Tigerland

OK I thought the guys skills wern't good enough to make it and I wasn't alone, but the guy has shown enough for me to change my tune. What a ticker the guy must have. He was playing with one eye shut and still making an impact and giving 100%.

You've won me and many other fans over matt. Done the jumper proud.

In our best dozen by a mile. Gun. And for those silly mistakes, name a player who dosnt?

I think the big difference in his mistakes to others is trying to do something beyond his capability. Where as an edwards or connors may try to break a tackle or dance around players because they can but occasionally get caught, or deledio and martin thread a pass which doesnt always come off, White cant do these things and needs to understand his limitations.

Another good game. Although he loses his feet at times, still is always willing to take the game on and his speed his such an asset around goals. Cemented his spot on the HFF with his recent performances.

He's a good player to have because he provides something a bit different. Plus, he's generally quick and breaks into space. I think he's the sort of player who'd be very good in a good side.

The best thing is that his teammates are fully aware of his pace and keep putting the ball in the perfect spot where he can outrun his opponent and get to it first.

Since the port game he has hardly been beaten in a one on one contest, either winning the ball himself or bottling it up.
:thumbsu:

I didnt think he would survive this year. But he's come out and earned himself atleast 2 more years at the club. His form has been great. We may have found a good player out of a someone that many thought were a dud. Sorry white.

I said a while back that i thought he was one bloke who really was playing for a contract and i think he has now earned it. A lot of people were saying that we cant resign him off the back of one or two good games.. but how about half a season of good games and still counting?

Id be very surprised if we let him go now. I think King is now the bloke who is playing for a contract. I know that a lot of people here still dont like him, but King is winning me over in the same way White did. He isnt quite there yet tho.

Should get a one year contract, with the option for extension based on performance.

Defs no more than two.

Has always been a good shot for goal (on the run and set shot), but an average field kick. If he can play within his limitations (which I believe the new game plan allows for), he can be very handy. Is an ok mark, very quick, hard at it and never takes a backward step. Doesn't get enough of it, seems to only get about 10 possies a game, but knows how to play to his stengths.

Still fumbles alot but the way Dimma's using him as a kaos player up forward utilizing his speed is brilliant. Suits his pro's and con's nicely.

while hes been sevicable lately yes sevicable you would think hes chris judd mk 2 the way people are going on about his form.

to me he just lacks that much needed polish that nearly all smalls must have.

his kicking and decision making is still poor just not relevant atm.
how does one put it? hes okay when he has time but he is terrible when he hasnt.
and let me say again hes been okay this is not a put down i just think for us to be a top 4 side we need to do better than whitey.

while hes been sevicable lately yes sevicable you would think hes chris judd mk 2 the way people are going on about his form.

how does one put it? hes okay when he has time but he is terrible when he hasnt.
and let me say again hes been okay this is not a put down i just think for us to be a top 4 side we need to do better than whitey.

i agree with this, have never been a fan, however, dermie summed it up perfectly abt 4-5 weeks ago, he said he saw him do something late in the hawthorn game and u could almost see the bell toll and he realised 'hey i can actually play and contribute something at this level' since then he has been a solid serviceable player,fumbles a lot less and his decision making has been heaps improved. Knows his role and plays it simply and doesn't expose his weaknesses. I'm really happy for him and think hes worth another year with an option for 2.

Its these types that actually dictate how good the side will be, teams like swans, saints and collingwood are the best at getting limited footballers playing a role well. Players like Leigh Brown, clinto jones, baker, dawson would be duds and delistedat our club Well done dimma and well done white on turning it around :thumbsu:

santa, one of your faults mate is you reckon ea player in the side needs to be chris judd like or they are to be delisted. Do yourself a favour and research every GF side of the last 50 years. If there isn't at least a handful of players of Matt whites ilk in ea side I'll eat my hat. I'll make it easy for ya...try Daryl freame for size

your entitled to your view and believe it or not i do take it on board and ask am i being to critical of to many of our players. i dont believe so.
the point is we have to many daryl freames still of which white is one.

white is an important part of midfield rotations hes a small and is expected to get plenty of ball use it well and make sound decisions to me that is a minimum i would be asking of my mids onballers unless they are defensive mids taggers run with types.
how many of the whites can a list carry and how many can you take into a game, and most importantly should we be looking to upgrade if not straight away in time on types like white.
mate we have a run with type in jackson whos deficient we have a big body extractor in tuck whos deficient we play king and others .
the idea is to keep building until we are genuine top 4 and a genuine threat.
the way it seems to me and the way most are getting excited you would think we are there already and we just have to develop what we have.

i know we have played with some real spirit played some good footy and done it playing kids and thats as it should be.
sheesh im even prepared to admit that we are perhaps further along than i expected.
but while some will disagree imo we are a long way from where we need to be.
to me while we have SOME PROMISING KIDS its important we build on what we have and not be like essendon or melbourne and others. its more important than ever if we are to be a regular top 4 contender we do what has to be done.

the idea is to keep building until we are genuine top 4 and a genuine threat.
the way it seems to me and the way most are getting excited you would think we are there already and we just have to develop what we have.

i know we have played with some real spirit played some good footy and done it playing kids and thats as it should be.
sheesh im even prepared to admit that we are perhaps further along than i expected.
but while some will disagree imo we are a long way from where we need to be.
to me while we have SOME PROMISING KIDS its important we build on what we have and not be like essendon or melbourne and others. its more important than ever if we are to be a regular top 4 contender we do what has to be done.

Can't agree there santa. Sure 90% in here are excited about the results we are getting, but I doubt more than 10% on here are overly disillusioned about the list. Just because 2 people start talking about finals, doesn't mean the other 25 of us are. Some will disagree with you on a guy like Matt White to a small extent. But noone is comparing him to Judd or Ablett. They are likening him to guys like Rick Ladson and Matthew Stokes.

Despite his age, White is still developing, not so much physically, but mentally as a footballer. Personally, I have always liked something about him, but his flaws always seemed to shine brighter than everything else. That tide is beginning to turn, and I credit that to the coaching staff. I still think he can be in the bottom 12 of our top 25 in two years time.