give up now? What are youw aiting for us to go undefeated for a whole season then come back next year and win the flag with our undefeatable, inhuman team?

Our two worst enemys this season are injuries and form - we have a list that when it is on song is a top 4 side - if you are top 4 then you can have a crack - the list is not our problem atm.

Come end of season it is the top 4 team with their best 22, fit and in form that usually win a flag - that could be us. Who knows what run of injuries WCE, Melb, St Kilda or Adelaide may yet have? Look at St Kilda. Who thought they would be 6 and 6 at round 12??

We currently have 7 top players injured and about another 7 who are well below their form of last year.

Talk of this being a wasted season is well premature.

malvern said:
Our two worst enemys this season are injuries and form - we have a list that when it is on song is a top 4 side - if you are top 4 then you can have a crack - the list is not our problem atm.

Come end of season it is the top 4 team with their best 22, fit and in form that usually win a flag - that could be us. Who knows what run of injuries WCE, Melb, St Kilda or Adelaide may yet have? Look at St Kilda. Who thought they would be 6 and 6 at round 12??

We currently have 7 top players injured and about another 7 who are well below their form of last year.

Talk of this being a wasted season is well premature.

This is true, injuries have hit us hard, but the most dissappointing thing is a lack of effort. From the couch, it appears that the boys just don't want it bad enough. The team which has stood out this year is West Coast, they have some talented players, but what has set them apart has been their willingness to run hard and give everything. Their spine is Glass, Hunter, Hansen and Lynch, there is more talent in Steve Johnson's left nut than there is in that spine, in fact there's probably more talent in my left nut, but they work their butts off to make things happen. You can go through the entire West Coast side, and it is not spectacular, it is hard working.

Geelong need to have a look at themselves and realise that they must work hard as well if they want to win the flag. As was mentioned in the quoted statement, we are a top 4 side when on song, I would go a step further to say that we are a top 2 side when on song, the problem is that we don't work hard enough, run hard enough or be accountable for our direct opponents. Watch an Eagles game and you'll see that when the ball is in the opposition's hands, they man up their opponents, something Geelong almost refuses to do.

Enough ranting though, the topic's about Matty McCarthy. If his kicking is decent then he must be played. He was on the chopping block at the end of last year, if he can work his way back and be a success this could be one of the great footy stories.

Lets take Cox
Braun
Hansen
Matera
Wirrpunda
& Cousins

from WC. Lets see how hard they run and how accountable they are now. Every team is a couple of hamy’s, knee reco’s, quads and thighs away from a fall from grace. In round 1 we smashed Richmond by about a billion points. 7 rounds later we were premiership favourites. 4 rounds after that our own supporters are talking about pipe dreams and rebuilding. Nobody can say what the next 4 rounds will bring. Maybe our team are all seriously injured when a meteorite crashes through the earths atmosphere shattering into shards that fall to earth strangely striking down all the Cats players asleep in their beds. Maybe WC slowly lose those players until the end of the year, Collingwood win their last 9 like 2002 and storm in the GF only to lose to Fremantle after the get lost on their way to the MCG and turn up on Sunday instead. Maybe the Cats win 5-9 get through to the GF and Ablett kicks 10 and this time we win by a kick. All of these scenarios have as much, if not more chance of happening than us missing out on the finals and having to rebuild our list. Now please go and hang yourself from the Kardinia park flag pole!