Pies are the real losers here. They have to play Maxwell now....

BigFooty Tipping Notice Img
Weekly Prize - Join Any Time - Tip Opening Round
The Golden Ticket - Official AFL on-seller of MCG and Marvel Medallion Club tickets and Corporate Box tickets at the Gabba, MCG and Marvel.
AFL argued that there are some options where the best option is "Not to Bump" -
Ask the coaches if they agree with that. -
They are talking about it being in the spirit of the game and maybe it is. But under the current rules its clearly not the correct decision - as pointed out by AA himself in the last few days the onus is on the player making the bump. More policy on the run from the AFL. Its incredibly frustrating, they just make it up as they go along with no rhyme, reason or logic.
It wasn't below the head. He clearly hit him in the had. There was no head clash, you can see it in the video. Maxwell suffered no head wounds and did not grab at his head. There was no head clash.

Leigh Matthews does..
Look at it again - all maxwell has achieved is burnt time and money for the pies (and the AFL) for an act which was unneccesary - the player was covered and the ball was almost over the line anyway.
Was it a"welcome to the AFL" childish prank on the rookie player ? what a dork "Broken Jaw with that, kid ?"
There was no head clash, you can see it in the video. Maxwell suffered no head wounds and did not grab at his head. There was no head clash.
It wasn't below the head. He clearly hit him in the had. There was no head clash, you can see it in the video. Maxwell suffered no head wounds and did not grab at his head. There was no head clash.
point out the rule, I dont believe there is one. I think AA was justing saying what he thinks is the ruleand what it should be-I believe he got it wrong. I don't and have not seen any rule that says a player can only bump if he has no other options. In the actual action of the bump there is no evidence of head high contact. It seems to be accepted the the head high contact was from a clash of heads(surely a player is not expected to get down on his hands and knees and bump?) which was purely an accident.
This is not like the incidents with Waters where he had a habit of running at players on there hands and knees and made contact to the top of the head. Everyone who has spoken about it that I have heard tends to agree it was a well executed bump. If we rub blokes out for this then the bump is dead.
they are either going to have to change the rules (again) or add in ACCIDENTAL contact is permitted.
At no stage did his arms, chest, shoulder hit McGinnity in the head. Dreadfully unlucky but there was no intent to hit the player in the head.
But yep, the rule has just got so much more greyer for everyone
The appeal was on the grounds that the decision was so unreasonable, that no tribunal acting reasonably could have reached that decision.
Realistically, shouldn't that mean that the entire tribunal should be sacked? How do they justify keeping their jobs when they were basically just convicted of being incompetent and unreasonable in the decision making?
Err look at the vision again. McGinnity was just putting his head down to pick up the ball. Thats why his shoulder hit his jaw and broke it. But you Collingwood smucks think it was a headclash and that Maxwell broke his jaw with his cheeckbone and that Maxwell is superman and just kept playing despite a massive head hit as if nothing had happened.
I agree completely. Perhaps the idiocy that disguises itself as a fair tribunal will begin to be challenged more and more, and, this hopefully, may be the start of the returning to the body contact game that it is meant to be and the removing of the Demitriou/Anderson nonsense of the past few years. Nobody wants brutality in our game but to try and remove the physicality of Aussie Rules is an offense to its culture and history. If the likes of Bartlett and Langford and other champions of the game are prepared to sanitise this sport under the control of Demitriou then perhaps they should look at themselves a little more deeply and remove themselves along with the other spoilers of our game. Hypocricy reigns supreme in the AFL hierachy when in the past, we've seen players, get away with, under new rules IN FINALS, what they wouldn't get away with during the home and away games. They mock our game and the rugby folks laugh at us.You little ripper
Best thing that's happened for the game of footy in a long time![]()

Just let the Pies fans enjoy this victory as there hasn't been many in the last 50 years and doesn't look like there will be for a long time to come.
Big fan base+big sponsors+flashy president+great training facilities+money and yet one premiership in the last 50 years....LAUGHABLE really !
Maxwell is superman and just kept playing despite a massive head hit as if nothing had happened.
it used to be called tough footy.err look at the vision again. Mcginnity was just putting his head down to pick up the ball. Thats why his shoulder hit his jaw and broke it. But you collingwood smucks think it was a headclash and that maxwell broke his jaw with his cheeckbone and that maxwell is superman and just kept playing despite a massive head hit as if nothing had happened.
.Its called football .I'd like to see that!Wow.....Very suprised and sets a dangerous precedent for the future. Would have thought two weeks was fair as he has a history of these "bumps" and often tries to make the big hits rather than going for the ball.
So Maxwell is soft? That's the reason he didn't go for the ball? He was worried about getting hurt?.
Does anyone actually believe that?
It's just the case that they argued. Lawyer spin. The only way he could get off the charge was to present his actions as if he didn't have another option. And he did.
Damn I would be annoyed if I was Maxwell and that was the argument they used.

The appeal was on the grounds that the decision was so unreasonable, that no tribunal acting reasonably could have reached that decision.
Realistically, shouldn't that mean that the entire tribunal should be sacked? How do they justify keeping their jobs when they were basically just convicted of being incompetent and unreasonable in the decision making?
Suck it all up mate
These things seem not to be getting through to you so I'll use a form you may understand a little better:
QC's >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>you
Do you understand now?