McVeigh talks about Luella

• Thread starter Thread starter smithy72

That's a heartbreaking article. Really well written by Cowley too. How McVeigh managed to get his mind back on to playing footy after that going down is beyond me. I imagine it would have helped him take his mind off of it to some degree.

Here's hoping that there are no complications with his 2nd child.

I didn't tear up, but I really felt the emotion in that article, what a tough time for them both.

I was pleased to hear that he and Clementine got away after the season and worked things out, alot of marriages don't survive something like this cause both tend to look for someone to blame when there really isn't.

The new baby will be a blessing and will hopefully go some way to them moving on from this period and help them strengthen their relationship.

Here's to a happier 2012 for the McVeighs.

Tasteless??..If a Captain of our Football Club felt strong enough to reveal his feelings about a great tragedy that occurred to him & his family in a National Newspaper, how is it Tasteless to link the story on a page that can pay tribute to him,clementine & luella.

I opened up the sun this morning and there was a two page spread on it, gotta admit it brought a lump to my throat, but not from sorrow.. it was from inspiration.

Do you really thinks he wants a bunch of Nuffies discussing his childs passing on a footy forum? Doubtful.

I took alot more from the article than that mate, just sayin

fwiw, I kinda agree with your sentiment if this thread is still being discussed in a few weeks and I thought the other thread didnt need to be stickied.

I took alot more from the article than that mate, just sayin

fwiw, I kinda agree with your sentiment if this thread is still being discussed in a few weeks and I thought the other thread didnt need to be stickied.

Im just saying I dont think Bigfooty is the place to discuss this sort of thing, sure the article is nice but no need to bang on about a passing of someone's child.

I honestly don't get your position. I think if he is willing to talk to a newspaper about it and continue to have the story out in the public sphere (if it was still too painful for him to discuss he wouldn't have conducted the interview), I doubt he would give a flying **** about people discussing it respectfully in a public forum like this.

Something very similar happened to a player in the Football Championship, who's son died two days after being born, and he played the very next game, in a sort of determination to keep things normal I suppose. He scored a goal in that game and even though it proved to be the winner, the opposition fans applauded himself, which I think is a brilliant show of compassion from people, to show that some things transcend sport. Just because this is a sport forum doesn't mean we can't discuss more important things as well.

Ok well if you want to keep talking about his dead daughter then thats up to you guys, I just dont understand why you would want continue to discuss it after it has already been discussed at length.

Jarred seems to want to, so who are you to have a problem with that?

I saw him and his wife in Split a few times during the off-season. It wasn't like seeing a regular player because you knew what the two had been through.

I hope he works through it somehow.

What he is probably getting at is Jarred won't be the first or last to suffer this awful loss. It happened in my family as well and the article might bring up bad memories for some. It is in the newspaper and discussing it won't bring the poor child back.

:thumbsu:

I'm a bloody sook nowadays - I welled up reading that article.

The thought of losing one of my boys is too much even too imagine. And the heartache/love you feel scrolling through a limited array of photos.

I can't imagine how he even got onto the field - let alone performed.

Hi guys,

Great article and a bloody tear jerker that's for sure.
Full credit to the both of them for doing the interview, Jarad in particular, for going in to detail about the darkest of days, and the most emotional time any parent could ever experience.
To be able to come out and train/play every week, I'm just lost for words. I'd be a train wreck.

I am over the moon for them with the news that they'll become parents again, here's hoping for all the luck in the world for the soon to be expanding McVeigh family :)

RIP Luella. Never forgotten, even by those who never knew you.

only read this article just now. really well written and i couldn't imagine just how much he was going through during the season with all the uncertainty over luella's health. it's certainly nothing you'd wish upon anyone.