Docker_Brat

10k Posts
Sturt
Hey dudes, I don't visit here very often but thought this is relevant to the Eagle fans as well:

On 6PR this arvo one of the subjects at hand was 'is the Perth media too biased towards the local sides'.

Supporters or other AFL clubs are lamenting the lack of news about their teams, however it was mentioned to try and get info about the Eagles or Dockers in the media over east, you may as well forget it. Try living in Adelaide, the bias there towards the Crows and Power is far worse, almost bordering on hysteria, here it is a bit more balanced IMO.

If anything I would rather hear more about the WAFL, it's clubs and the players who are up and coming rather than the eastern teams.

Any thoughts?

6PR are obviously biased towards Eagles & Dockers when there broadcast is only going to a WA audience.

Should have heard them doing the call of the Collingwood Eagles game, it was like a celebration party when Embley kicked that goal.

Originally posted by ozzult
6PR are obviously biased towards Eagles & Dockers when there broadcast is only going to a WA audience.

Should have heard them doing the call of the Collingwood Eagles game, it was like a celebration party when Embley kicked that goal.

You think that's a bad thing? ;)

You should have heard 5AA's broadcast of the 1998 Grand Final.

I think the coverage on 6PR during the week, on the few occasions I get the chance to listen to it, is pretty good. Brad Hardie is in Melbourne and gives reasonable coverage of what goes on over there and Dennis Commetti is the least biased of all commentators (they're both Bulldogs supporters so if anything you get too much about the Bulldogs).

I think by definition there will be a loyalty to local teams, but I question whether it is because of the State. Scott Watters is pro-Freo and still dirty on and biased against the Eagles because he missed out on 92 & 94. Peter Vlahos is annoyingly East Perth. George is, well, George. Karl Langdon is pro-Eagles to some extent, but becomingly a very good comments man and isn't afraid to call it how he sees it. The WAFL guys have a soft spot for a team, but are generally pretty good. Tim Gossage is very annoying.

I lived in Melbourne for 7 years and the arrogance and parochialism of Victorians about football is remarkable. The Carlton fans I used to know must be ropeable by now. Can't speak for Adelaide.

Where I do agree with the "pro-WA" theory is the print media. The West is pro-Eagles and the Slimes is embarrassingly pro-Freo. The sheer volume of "news" about the WA sides is too great, not so much that it's biased, just that there's too much of it and not enough about the competition.

Originally posted by Voice of Reason
Where I do agree with the "pro-WA" theory is the print media. The West is pro-Eagles and the Slimes is embarrassingly pro-Freo. The sheer volume of "news" about the WA sides is too great, not so much that it's biased, just that there's too much of it and not enough about the competition.

IMO the pro-Freo in the West is more of a bandwagon thing since the Dockers have been going well, I've seen some crappy things written about them.

Of course there is bias, in all states. Which is why I am firm advocate of Nine and Ten sharing a collective pool of 16 commentators - one who will happily admit a bias to each team in the comp. Eddie does all Pies games, Garry Lyon for the Dees, Derm does the Hawks...etc etc.

I reckon having two special comments guys who are openly and obviously barracking for the other team would be OK.

I enjoyed the calls with Eddie McGuire and the Irish bloke during the IR series in Ireland last year.

I prefer the main commentator to be reasonably non biased. Special comments guys being a bit biased is acceptable. Commeti good...Eddie disgraceful.

Scott Waters..disgraceful...not for being pro Freo...for being Anti-WCE and a sook to boot, when will he put that grand final selection behind him.

ps

Far too much in the West and Slimes about Freo. I'd give them no coverage at all ;)

gday guys

ima melbourne eagles supporter and yeah, obviously your lucky to get two gasps of your club of any form of media... but thats fine because they just broadcast what the audience wants to hear. so in perth who wants to hear about the bulldogs and in melb who wants to hear about the dockers? you see it works both ways.

it was funny for the rich/geel game that rex was calling and i swear if you think eddie is passionate you should have heard rex when the tigers clawed back (gotta love that overused tiger pun) he was even admitting it and saying noone let eddie hear this. hehe. i don't mind it though. bitta passion. but it is pretty annoying if your team is being discriminated against.

oh well

just some comments

steve