Peel Thunder
Anyopne else starting to get really, really p*ssed off with McManus' shocking disposal? To be honest, his consistent pinpointing of either the opposition or the boundary umpires used to be a bit of a novelty when were were crap and pretty amusing for those of us in block 310, but when we are getting towards going for a flag, its suddenly become tear your hair out material. His kicking yesterday was his usual standard, and it gave me the sh*ts a lot more than normal. I get the feeling Connolly knew it too, because late in the game he decided to put him on probably the worst player in Essendon's team, Justin Murphy. The result was Murphy suddenly bobbed up to kick the winning goal and take another mark inside 50 with 30 seconds to go. Ordinarily it would be the subject of much amusement, but yesterday it was just so bloody frustrating.

Maybe a bit harsh so early in the season, but I certainly wasn't encouraged that he's in any danger of hitting the target more than 1 in 10.

His kicking definitely improved last year but it wasn't very good yesterday, but I'll give him the benifit of the doubt, being the first game and all. I'd personally play him on a HFF because I think he is a very strong mark, and could be a decent target. His accountability isn't a major strength either. But still in our best 22, IMO anyway. Adds some much needed toughness and leadership.

The Top Ten Placings in the Doig Medal were as follows -

1 Peter Bell
2 Matthew Pavlich
3 Paul Hasleby
4 Robert Haddrill
5 Shaun McManus - Need I say more
6 Matthew Carr
7 James Walker
8 Paul Medhurst
9 Dion Woods
10 Roger Hayden

I think the coach and match committee vote on a 5,4,3,2,1 system................ they are a better judge than me ;)

i reckon that mcmanus is still pretty good.... sure he's not all that talented, but he has his moments..... and when the moments come they're really good.

well worth waiting for.

The thing with Macca is when he has a clanger everyone notices it as they are looking for it. The player on our list with the most clangers last year was Haze. But no-one notices because he is a good player. When Macca has a (rare last year) disposal error he does it properly and misses by a mile making it very noticable. I prefer to watch him and appeciate the times that he does hit a teammate lace out.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
The thing with Macca is when he has a clanger everyone notices it as they are looking for it.

Agree with that to an extent. But Hasleby gets more clangers because he gets more touches and his disposals are often in traffic.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Agree with that to an extent. But Hasleby gets more clangers because he gets more touches and his disposals are often in traffic.

For sure, I am just using Haze as an example. The way people talk about Macca you would think that he coughed it up every disposal (although that could be said in the past). At the moment Macca's good points outweigh his bad points and here's hoping that he shows even more improvement this year. From what I have seen of the preseason games it seems to be the older blokes who are the most rusty (Hird excepted :( )

I have this opinion that some players clangers are noted more than others. Case in point, James Hird on Friday had a good game, do you remember the two woeful kicks he did, they were dreadful but no one is talking about his bad disposal, but we are harping about a similar number by another player.

In fact Macca has a pretty good record of delivering the ball well down ground, it's just that his clangers stand out. Anyway a player must have many facets to his game, Maccas other facets more than make up for his perceived poor delivery.

Just my two cents.

The Clanger Count from 2003 (min 11 games played)
Code:
Player		Disp	Clng	Clng%
Paul Medhurst	234	60	25.6%
Trent Croad	168	43	25.6%
Aaron Sandilands	137	26	19.0%
Steven Koops	99	18	18.2%
Troy Simmonds	267	48	18.0%
Justin Longmuir	171	29	17.0%
Robert Haddrill	271	44	16.2%
Byron Schammer	191	30	15.7%
Jeff Farmer	186	29	15.6%
Des Headland	348	48	13.8%
[b]Shaun McManus	397	50	12.6%[/b]
James Walker	270	33	12.2%
Luke McPharlin	172	21	12.2%
Antoni Grover	213	26	12.2%
Graham Polak	218	26	11.9%
Matthew Pavlich	449	[b]52[/b]	11.6%
Matthew Carr	366	41	11.2%
Dion Woods	295	33	11.2%
Paul Hasleby	561	[b]52[/b]	9.3%
Roger Hayden	282	24	8.5%
Shane Parker	150	11	7.3%
Troy Cook		399	29	7.3%
Peter Bell	596	40	6.7%
So Macca is up there, but isn't the absolute worst

I think the problem tends to be that Mcmanus' clangers are often shockers, kicks out of bounds on the full, directly to opposition player, whilst someone like Haselby might just miss a target.

I'd assume a behind counts as a clanger? Explaining the goal kickers high rankings.

By playing him what we lose in poor disposal and decision making, we gain in experience, grit and determination.

Besides, we can't expect clive to be the only Goldilocks in the side.:D

AFAIK, clangers are only blatant unforced errors. Merely missing a target doesn't get you a clanger stat unless it goes out on the full or straight down the throat of an opposition player on his own.

If you're kicking to a lead, the ball either falls short or misses the target and a pack forms, it's not a clanger.

Look as I see it a clanger is worth - 1, however consistently running head long into danger and rising from unconsciousness to kick goals are worth + 5.

McManus is on a score of 153.

Ask yourself this has there been a period when McManus (as a total footballer) hasnt deserved a spot in our best 22 on a regular basis? No and IMO that includes right now as well.

Do I get annoyed if he miskicks ...absolutely but I treat everyone the same.