McGlynn Vs Vanders

• Thread starter Thread starter Roughie

I suppose Benny didn't like seeing what the anklekickers were up to with his former housemate.

Ben didn't like the treatment Vanders got, but should of kept his head. Expect our captain to chew him out for giving away a free kick and thanking him for backing him up at the same time.

Was not alot in it, but enough for the reversal.

Hopefully Benny will learn an important lesson from it.

I'm sure it will come up in his review with Clarko.

Rob

In almost 40 years of following football I have never been more wrong about a player than mcglynn,

I thought he was a dud 5-6 weeks ago but he continues to improve - I am happy to say I was wrong.

As far as Vanders goes I think his performance though limited was exceptional today.

Our players all stand a little bit taller, & know the effort required when he plays.

Come on, Vanders is sure to chuck the gloves on after McGlynn lost him that goal

Had Vandenberg scored that goal we would have been in front of Collingwood in percentage (they are in front of us by 0.07%).

Evert goals is important, in round six or 22. Imagine we missed out on the top four or top eight by such a narrow percentage margin? We can all look back to round six and this incident.

how about last weeks poor kicking?
rarely a team will miss out on the 8 due to only 1 goal kicked during the season

Agree, but every point can make the difference that's all I'm saying. Collingwood are in thirdon 107.90%, while we are in fourth on 107.83% - Vandenberg kicks that goal and we'd be third.

I realise its only round six, but the stupidity of McGlynn's actions should not be trivialised.

Know where you are coming from, but i reckon AC didnt mind too much given the state of the game( he didnt drag him!). I was bloody annoyed at time, but looking back was happy to see the smallest bloke on field show his displeasure at mistreatment of his capt without getting reported.

Good to see the little fella stand up for Vandy, both boys come from wenty footy club where both of their brothers play together now, after a couple years with the Gol Gol Hawks(3 Flags in a row), so i don't think that Richie will be too upset with him. He would be dissapointed that he gave the free kick away(and a shot on goal inside 50) and in a way plesed that he stood up against such a cheap shot.

Great win by the hawks four wins in a row against the Bombers since i went to Melbourne and saw them beat Essendon in 2005.

I just don't get why McGlynn thought Vanders needed someone to stick up for him against a little guy like Davey. I know Vanders isn't that big, but Davey wouldn't stand a chance in hell against Vanders.

Good to see the little fella stand up for Vandy, both boys come from wenty footy club where both of their brothers play together

Welcome to the Hawks forum, JD36.

Where's 'wenty'. Do you mean Wentworth?

Vanders was just showing the kid that he made a big mistake and cost us a guaranteed goal and that if we cant make mistakes like that because when we start to play finals and grand finals that could be the difference for us winning premierships. Vanders was showing leadership and setting the standard for us in discipline and that we should be mentally tougher then the opposition if were gunna win premiershiops. McGlynn will learn and I wouldnt be surprised if he got dropped by Clarko as part of his develolpment to learn discipline that clarko has instilled in us since wer were rubbish all them years ago.

you gotta be kidding me mate. mcglynn isnt gonna get dropped bcoz he stood up for a teammate lets get serious. if anything clarko would be rapt with mcglynns defence of his captain

In case some of you guys didn't see, the camera panned to Vandenberg a little later after the Essendon rebound and he was talking to McGlynn with both of them having their heads down.

It was apologizing for going 'over the top' whilst thanking him for sticking up for him at the same time.

I think Vanders was mainly angry because he doesn't get too many set shots for goal in the first place. ;)

Had Vandenberg scored that goal we would have been in front of Collingwood in percentage (they are in front of us by 0.07%).

Evert goals is important, in round six or 22. Imagine we missed out on the top four or top eight by such a narrow percentage margin? We can all look back to round six and this incident.

Big call saying Vandas would have kicked it :D

Love seeing him back today though just love seeing him running full speed ball in hand regardless of how the disposal turns out

that was funny no offense to Vanders , sorry Ben really should not have done it but gee wiz Vander's was quick to give that spray , had the tv talking for a few minutes [only know as i had recorded it and watched it again, whether it would have been a goal or one for buddy we will never know

To be honest, it looked like the kind of thing Vanders has been doing his entire career. Sticking up for the Captain was alright by me... especially considering the scoreline.

McGlynn is a necessity in the side. Skillful, tenacious, feisty, stat-muncher... Keeps popping up all over the field. :thumbsu:

you gotta be kidding me mate. mcglynn isnt gonna get dropped bcoz he stood up for a teammate lets get serious. if anything clarko would be rapt with mcglynns defence of his captain

I dont agree with you. Ben did not follow the team rules and defenetely cost us a goal from Vanders who is the captain. He should of had more respect for Vanders. Imagine if he had done such a stupid act in the grand final and it cost us the flag, then what? Ben must learn to be disciplined more then ever now that were looking like playing finals this year. I wouldnt be surprised that clarko drops hem to send a mesage to all the other player and to the football world that you cant mess with us.

Agree, but every point can make the difference that's all I'm saying. Collingwood are in thirdon 107.90%, while we are in fourth on 107.83% - Vandenberg kicks that goal and we'd be third.

Get over it. It's too early to talk about the 8 and for all you know Vanders could have missed it anyway. So get over it