dugrene

It'll be cagey
Sharks
While we have other threads going about about poor performers, and who believes what about whom and where they fit into our Club's playing list if at all.
Well..
A funny thing happened at the footy last night. Some random guys where sitting around me they were having a bit of sharp observations about our playing group.

Guess who copped the biggest amount of stick.
Pretty boy Chris, was torn to shreds. His image is being eaten away.

Then today an old mate drops around (Eagles member) and we talk a bit of footy, bugger me he comes out with the same opinions.

Mayne is becoming a a joke. Something no Club wants from one of their players.

Chopper: get yourself hair cut, stop looking at the big screen, get the ball more often, being the new traffic controller is not a step up and make your tackles stick.

The BF love-child has been assessed and his score is below average. :thumbsu:

He chases but that's all i see him do nowdays. Had a great game against St Kilda but what else has he done all year. Needs a decent forward setup to be dangerous- a big forward so he can be a second / third target

Love the kid, but yeah, he needs to learn to take a grab and kick set shots. Seems to leave nothing in the tank though..

My thoughts are a little bit the same but I have a lot of time for Mayne. I admit what you see on tv is very different to being at the game, but Mayne was one of the players who impressed by running his guts out, supplying the blocks and never giving up.

Others will have to explain to me why the f**k his hair makes any difference to their impression. Has been ok this year in a team that has had few contributors, easily easily easily easily best 22. Fremantle have no chance and no pressure in a forward line without Balla and Mayne.

My thoughts are a little bit the same but I have a lot of time for Mayne. I admit what you see on tv is very different to being at the game, but Mayne was one of the players who impressed by running his guts out, supplying the blocks and never giving up.

Others will have to explain to me why the f**k his hair makes any difference to their impression. .

Another fragile who needs an explanation about everything.

Has been ok this year in a team that has had few contributors, easily easily easily easily best 22. Fremantle have no chance and no pressure in a forward line without Balla and Mayne.

His 4th year should be a better than ok..

He's been decent this season but he's another who's being misused I reckon. He's expected to be our focal marking target up forward while also running himself ragged doing most of the forward line chasing and harrassing.

He'll be much more effective if we can actually get some proper targets up forward to free him up as a third tall.

Drops everything under pressure. Thought his marking was way stronger in his debut year.

Because half the time now he's copping the oppositions best spoiling defender since we aren't putting anyone else up there for them to worry about.

He's been decent this season but he's another who's being misused I reckon. He's expected to be our focal marking target up forward while also running himself ragged doing most of the forward line chasing and harrassing.

He'll be much more effective if we can actually get some proper targets up forward to free him up as a third tall.

Don't be an apologist for someone who could be a good footballer.

The positive this year is Harvey played him around the ground. Our Club needs to find more about him. While it's looking promising he has a long way to go before he convinces me his a premiership player.

Being a 3rd or fourth target is not something footballers aspire to i'd imagine.

I'm sure every footballer aspires to be James Hird but that doesn't mean it's a realistic target (unless you're Nat Fyfe).

Good teams rely on finding the right positions for the right players and everyone playing their role. Do you think Collingwood would try using someone like Mayne as their key marking target?

Another fragile who needs an explanation about everything.

His 4th year should be a better than ok..

Dear oh dear, never work with children or animals they say. Mate having been around for fifty years I don't feel very "fragile" about telling you to grow up and get a pair (what pair depends on your gender).

I like the way Mayne goes about his football, I don't find him embarrasing and I don't give a fat rats arse how his hair looks. Needs to continue working on his kicking but his workrate is first class. Simply - Freo are a better team with him in. Now go and have some milk and cookies child!

I'm sure every footballer aspires to be James Hird but that doesn't mean it's a realistic target (unless you're Nat Fyfe).

Good teams rely on finding the right positions for the right players and everyone playing their role. Do you think Collingwood would try using someone like Mayne as their key marking target?

Like i said. We've (Club) needed to find out more about him because what appeared to be his role as a defensive forward never worked.

He is not an attacking forward either.

If he is good enough he will push into his role.
Let's hope he doesn't get turned into the next MJ.

Yes, Mayne has had a down year this year.

But what do you want him to do? You already know he's trying his guts out when he's out there, leads by example when the chips are down, is vocal out on the ground and is trying to do the most he can in the role he's given.

So a couple of random Pie fans and an Eagles member don't rate him. Who cares? Odds are they don't watch all of the Freo games like most of us and don't see any of his work off the ball (i.e. off camera).

EDIT: It's absurd to think he'll be the next MJ. MJ doesn't try and is one of the laziest footballers on our squad.

Dear oh dear, never work with children or animals they say. Mate having been around for fifty years I don't feel very "fragile" about telling you to grow up and get a pair (what pair depends on your gender).

I like the way Mayne goes about his football, I don't find him embarrasing and I don't give a fat rats arse how his hair looks. Needs to continue working on his kicking but his workrate is first class. Simply - Freo are a better team with him in. Now go and have some milk and cookies child!

Very handy the way you Incorporated your description into my quote. Soft.

Dear! LOL.

You like his hair that is obvious.

I just want him to play good footy.

****ing moronic analysis.

Anyone judging him as a midfielder on his last few weeks is a plonker.

Was the leading tackler in the league for the first half of the season? No?

Being classicly misused in an amateurishly junior coaching way.

Player x can run really fast. So player x should be able to run real fast all day in the middle. And if he can't, he's not up to scratch. :rolleyes:

It's a bit hard to determine his spot in a side being pummeled by the best part of 100 pts. He wasn't the only one out there letting us down, I have no doubt that like the majority of the team - he's cooked and would do good after a few weeks off coming back to preseason training.

We know he's capable of having a big impact in the forward line when we have structure down there. He can bob up with 4 goals in a heartbeat when everyone's playing their role and well, simply not cooked.

This was pretty much Maynes first uninterrupted full pre-season and he has played every game for the first time. I was expecting a lot more from him. We all love his pressure and tackling and that is essentially why he keeps his sport in the team. I can't help but wonder if we would of got a lot more output from Mayne this year if Pav was played in the forward line a lot more. It is impossible for him when he has the best Key Defenders playing on him all the time. Especially with the shotty disposal that he has been receiving this year.

We all love his pressure and tackling and that is essentially why he keeps his sport in the team. I can't help but wonder if we would of got a lot more output from Mayne this year if Pav was played in the forward line a lot more. It is impossible for him when he has the best Key Defenders playing on him all the time. Especially with the shotty disposal that he has been receiving this year.

No shit.

There are so many more things to worry about at our club and in our team than him.

Like i said. We've (Club) needed to find out more about him because what appeared to be his role as a defensive forward never worked.

He is not an attacking forward either.

If he is good enough he will push into his role.
Let's hope he doesn't get turned into the next MJ.

Haven't read to the end of the thread yet, but guessing this was a drink 'n post? Pretty sure I've read some fairly insightful or well argued posts from you before. This isn't one of them. Hence the assumption.

Mentioning MJ and Mayne in the same sentence is only valid if they're used as contrasts. Mayne lacks skill but has heart. MJ has skill but lacks heart. I know which of the two I'd rather have in the team.

Mayne is like a 3rd tall option up forward
When used as full forward ofcourse he is going to struggle.
Good thing is he runs an chases as hard as any small would in the forward line.
So when used in the right way up forward he will be very handy defensively and offensively.
Plonk Pav,Fyfe,resting ruckman up forward for longer and Mayne will be able to do alot more an be dangerous.

Ofcourse playing him in midfield or up forward with basically noone else he will be no good.

Drops everything under pressure. Thought his marking was way stronger in his debut year.

Shit poster, why are you back?

Edit: Actually, there's a vague memory or shitness, allthough not totally sure, so could be totally wrong, but hey, I'll run with it anyway.

While we have players conintually forced to play out of their natural position (Mayne/Pavlich/Ballantyne etc) they are going to fail to meet expectations.

Top teams don't have to experiment with their top players.

I have much faith in Mayne, the guy is playing a lone hand as a leading undersized forward. Not sure what we are expecting here..

mayne has disappointed me this year, mainly because of his inability to convert important shots at goal, his marking has also let him down. like a few others, he probably would have benefitted from being dropped, but we havent had anyone to replace him. his heart is in it though, and i think with a better bunch of team mates, a better game plan and a better forward structure, he will come good......... he needs to become a more reliable set shot for goal though. in my own mind i see mayney as a brett heady type, good leap, dangerous around goals and manic in his tackling... i hope he lives up to his potential

Well put!