HappyRed

Nick-Maxwell-Eddie-McGuire-2010-GF-AFL-628.JPG

Collingwood President Eddie McGuire has given Nick Maxwell's leadership a massive endorsement.

Eddie touts the 2010 Premiership Skipper as potential future CEO of the club.
"When people talk about if his position as a leader at Collingwood changed, it's going to get bigger," Eddie McGuire said on Triple M's The Hot Breakfast.
"Maxy will be positioned to be CEO one day of Collingwood, that's how good he is."

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne/sport/afl/news/2014/1/collingwood-president-eddie-mcguire-says-nick-maxwell-could-be-ceo-one-day-/

Thoughts?

Be Along Time before Maxwell would have a Chance go Being CEO.

Eddie be there for a while yet and then people say Craig Kelly is in line after him.

Have no Idea what prospects Maxwell would have in the Coperate World

Interesting comment by Eddie. It could just be another example of his mouth running ahead of his brain, when excited by something Pies-related. Or, he could be positioning Maxy for a role at the club, sooner rather than later, to help him transition from playing. A role in administration would be a starting point for future CEO? They dont come out of the football dept ranks - or do they? Some corporate nous is also presumably required.

Eddie be there for a while yet and then people say Craig Kelly is in line after him.

I think he holds a job now with an ecommerce type company. Also I remember him having his own business at a point perhaps with Hodge?

He would obviously have to study a long time before getting a position like that and I don't doubt him.

Study what ?

Don't think Do !

Craig "Ned" Cement Head" Kelly started working part time in the Collingwood marketing dept whilst he was still playing for Collingwood.

The year he retires 1996 he starts Elite Sports Properties with Olympian Rob Woodhouse and the rest is history.

Lol, that is eddies way of softening the blow for losing the captaincy.

With all respect to Maxy (love him to death) the day he is CEO, joffa will be president

What a baseless comment.

Why the hell would Eddie need to "soften the blow"? It's been in motion for a year now, you really think Maxy is petty enough to sulk over losing the captaincy? The ****?

And how would you know his corporate side? From what I can tell, you've based it on his football games and interview, because that's the only thing we as supporters are privy too. And the fact that you summed up that conclusion from such irrelevant information confuses the hell out of me.

What a baseless comment.

Why the hell would Eddie need to "soften the blow"? It's been in motion for a year now, you really think Maxy is petty enough to sulk over losing the captaincy? The ****?

And how would you know his corporate side? From what I can tell, you've based it on his football games and interview, because that's the only thing we as supporters are privy too. And the fact that you summed up that conclusion from such irrelevant information confuses the hell out of me.

Big thing is he has Big Time Respect in the Footy Department but Could he run it?

This goes along with the long proven Collingwood ethos that once you commit to be a Pies player you are welcome at the club for life, and in a lot of situations that means employment for a time after you stop playing.

You get the feeling Maxy will be given every chance to continue on at Collingwood in an office role with some football mentoring involved.

Why not groom the next CEO (or the one after that).:)

Can anyone else see a future in which just about every important position within the club is filled by a former Collingwood player that's been retained and earmarked for role? Like your Maxwell's, Balls, Pendleburys are to be retained for coaching and corporate positions, much like we kept buck's in the wings.

It sounds kind-of crazy but maybe that's one of the reasons we've become so serious about culture: we're trying to create an environment in which we create our own leaders, and ensure that everyone from the top to the bottom of the club bleeds black and white. It sounds a bit far fetched but i wouldn't be surprised if that's the way we're headed. A pure collingwood "bloodline" would be the true epitome of us against them :p

Big thing is he has Big Time Respect in the Footy Department but Could he run it?

I'm sure if Eddie said we were to groom Maxwell in the position, it means they see the potential in him for it. They aren't going to be throwing it out there willy nilly. Whether or not he actually makes it, we'll just have to wait and see.

Eddie: Hey Maxy, who's that bloke over there?

Nick: That's Dale Thomas.

Eddie: Who's Dale Thomas?

Nick: He's a Carlton player.

Eddie: Well WTF is he doing wearing a Collingwood jumper?

Nick: We're in an old photo, he used to play for us.

Eddie: Well I don't give a stuff what his excuse is. I don't want to see Carlton players wearing Collingwood jumpers. Go tell him to take it off!

Nick: No worries Ed, leave it with me, I'll have a word to him.

Eddie: Onya Nick, you're a good bloke. I reckon you'll be CEO running the joint one day!

Anybody can print "CEO" on their business cards.

An MBA from the Melbourne Business School, 2 years full time would set him up for it.

IMHO he needs to go and get business experience before he runs a footy club.

Gary Pert is the CEO, not Ed and certainly Maxie would need to do some study....
Ed is the Pres a voluntary position.

Interesting comment by Eddie. It could just be another example of his mouth running ahead of his brain, when excited by something Pies-related. Or, he could be positioning Maxy for a role at the club, sooner rather than later, to help him transition from playing. A role in administration would be a starting point for future CEO? They dont come out of the football dept ranks - or do they? Some corporate nous is also presumably required.
Sounds perfectly reasonable to me. If interested, he'll be given the opportunity to take the same route as Pert: i.e. a responsible job in Club administration to learn and prove himself and, then, if good enough, maybe the top job one day. Organizations do this all the time with people they rate - and, obviously, Eddie and his team rate this bloke very highly.

Excellent article by Glen McFarlane in the Hun today - well and truly gives the lie to the crap put about by the Maxwell haters. I think that most of us on this Board recognize that he has some limitations purely in terms of his football ability (as he has admitted himself) but I think it's idiocy to deny his fantastic contribution to the Club and to not admire his journey from reject, to rookie, to listed player and, finally, captain.

I've gotta say, does anyone else find it funny that everyone's acting as if he's already retired? :p
Even the club website seems to be talking about him as if his finished. I mean yes his getting on a bit and going by last year his barely best 22 at this point, but his not finished YET.
Even if he spends most of the year in the VFL as a player/coach. I dunno. I just find it all a bit weird hahaha

Dude, Gary Pert is the clubs current CEO. Eddie is the present.

It's clear. Pert has told the club of his own future plans, thus Eddies saying all this.

Obviously the club wants to keep Nick Maxwell involved in the club after he retirement in the next 1-2 seasons. I can honestly see Nick Maxwell taking over from Pert at some point in the future.

That's how highly the club thinks of Nick.