Aug 6, 2000
Denver, Colorado
GB Packers, STL Cards, PHI Flyers
I have been asked to tell you that some readers of this forum consider your
near-daily posting of links to BomberBlitz as spam. We all find your articles very
informative and appreciate the content very much, but it has lately been viewed
by some as excessive, especially since you have the link to BomberBlitz already
in your signature.

After consulting with Bluey and some of the other moderators, they have suggested
that if you like you can post the entire body of the articles here and list yourself as
a source for it at the end of the article, rather than post one or two sentences
and then a link.

Similar issues are going on in the West Coast forum with EaglesFlyingHigh and his
rivals site. I am not sure how they have handled it.

How does everyone else feel about this? I personally have not really noticed that
many of Max's posts but after going back and looking I guess there have been a lot.
But I generally find them useful, so I hope a compromise can be reached.

Honestly what a toss of sh*t. It's ok for bluey and the likes to hammer the EssendonFc Forum to promote this big footy sh*t but it's not ok for Max? Double standards if ever there was.
At least Max's so called "spam" is relevant and isn't some bull******** like "Get off over 30 hot chicks just click here..." "Get a uni diploma..." "Cheap insurance..." etc.
I suppose my signature will also be considered spam as well?
Just out of interest, how many Dons fans have complained? That actually post on here?

Hmmmmmmmmm!

Well if there was more active threads on the Essendon board here, my postings wouldn't be excessive at all!

5 threads in 2 weeks ain't what I call over the top (far from near daily)

Oh and I normally turn off my signature when I post a link, but with the new style board the 'show signature' link falls off the bottom of my screen and I forget about it :eek:

Hey I could be nasty and 'spam' away on the main AFL board, but I don't, I keep it Essendon related!

No skin off my nose, the threads normally get no more than 20 or so views, hardly making a huge dent in my 300,000 plus hits a month :D

Just trying to keep the Bomber folk up to date with the news and try and create some topics of discussion which seems to be lacking on this board!

Maybe I should of applied to take your job Stealth, seems Danni, CJH, Mags & ODN don't have a problem posting links to their Rivals sites which they run (bit hard to complain when you already moderate the board!) - ah the power of being a control freak :D

Max
Keep it up mate, being so far away from Melb I find your site very informative & can't see why you can't post anything that is Bomber related on this board, it is for Bomber fans, if other teams supporters are the ones complaining, then they can go & get stuffed, no one asks them to visit this board anyway & they are only guests.:mad:
Please keep me informed.:)

Max...you have my support. Your site is a great alternative to the Official EFC website and actually surpasses it. Your news is 'up-to-the-minute', informative, and doesn't tow the party line like Bomberland does.

Max has been keeping his posts to this forum and has kept them away from the main board. I do know what kind of power-trip those others are on, but as you say Max, it obviously pays to be in a position of power here. Power hungry freaks!

Keep it up Max! Your posts have kept me informed about issues I may have otherwise not known (ie. Wally and his back/hamstring etc.). Either way, it's not going to stop me frequently visiting your site.

Damn bureaucrats...and now Stealth has become one of their puppets.

:mad:

Stealth
I am a little upset with you trying to stop a Bomber putting info on this board, instead of getting rid of rubbish being posted by other teams supporters, the latest post by BPP on the good luck tomorrow topic is an insult to Michael Long & I can't believe you haven't deleted it yet.
Stealth, use your power for good not evil.

Good lord, relax everybody! I am not censoring anybody here, I was just
seeking out some opinions.

I believe in democracy so I thought I would seek out what everyone thought
before I acted on it. I thought I was being reasonable. I asked some of the
moderators first and they thought I should start removing posts! But I thought
that it would be grossly unfair to do that without considering the feelings of
everyone who reads this board first. That sounds fair, doesn't it?

For the record, it was Arch who complained to me privately that started this whole
thing. He seemed pretty reasonable in his request so I thought it would be unfair to
him to ignore him and do nothing without running it by the rest of you.

What is offensive to one person, might not be to someone else. I personally have not had a problem with Max's posts at all, but someone else did, and spoke up about it.

And Max, my apologies for making you out to be the bad guy in this situation. Please, continue
your good work.

Arch mate what's this, I thought you enjoyed getting updates from Max's site, seeing we get very little here in Perth.:confused:

Stealth
Are you going to delete BPP last post about Longy, I find that very offensive & seeing as he isn't a Bomber, there shouldn't be any problems getting rid of it.
Cheers

Yes!

It's offensive...and has no place in this forum. Opposition supporters are welcome, but if they only come in here to stur trouble, their posts should removed.

I'm not talking about idle banter either. On far too many occasions other supporters have overstepped the mark.

I wouldn't like to think the Essendon supporters around here throw insults in any opposition team's forum.

I feel vindicated :D

Point is if more people started threads on this board my 1 or 2 'spam' posts per week wouldn't stick out as much!

Anyway, still pales in comparison to the Richmond board where half the threads on there are for CJH's TigerFury site :p

Oh btw the all new BomberBlitz.com should launch within the hour (oops I'm doing it again) :D

Originally posted by M29
Why haven't we heard from Arch on this issue?

Let me take a guess, Friday night, Arch has not long knocked off work & now is probably sitting in the closest pub to his work having a cold VB.:D

Here's the official Party Line from the BigFooty Gestapo Overlords (i.e. ME):

If you wish to get free publicity for your own commercial site, post the entire article, with a link to your site, or join in discussions and have the link to your site in your signature. That way BigFooty gets some value from your input, rather than a slow attempt to leach users.

Up until now the Rivals company have gotten plenty of free publicity and a fertile recruiting ground yielding many new fans to run Rivals sites.

In the future if Rivals wish to promote their sites on BigFooty they should either post full articles in order to give users value, or pay for banners and sponsorships to give the site income to stay running.

Is this an unreasonable request? Am I being too harsh?

To put it into perspective, one of the people who was writing reports for the AFLTips.Com newsletter has now stopped because Rivals will not allow him to under his contract. Does that sound like a company that is solely interested in promoting the game of Aussie Rules? No - they are solely interested in getting as many users as they can in order to make money for their investors. Any content produced by their site managers they want to keep for themselves to increase their ad revenue.

How much money do you reckon BigFooty makes? If you guessed a figure closer to zero than, say, $20 you'd be close.

So what we have is a very large commercial entity using this site to recruit new employees and get free publicity. The managers of the sites have an incentive and even an obligation to get as many visitors as they can without allowing any content to be used elsewhere.

Sorry, but I have to put my foot down somewhere. Apologies if I am being too harsh, but that's the way it is.

Bluey
OK, now I understand the reasons behind the original topic.
It is unfair if other sites are benefiting financially from free advertising on BF.
At the start it just seemed like someone was being silly, I can assure you that I love Max's site, because it gives me so much more info on the Bombers than I find anywhere else. Saying that, you must realise that this is my main site & always will be, like most other people from BF we might make quick visits to other sites, just to keep up with the news & views of others, but while I can't talk for the other BF people, I would never leave here for another site.
Big Footy, the best footy site on the web.:D

Ditto Sandie. BF is the best footy site on the web, and no other site is going to change my thinking. I think your site has some very loyal fans Bluey, who love this site immencely! I being one of them!

Dan, as far as I'm concerned it ain't your decision. :rolleyes:

With a free-for-all situation these forums slowly turn into traffic diverters for other commercial sites.

I am sure the guys and girls managing those sites are fans interested in promoting their clubs and providing content and services for other fans, which is all well and good. But the company running those sites is interested in revenue from ad impressions to turn a profit.

As such if they want to plug their sites they can pay for the privilege and help pay the server costs of BigFooty, or provide full content of articles to give the users of this site value for their time.

End of story.

Well, we clearly have a conflict of interest here, so I would just like to know what I can do that would make everyone reasonably happy in this situation.

I think that Max should be allowed to continue posting updates, but to avoid cluttering the board we can remove ones that become out of date. (For example, previews of games played last week).

Stealth, provided Max posts full articles or keeps his link in his signature and doesn't post 'What's New at My Site' posts with links and little text we can all be friends.

ooh- goodness me- I didnt realise I had created such a stir here- I havent been onto bigfooty since today for a while- so dont think I was trying to avoid any flak by wussing out. However I am feeling slightly like a prat now about it.

I posted a message to stealth basically saying that I thought the board was for discussion and that there seemed to be heaps of ad's on it. I also said that I checked bomberblitz.com on a daily basis anyway, and figured pretty much every efc supporter here was well aware of the site too, so was it necessary to have a post for every new story ???? Obviously ive pissed everyone off by doing that- but really I didnt consider it a big issue, I was just making an observation to stealth, I wasnt starting a full-on campaign against Max or anything. I think his site is great and like I said, check it regularly and figured most here did the same, so why was it necessary to post up links to every new story ???

so anyway- I apologize to whoever I may have offended. The tribe has spoken and Ill abide by that.

cheers.

Max