Certified Legendary Thread Melbourne Board AFL-Wide (1990 Onwards) Fantasy Draft Comp – Winner: Demon Attack!

Bracket: Round 1
  • Hi all,

Here is the bracket for Round 1.

Wednesday 7 August: Young Redleg vs. schmuttt
    Thursday 8 August: Johnny Karate vs. Topkent
    Friday 9 August: Theseventhhamster vs. A11dAtP0w3R
    Saturday 10 August: Scythe94 vs. Crimson Azure
    Sunday 11 August: Toump Ass vs. Headless
    Monday 12 August: Dancing Potato vs. Demon Attack
    Tuesday 13 August: Bluelegs vs. Dory_77

Round 2: Wednesday 14 August – Friday 16 August
    Round 3: Saturday 17 August – Sunday 18 August
    Round 4 (Final): Monday 19 August

As mentioned previously, due to the size of the bracket (i.e. not having 16), the poster with the biggest winning margin in Round 1 (in terms of vote percentage) will advance directly to Round 3 of the competition.

An anonymous poll will be posted in this thread at 10:00 am AEST on each matchday and will remain open for 24 hours. Both teamsheet graphics for the respective matchup will be posted on the day.

See you tomorrow for the first clash!

Bracket (2).png

Round 1, Game 1: Young Redleg vs. schmuttt
  • Round 1, Game 1

And the first clash of the tournament is here! It's Young Redleg vs. schmuttt.

Young Redleg.png

What Young Redleg says:
    I think that my team looks well-structured and balanced for the following reasons:

Defensive Strength- With players like Nick Vlastuin, Craig Bolton, and Michael Johnson in the backline, the team has a strong defensive unit. These players are known for their solid marking, defensive skills, and ability to read the play well. Not to mention that Glenn Archer adds a lot of toughness to the defense.

Midfield Power: Brad Hill and Karl Amon are two genuine wingmen and add heaps of speed and agility, while James Kelly offers veteran presence and ball-winning ability. The inclusion of Ben Cousins and Leigh Montagna midfield adds another great layer to the midfield as they were both known for their exceptional workrate.

What's most important that all these mids will be supplied by Aaron Sandilands, a 4× All Australian.

Forward Line Ability: Eddie Betts, Travis Cloke, and Chris Tarrant are all sharp front of goals. Betts is known for his freakish goal sense, Cloke for his marking power, and Tarrant for his consistent presence in the forward 50.

Balanced Ruck Division: Aaron Sandilands in the ruck provides a significant height advantage and exceptional hit-out skills, complemented by Ben Cousins' and Leigh Montagna's ability to win the ball around the ground.

Interchange: The interchange players all add flexibility. Lewis brings leadership and experience, Walker adds versatility, Cooney contributes with his ball-winning ability and hard running, and Ball can provide solid midfield support.

schmuttt.png

What schmuttt says:
    TBA – schmuttto's busy at work.
    In the meantime, what I'll add is that he's picked a team with plenty of modern day star power, and an absurd amount of premiership/big game experience. Hodge is a general down back, Petracca and Martin are a dangerous mid-forward combo, the Richmond flavour to the forward line brings chemistry and big scoring capability, and the bench adds a lot of versatility.

Happy voting! As mentioned, the poll will be anonymous and votes will be hidden until you make your selection. I won't be casting my votes until later in the day (so that nobody can guess who I've voted for :gigglev1:).

Poll will remain open until 10:00 am tomorrow.

Crimson Azure Toump Ass Headless Dancing Potato Topkent A11dAtP0w3R Dory_77 Theseventhhamster Demon Attack Bluelegs - please try and send your little write-ups the night before your game.

Winner: Young Redleg (61.1%)

Round 1, Game 2: Johnny Karate vs. Topkent
  • Round 1, Game 2

Johnny Karate vs. Topkent

1000017180.png

What Johnny Karate says:
    Starting with the defence, I have 3 excellent shutdown players across full back in Waters, Michael and Bassett that will be capable of blunting opposition goal scorers. Across half back, Koutoufides is an athletic beast who can intercept and cause havoc marauding up the ground in a variety of positions. While flankers Montgomery and Smith are both accountable and capable of rebounding with speed and skill.

The midfield has a combination of grunt and talent with Beams, Hannebery and Edwards in the centre. While Thomas and Power provide skill, speed and the ability to drift forward to score. Spider Everitt is a rare combination of excellent tap ruck, follower and dangerous resting forward.

The forward six has really good depth and balance. Rocca is one of the best stay at home full forwards to play in this era with a whopping 700+ career goals. Roughead is a top key forward who can pinch hit in the ruck as well as position himself behind the ball in vital moments. Gunston and Medhurst have plenty of guile and forward craft both in the air and on the ground. While half forwards Hird and Akermanis are effective goalkickers who can cause devastation on nearly every line.

Finally the bench has a number of versatile options that can either maintain our side’s momentum by chopping out the stars or change the complexion of the team when under siege. Yeo and Crisp can be deployed with great effect off halfback, around stoppages or hold their width as wings providing plenty of run and carry. Edwards is a quality player that is proficient from halfback to the wing to half forward and Colbert is a courageous player that can intercept, shutdown talls and smalls with a cool head down back.
    Across every line, my team has class, consistency, flexibility and big game performers. Vote early and vote often pls.

1000017181.png

What Topkent says:
    First off I promise to think about being nice to you all if you vote for me for 1 hour you woke donkey flogs

Chaddest spine in it, Jacko ALPHA, May ALPHA, Brown ALPHA, Neitz ALPHA

They'll just club dorks like Riewoldt and Darling to death.

The magic of Darryl White and his one handed marks, The laser kicking skills of Gilbee and and the lockdown rebound of Stiffy. Smart to take first crack at the FB while Jacko prowls the for intercepts like a horny cougar.

Class across the middle line with Dal Santo, Burgoyne and Murphy. Both directions, pure skills and not a wasted disposal between them.

Big Johnno brown punching froffies and goals with Neita in the square behind him ready to kill Luke McCabe if he strolls onto the field.
    The pure class of Robbie Gray moving in and out of the midfield and destroying some spud 1-1 or dragging them up field to give the 4th choice to Jamie Elliot to take a hanger on.
    If in some miracle the ball was to trickle to the deck, Shai Bolton after dominating on ball swoops on a loosey and bags number 8.
    That's if there's any opponents left after Byron murders them with a neck breaking shirt front.

When the ball goes back to the middle and they've just about had enough, big mummy's on the prowl for some ribs for dinner.

Vote 1 TK
    Poll will remain open for 24 hours – happy voting!

Winner: Topkent (68.4%)

Round 1, Game 3: Theseventhhamster vs. A11dAtP0w3R
  • Last edited:
    Round 1, Game 4: Scythe94 vs. Crimson Azure
  • Round 1, Game 4

1000017371.png

What Scythe94 says:
    The overarching characteristics that I wanted to establish for my team were balance, versatility, mobility and kicking skills, and I think I managed to do that across the park.

Defenders:
    Down back, I have arguably the league's current best tall stopper in Sam Taylor and 4x AA Jeremy McGovern, who not only brings defensive acumen, but the ability to peel off and attack with damaging disposals. They're complemented by third tall, 'Mr One Percenter', Josh Gibson, who won two B&Fs in Hawthorn's flag years, despite being surrounded by some megastars. Mackie brings more premiership experience, the ability to play on a range of different players and rebound with precision. Speaking of rebounding, smooth moving utility Brett Deledio brings more run and damaging kicking off the other back flank. Finally, the often unheralded Nick Smith creates nightmares for opposing small forwards, having been one of the best lockdown smalls this century.

Midfielders: The crème de la crème of my side. What's better than one of your three starting midfielders being both a Brownlow and Norm Smith Medallist? Two of your starting midfielders being both Brownlow and Norm Smith Medallists. And to show I'm serious, all three of my starting midfielders have each won both Brownlows and Norm Smiths. Imagine the power and sublime kicking skills of Buckley combined with the silk and class of Black, in addition to the versatility and toughness of Bartel. Surround them with two of the current best inside-out mids in the pacy Merrett and McCluggage, and it's likely that my midfield would eat most others' for breakfast. And because my team prioritises mobility and skill, they'll all be fed by one of the most athletic rucks we've seen – Jeff White.

Forwards: The idea was to build around Hawkins, one of the greatest forwards of the modern era, and in the process, I created a super balanced, complementary forward line that will be dangerous on the 1-2 occasions per game when Bucks, Black and Bartel don't hit Tomahawk lace out on the chest. Mickey O and Robbo combine to play the nominal mid-sized/second tall role, offering a matchup nightmare for less mobile defenders both aerially and on the deck. Rohan Smith brings power and even more versatility, as does Neon Leon, who, like Smith, was an AA at both ends of the ground. And if those five don't get ya, a little guy named Cyril will. Delicious.

Bench: Westhoff is a genuine asset on the bench. At 200cm he can play as a second KPF if I need height, offer a marking option on the wing, do the relief ruck work, or even play a role in defence. Higgins is a dangerous half-forward flanker who can do the mercurial, and adds depth and a different look to the mids if needed. Malceski brings even more precision kicking out of the back half and is a big game player, and to finish it off, one of the best players to never make an AA team (and yet another Norm Smith Medallist + big game player), Luke Shuey, adds even more quality depth to my devastating midfield.

There's quality and versatility all over the park with my team. But most of all, with all the skill and mobility, it's the true antithesis of 2022-24 Melbourne, which is why I hope you vote for me xx

1000017384.png

What Crimson Azure says:

Voting will remain open for 24 hours.

Winner: Scythe94 (83.3%)

Round 1, Game 5: Toump Ass vs. Headless
  • Round 1, Game 5

1000017398.png

What Toump Ass says:

Spine’s weaker that Fat Oliver’s tackles, I can see that too.

But what I lack in big, dumb, key position players I make up with style. Lake might give Ben Brown a bath, but a forward line with Fritsch, Didak and Stevie J are too much for the Scott brothers and some guy named “Chad”. Jakovich, Hogan too. Goddamn. It’s too much.

Weitering and Lever would struggle against Lloyd and Tredrae but as a whole Sicily, Hart, The Real McKay (not an ALDI one like Harry or his shit brother) and Grimes are strong. I’m not sure who Ronald is (related to Montgomery?), but Aaron, the guy from Sportsbet and Nigel Lappin’s poor cousin are well covered IMO.

Regret picking that Sydney guy but I probs coulda grabbed Bailey Laurie and Michael Voss, Pendles, Cripps and King Angus Brayshaw would still be enough skill, strength and heart (important!!!) to handle anything.

If it comes down to the bench- and it might, because I’m up against a very nice team- I’m counting on one of them once-a-season blinders Jack pulled out if his arse and a solid right hook courtesy of my boy Tom Bugg.

Thanks for reading, good luck with your votes!

1000017397.png

What Headless says:
    Defence
    Brian Lake goes to Ben Brown. Luke McPharlin goes to Allen Jakovich. Chad Cornes goes to Jesse Hogan. IMO my defence is the clear winner here, particularly if you're considering longevity as part of your vote-casting process. Toump has a nice selection of small/mid forwards in Steve Johnson, Alan Didak, and Bayley Fritsch (plus Jack Watts and Hayden Ballantyne on the bench). I think this is a nice part of Toump's team, but I'm very comfortable with the grit of my smaller defenders in Brayden Maynard, Chris Scott, and Brad Scott. Overall, I think I win this line.

Midfield
    IMO Toump has a better starting four setup. But I had Simon Goodwin and Joel Corey on the wings, plus Peter Bell and Ryan Griffen. On the other hand, Toump has Errol Gulden and Angus Brayshaw (both nice players, but not at the same level IMO). Happy to call this a tie, even though I think my team is more holistically viable.

Attack
    Matthew Lloyd, Warren Tredrea, Drew Petrie - too much to handle for Toump's defence on most occasions IMO. Add in my smaller forwards in Nathan Brown, Matthew Lappin, Aaron Davey, and Ronnie Burns, and I think that's a clear winner.

Bench/overall
    I like Toump's team, but I like mine more. As a general measure of quality, I look at the bench/rotations: Drew Petrie, Peter Bell, Ryan Griffen, Mark Blicavs (great flexibility!) v. Jack Watts, Hayden Ballantyne, Luke Jackson, Tom Bugg.

Winner: Headless (60%)

Round 1, Game 6: Dancing Potato vs. Demon Attack
  • Round 1, Game 6

Dancing Potato.png

What Dancing Potato says:
    I bad want win now. Me sick.

Midfield: Arguably the best of all teams in this draft - Cox, Crawford, Lappin, West. That's an insane amount of skill and ball winning ability. They'll beat you on the inside, then use it beautifully on the outside. Gaff and Daicos on the wings is the icing on the cake, as two actual wingers with AA selections in that position.

Defence: Scarlett at FB would be the envy of everyone. Combined with Egan at CHB, that's two certified destroyers of forwards. Barry is versatile and dominant in the air, while Hurn's kicking will drive attacks from the back half. Laird isn't a mid, but as a small defender he's a nuggety little bastard that's hard to beat 1 on 1 (hence his two AAs down there). Simpson is another excellent distributor off half back that caps off a strong and balanced defence.

Forward: Hall and Walker are two huge targets with a whopping 1348 career goals between them. Matera is the second most dangerous small (behind only Betts) and Walters is a genuine game winner that can run through the midfield too. Mercuri and Dixon are perfect HF choices with their excellent skills to deliver inside or hit the scoreboard themselves.

Interchange: This bench has ultimate flexibility. Hunter is a genuine swingman that can be a third tall at either end of the ground, or give any of the talls a rest as required. Caracella is a sublime mid/fwd hybrid, while Rawlings can win the hardball or shutdown the opposition's most dangerous mid or small forward. It's all capped off by BIG CHONKER DEW - a big game player that will be a nightmare matchup.

Oh yeah, also I swear all my players are total CHADS. I would never lie about such a thing.
    Demon Attack.png

What Demon Attack says:
    DEMON ATTACK FC FIRST CRACK

Huddo: "What's your first crack Kingy?"

King(consults laptop): "I wanna pump up Demon Attack FC. I just love the way they go about it, and think their DNA, their brand, their....STAR POWER is strong. Premiership strong. You can't stop these guys. This is what it takes. Have a look at this."

Montagna: "They have established a strong list."

King: "So strong. Points of difference all over the field. Let's start in defence. The 3 talls, Fletcher, Leppitsch, Rampe. That's quality. Good luck getting a mark when they are working well together. Add in Milburn..."

Huddo: "He played for Geelong."

King: "...Milburn to do what's required and the dash off half back of Kennelly, Aussie Jones... If you turn it over then BANG they will punish you. That ball is out of there."

Montagna: "With Bickley, the captain, able to play down there too when not in the midfield."

Huddo: "Named at back pocket in Adelaide's team of the quarter century. And as captain too."

Montagna: "Exactly."

King: " Double premiership winning captain. Strong leadership credentials with Rampe. But we talk about PUNISH and SPEED. How about the wings. Jones can rotate through there, Bateman is so DYNAMIC, and the class of Embley. That's a strong outside team that can attack out of clearance. With Darcy or Rocca rucking too. And who is giving it to them on the outside? It's the little champ Junior..."

King: "...Ablett Jnr, if he doesn't do it all himself and boot goals from 55, or it's prime Clarry, one of the great contested players, or it's soyboy Sloane. Also Murphy and Touk waiting to receive and run. That's FRIGHTENING. Good luck defending that."

Huddo: "And then there is who they are kicking it too."

Montagna: "This is the big one."

King: "Yeah this is real star power. DEVASTATING forward line. First Grant and Gia can push up as connectors, deliver inside 50 with the most important kick in footy. Silky smooth. And who are they kicking too? The G Train. Godra. Rocca when not helping Darcy in the ruck. With Milne and the ONE TRUE WIZ at their feet. It's just highlight central. How do you stop that? It's too strong, too powerful. They'll get ya a hundred ways. Slingshot off turnover, speed out of D50, brutalise you at contest, individual brilliance up forward."

Montagna: "The class can hit you on the chest, and if they (Clarry) have to resort to a DUMP KICK then look out. Modra or Farmer might sit on your head for mark of the year! Rocca and Gehrig are as strong as an ox in a one-on-one contest against a meat axe. Never mind Ablett kicking goals and getting 30 every week."

King: "I just don't see a weakness. It's dynamic, it's exciting, it's a team I want to see rack up big scores. We'll be playing their highlights every week. This is as good as it gets for me. Sit back and enjoy the show."

(King closes laptop.)

Poll will remain open for 24 hours.

Winner: Demon Attack (68.4%)

Round 1, Game 7: Bluelegs vs. Dory_77
  • Round 1, Game 7: Bluelegs vs. Dory_77

Teamsheets - Draft Comp (1).png

What Bluelegs says:

Starting with the backline I have a powerful mix of attacking guns and defensive nous in Shaw, McLeod, Enright and McVeigh who will kill you with speed and laser kicks. While my two key pillars may not have the same aura as some of the others in the comp Harris Andrews and Trent Croad will mark everything. Andrews is like Jake Lever if Jake Lever could actually beat an opponent. And Croad will sit on the forwards heads only to go home and post rumours about him and his wife at 4am on BigFooty. If the opposition has a third tall, look no further than the ever-reliable Leigh Brown off the pine to take on an opposition gorilla, give a pinch hit in the ruck and a death-grip and stare down that would make even Don Pyke think ‘that’s a bit much’.

If there’s one word to describe my midfield it’s ‘versatility’. Goodes is an explosive beast who can win in the air, on the ground and make any player chasing him look like Clayton Oliver running after Zak Butters. Kennedy is wonderfully balanced, and if the chips are down Selwood will go to another level to get this team over the line. Meanwhile, Nic Nat will smash any ruck with his vertical leap and become an extra midfielder right after. Not to mention the wings, with one of the best of the last decade in Sidebottom, and the up and coming Walsh who gets better every year.

Up forward Cameron and Lucas will be running rings around their opponents and kicking bags. Greene will go studs up in a marking contest then lace out goals from impossible angles. If the ball hits the deck, Wells and Papley run riot. And while Croads taking screamers at one end, Burton will be at his high flying best at the other.

To top it off I’ve got Vince who can help out the midfield and kick some absolute pearlers from outside 50, Rich who can pretty much boot the thing the length of the field and release Mcleod to another line. Finally, Reid, who some may think isn't worthy of this competition just because his balls haven't dropped yet, is still one of the most ready-made pure footballers to ever hit the comp. He also single-handedly smashed Melbourne’s multi-million-dollar midfield a few months ago. How can you not love the guy?

This side is filled with penetrative kicks and explosive talent with scoring power all over the ground and plenty of campaigner to boot.

Teamsheets - Draft Comp (2).png

What Dory_77 says:

Starting from the backline, I've got some great stoppers (Glass, Taylor), mean bastards (Hardwick, Guerra) and expert seagulls (Birchall, Haynes). They're flexible to cover the biggest bigs, smallest smalls, and middest mid-sizers (or mid-quality, as is the case with 'Legs' lineup). Glass will have Cameron in his pocket all game and wily old Harry Taylor could easily sort out Scott Lucas. Might even throw him to CHF late for a goal just to ice it. The raaaaaaaaaaaking left boots of Birchall and Guerra will set up some delicious rebound 50s with laser precision from the backline. Hardwick adds some dash, and Mattner can switch back from the wing for even more run and carry from defence. Bluelegs' forwards will be blueballed by half-time, so denied of any action they'll be by this group.

Across the midfield, a similar vibe. Each player is tough and courageous, but also has plenty of skill to hurt the opposition with the ball. Jones is all heart, in and under to win the hard balls and won't start bleeding at the first sight of trouble like Selwood. Swanny will outwork any opponent around the ball and push forward for a snag or two if he so wishes. Ditto Roo, who can spell up forward to add more scoring power after putting on a clinic against his '03 Brownlow comrade Goodesy. Kelly offers outside speed and class without being a wuss and can comfortably win his own ball. Mattner more workmanlike, but will bust arse all day to cover the field for the team. Off the bench is more of the same - Ward can play anywhere across the middle and do it well; Dicky D a very sharp mid and HFF rotation who loves a snag. While Nic Nat might win more hitouts than Ottens and kick some amazing behinds (as in the score, not in the figurative sense), he'll be outwitted by the sly old cat as Otto slinks forward to stretch the defence and add more firepower up front.

Speaking of, the forward line is lead by the best Josh Kennedy in AFL-VFL history (even among those drafted pre-1990!). Andrews was undone in a GF by Billy ****ing Frampton, what hope does he have here? JJK eying at least 10 goals. AT LEAST. Even if noodle-arms Andrews gets a fist in (unlikely) little Jeffy will be there to feast on the crumbs. Dan Bradshaw adds grunt as the second tall, he'll relish putting his knee through those softies Croad and Enright. Lecras adds class and accuracy and is a threat in the air or on the deck. ROK another tough prick who'd happily pummel his defender into the deck with a tackle then slot the resulting free kick cool as a cucumber. Also a handy mid. Byrnes (this is the 2013 pre-season intra-club 20&5 version btw) adds pace, pressure and goal nous. Can also cause disarray in the opposition ranks by sending out fake messages from the bench. Genius.

The last two off the bench are wild cards. Chick can fill in across any line as needed, as a shutdown player or to add some extra spark. Harley Bennell may well only last 15 minutes on the field, but that's enough time to dob0 4 goals, 3 goal assists and tear every fibre in both calf. Talk about an impact player!

In short, gg Bluelegs, but you've been outdone.

Another couple of cracking write-ups and teams. Poll will remain open for 24 hours.

Winner: Bluelegs (56.3%)

Results: Round 1 and Bracket: Round 2
  • Hi all,

Here is the bracket for Round 1.

Wednesday 7 August: Young Redleg vs. schmuttt
    Thursday 8 August: Johnny Karate vs. Topkent
    Friday 9 August: Theseventhhamster vs. A11dAtP0w3R
    Saturday 10 August: Scythe94 vs. Crimson Azure
    Sunday 11 August: Toump Ass vs. Headless
    Monday 12 August: Dancing Potato vs. Demon Attack
    Tuesday 13 August: Bluelegs vs. Dory_77

Round 2: Wednesday 14 August – Friday 16 August
    Round 3: Saturday 17 August – Sunday 18 August
    Round 4 (Final): Monday 19 August

As mentioned previously, due to the size of the bracket (i.e. not having 16), the poster with the biggest winning margin in Round 1 (in terms of vote percentage) will advance directly to Round 3 of the competition.

An anonymous poll will be posted in this thread at 10:00 am AEST on each matchday and will remain open for 24 hours. Both teamsheet graphics for the respective matchup will be posted on the day.

See you tomorrow for the first clash!
    Round 1 Results:

Game 1: Young Redleg (61.1%) def schmuttt (38.9%)
    Game 2: Johnny Karate (31.6%) def by Topkent (68.4%)
    Game 3: Theseventhhamster (25.0%) def by A11dAtP0w3R (75.0%)
    Game 4: Scythe94 (83.3%) def Crimson Azure (16.7%)
    Game 5: Toump Ass (40.0%) def by Headless (60.0%)
    Game 6: Dancing Potato (31.6%) def by Demon Attack (68.4%)
    Game 7: Bluelegs (56.3%) def Dory_77 (43.8%)

Congrats to all the winners, and commiserations to all those who won't be moving on. You all drafted excellent teams.

Round 2 Bracket:

As mentioned previously, the poster with the largest Round 1 win skips straight to Round 2. Somewhat embarrasingly, that poster is yours truly on this occasion :embarrassedv1:

Bracket (3).png

Round 2 Schedule:

Game 1: Young Redleg vs. Topkent (Thursday)
    Game 2: A11dAtP0w3R vs. Headless (Friday)
    Game 3: Demon Attack vs. Bluelegs (Saturday)

Round 2, Game 1: Young Redleg vs. Topkent
  • Round 2, Game 1: Young Redleg vs. Topkent

Young Redleg.png

What Young Redleg says:
    I think that my team looks well-structured and balanced for the following reasons:

Defensive Strength- With players like Nick Vlastuin, Craig Bolton, and Michael Johnson in the backline, the team has a strong defensive unit. These players are known for their solid marking, defensive skills, and ability to read the play well. Not to mention that Glenn Archer adds a lot of toughness to the defense.

Midfield Power: Brad Hill and Karl Amon are two genuine wingmen and add heaps of speed and agility, while James Kelly offers veteran presence and ball-winning ability. The inclusion of Ben Cousins and Leigh Montagna midfield adds another great layer to the midfield as they were both known for their exceptional workrate.

What's most important that all these mids will be supplied by Aaron Sandilands, a 4× All Australian.

Forward Line Ability: Eddie Betts, Travis Cloke, and Chris Tarrant are all sharp front of goals. Betts is known for his freakish goal sense, Cloke for his marking power, and Tarrant for his consistent presence in the forward 50.

Balanced Ruck Division: Aaron Sandilands in the ruck provides a significant height advantage and exceptional hit-out skills, complemented by Ben Cousins' and Leigh Montagna's ability to win the ball around the ground.

Interchange: The interchange players all add flexibility. Lewis brings leadership and experience, Walker adds versatility, Cooney contributes with his ball-winning ability and hard running, and Ball can provide solid midfield support.

Topkent.png

What Topkent says:
    First off I promise to think about being nice to you all if you vote for me for 1 hour you woke donkey flogs

The magic of Darryl White and his one handed marks, The laser kicking skills of Gilbee and and the lockdown rebound of Stiffy. Smart to take first crack at the FB while Jacko prowls the for intercepts like a horny cougar.

Class across the middle line with Dal Santo, Burgoyne and Murphy. Both directions, pure skills and not a wasted disposal between them.

Big Johnno brown punching froffies and goals with Neita in the square behind him ready to kill Luke McCabe if he strolls onto the field.
    The pure class of Robbie Gray moving in and out of the midfield and destroying some spud 1-1 or dragging them up field to give the 4th choice to Jamie Elliot to take a hanger on.
    If in some miracle the ball was to trickle to the deck, Shai Bolton after dominating on ball swoops on a loosey and bags number 8.
    That's if there's any opponents left after Byron murders them with a neck breaking shirt front.

When the ball goes back to the middle and they've just about had enough, big mummy's on the prowl for some ribs for dinner.

Vote 1 TK

Winner: Topkent (55.6%)

Round 2, Game 2: A11dAtP0w3r vs. Headless
  • Round 2, Game 2: A11dAtP0w3R vs. Headless

A11dAtP0w3r.png

What A11dAtP0w3R says:

Youre not going to believe this folks, ive voted for Les to win this game.. 🤯 (proof will be displayed in the thread)

Thats right, I believe he has the better team so I feel its the correct thing to do........yet...... I should be the victor of this match, thats right, I absolutely should, why you ask? Welllll, its quite simple sports fans. I am a man of great integrity you see, and you can be assured that I will do the same in future matches if I come up against you and your team is better than mine. Isnt a person who cares so much about this comps integrity the type of person you want to see win his round 2 match? I know thats the kind of person I would vote for if I hadn't already given my vote to my opponent.

A vote for me today is a vote for you (potentially) tomorrow

Headless.png

What Headless says:

Winner: Headless (65.0%)

Round 2, Game 3: Demon Attack vs. Bluelegs
  • Round 2, Game 3: Demon Attack vs. Bluelegs

1000017451.png

What Demon Attack says:

DEMON ATTACK FC x AFL 360

Gerard: "I'm Gerard Whateley and this is Mark Robinson and this Saturday night it's footy from all angles. Hello Robbo."

Robbo: "Hello Gerard....what a week. Draft comps hey. Wow. Grzzzirit. So much to discusshst."

Gerard: "Yes. And we'll start with the big matchup this week. Demon Attack FC v Bluelegs. Plenty of hype around this bout, it promises to be quite the spectacle."

Robbo(writing furiously): "Yes. A spectacular spectacles. Good word that. Gah I just love it. Because they were questioned. We all asked questions. I know I did. Demon Attack FC... Who are ya? Well? Are you BaliDemon? Or just some nobody from nowhere? And boy have they answered."

Gerard: "Let's delve into the nitty gritty of this matchup."

Robbo: "Nah mate don't be a w***er. It's all about emotions. And feelings. And men being men. Now I'm not a psycholotrist but if I knocked ya teeth out you what would ya do about it? Well? Because it's coming! I hope Bluelegs knows it."

Gerard: "It's just so intriguing. Ablett v Selwood. Modra v Andrews. Leppitsch v Lucas. It's salivating."

Robbo(flicks through newspaper): "Ohhhh. I can't wait for these champions to go head to head. And that's what they are. Champions. And one thing I know, what I know about champions. They don't stop being champions mate. Ooohhhhhh I can't wait. Do we have some footage?"

Gerard: "We've been inundated with still images from The Simpsons, so no footage tonight."

Robbo: "That's a shame. I prefer nature docos. I like watching the big cats hunt."

Gerard: "That's a nice segue. How will the big cats of Demon Attack FC up forward be stopped this week?"

Robbo(shuffles papers): "Arghhhhh is that on the rundown? I was late today. It's just....a contest but who knows. Who can say. But I'll tell ya Gerard. I'll tell ya. We will know soon. We will. You can't deny it. And I can't wait. Have you been on a Segway?"

Gerard: "No I havent. But it's fascinating. Difficult to imagine that forward line being stopped."

Robbo: "I'll stop ya mate. The AFL....no. Bigfooty...do they know what they have here? With this draft. What an event."

Gerard: "And what about Bluelegs?"

Robbo(gesticulating wildly): "DID HE WET THE BED? I tell ya, I said this once, I was on the phone...."(head in hands)"arghhhhhh don't.... won't....I say. Why? Why Gerard! Can you answer that?"

Gerard: "No I can not. What's your prediction?"

Robbo: "Geez. Don't make me. Mate. Okay. I think Demon Attack FC will do it. Get the win. I love it. Dustin Fletcher... Essendon legend. Argh. How do they not?"

Gerard: "Yeah I believe too. Demon Attack FC are too well structured. Just better on each line. Impenetrable defence, dynamic midfield, and the scoring power up forward. I expect them to do it again. And now to Real or Overreaction. @Headless is the nicest person."

Robbo: "REAL!"

1000017713.png

What Bluelegs says:

Starting with the backline I have a powerful mix of attacking guns and defensive nous in Shaw, McLeod, Enright and McVeigh who will kill you with speed and laser kicks. While my two key pillars may not have the same aura as some of the others in the comp Harris Andrews and Trent Croad will mark everything. Andrews is like Jake Lever if Jake Lever could actually beat an opponent. And Croad will sit on the forwards heads only to go home and post rumours about him and his wife at 4am on BigFooty. If the opposition has a third tall, look no further than the ever-reliable Leigh Brown off the pine to take on an opposition gorilla, give a pinch hit in the ruck and a death-grip and stare down that would make even Don Pyke think ‘that’s a bit much’.

If there’s one word to describe my midfield it’s ‘versatility’. Goodes is an explosive beast who can win in the air, on the ground and make any player chasing him look like Clayton Oliver running after Zak Butters. Kennedy is wonderfully balanced, and if the chips are down Selwood will go to another level to get this team over the line. Meanwhile, Nic Nat will smash any ruck with his vertical leap and become an extra midfielder right after. Not to mention the wings, with one of the best of the last decade in Sidebottom, and the up and coming Walsh who gets better every year.

Up forward Cameron and Lucas will be running rings around their opponents and kicking bags. Greene will go studs up in a marking contest then lace out goals from impossible angles. If the ball hits the deck, Wells and Papley run riot. And while Croads taking screamers at one end, Burton will be at his high flying best at the other.

To top it off I’ve got Vince who can help out the midfield and kick some absolute pearlers from outside 50, Rich who can pretty much boot the thing the length of the field and release Mcleod to another line. Finally, Reid, who some may think isn't worthy of this competition just because his balls haven't dropped yet, is still one of the most ready-made pure footballers to ever hit the comp. He also single-handedly smashed Melbourne’s multi-million-dollar midfield a few months ago. How can you not love the guy?

This side is filled with penetrative kicks and explosive talent with scoring power all over the ground and plenty of campaigner to boot.

Winner: Demon Attack (72.2%)

Results: Round 2, and Bracket: Semi Finals
  • Round 1 Results:

Game 1: Young Redleg (61.1%) def schmuttt (38.9%)
    Game 2: Johnny Karate (31.6%) def by Topkent (68.4%)
    Game 3: Theseventhhamster (25.0%) def by A11dAtP0w3R (75.0%)
    Game 4: Scythe94 (83.3%) def Crimson Azure (16.7%)
    Game 5: Toump Ass (40.0%) def by Headless (60.0%)
    Game 6: Dancing Potato (31.6%) def by Demon Attack (68.4%)
    Game 7: Bluelegs (56.3%) def Dory_77 (43.8%)

Congrats to all the winners, and commiserations to all those who won't be moving on. You all drafted excellent teams.

Round 2 Bracket:

As mentioned previously, the poster with the largest Round 1 win skips straight to Round 2. Somewhat embarrasingly, that poster is yours truly on this occasion :embarrassedv1:

View attachment 2079183

Round 2 Schedule:

Game 1: Young Redleg vs. Topkent (Thursday)
    Game 2: A11dAtP0w3R vs. Headless (Friday)
    Game 3: Demon Attack vs. Bluelegs (Saturday)
    Round 2 Results:

Game 1: Young Redleg (44.4%) def by Topkent (55.6%)
    Game 2: A11dAtP0w3R (35.0%) def by Headless (65.0%)
    Game 3: Demon Attack (72.2%) def Bluelegs (27.8%)

Semi Final Bracket

1000017747.png

Semi Final Schedule

Semi Final 1: Scythe94 vs. Topkent (Monday)
    Semi Final 2: Headless vs. Demon Attack (Tuesday)

Semi Final 1: Scythe94 vs. Topkent
  • Semi Final 1: Scythe94 vs. Topkent

Scythe94.png

What Scythe94 says:

The overarching characteristics that I wanted to establish for my team were balance, versatility, mobility and kicking skills, and I think I managed to do that across the park.

Defenders:
    Down back, I have arguably the league's current best tall stopper in Sam Taylor and 4x AA Jeremy McGovern, who not only brings defensive acumen, but the ability to peel off and attack with damaging disposals. They're complemented by third tall, 'Mr One Percenter', Josh Gibson, who won two B&Fs in Hawthorn's flag years, despite being surrounded by some megastars. Mackie brings more premiership experience, the ability to play on a range of different players and rebound with precision. Speaking of rebounding, smooth moving utility Brett Deledio brings more run and damaging kicking off the other back flank. Finally, the often unheralded Nick Smith creates nightmares for opposing small forwards, having been one of the best lockdown smalls this century.

Midfielders: The crème de la crème of my side. What's better than one of your three starting midfielders being both a Brownlow and Norm Smith Medallist? Two of your starting midfielders being both Brownlow and Norm Smith Medallists. And to show I'm serious, all three of my starting midfielders have each won both Brownlows and Norm Smiths. Imagine the power and sublime kicking skills of Buckley combined with the silk and class of Black, in addition to the versatility and toughness of Bartel. Surround them with two of the current best inside-out mids in the pacy Merrett and McCluggage, and it's likely that my midfield would eat most others' for breakfast. And because my team prioritises mobility and skill, they'll all be fed by one of the most athletic rucks we've seen – Jeff White.

Forwards: The idea was to build around Hawkins, one of the greatest forwards of the modern era, and in the process, I created a super balanced, complementary forward line that will be dangerous on the 1-2 occasions per game when Bucks, Black and Bartel don't hit Tomahawk lace out on the chest. Mickey O and Robbo combine to play the nominal mid-sized/second tall role, offering a matchup nightmare for less mobile defenders both aerially and on the deck. Rohan Smith brings power and even more versatility, as does Neon Leon, who, like Smith, was an AA at both ends of the ground. And if those five don't get ya, a little guy named Cyril will. Delicious.

Bench: Westhoff is a genuine asset on the bench. At 200cm he can play as a second KPF if I need height, offer a marking option on the wing, do the relief ruck work, or even play a role in defence. Higgins is a dangerous half-forward flanker who can do the mercurial, and adds depth and a different look to the mids if needed. Malceski brings even more precision kicking out of the back half and is a big game player, and to finish it off, one of the best players to never make an AA team (and yet another Norm Smith Medallist + big game player), Luke Shuey, adds even more quality depth to my devastating midfield.

There's quality and versatility all over the park with my team. But most of all, with all the skill and mobility, it's the true antithesis of 2022-24 Melbourne, which is why I hope you vote for me xx

Topkent.png

What Topkent says:

Vote 1 TK

Winner: Scythe94 (72.7%)

Semi Final 1: Headless vs. Demon Attack
  • Semi Final 2: Headless vs. Demon Attack

Headless.png

What Headless says:

Demon Attack.png

ON THE COUCH
    Garry Lyon: Our special guest today is the coach of Demon Attack FC, Demon Attack. Hello Demon Attack.
    DA: Boys.
    Jono Brown: Were key forwards a big priority for you on draft night?
    DA: Not as big a priority as key defenders.
    (Browny grunts disapprovingly.)
    Gaz: Easy big fella
    Nathan Buckley: Why didn't you take me at pick one?
    DA: Because Gaz is better.
    (Bucks grunts disapprovingly.)
    Gaz: This is tense! Are there any picks you regret?
    DA: Clarry.
    (Gaz grunts disapprovingly.)
    (Awkward silence.)
    (David Zita shuffles onto screen, half eaten Schnitz burger in hand)
    Zita: We have a bigfooty question from user capital A one one lower case d capital A lower case t capital P zero lower case w three capital R. DA, your campaign seems to have the momentum of a runaway freight train, what makes you so popular?
    DA: Ooh a tough question, but a fair one. Capital A one one lower case d capital A lower case t capital P zero lower case w three capital R, there's no single answer. Some voters respond to my integrity. Others are more impressed with my incorruptibility. Still others by my determination to lower taxes. And the bureaucrats in the state capital can put that in their pipes and smoke it!
    Zita: Let's cut to a commercial break.

Winner: Demon Attack (61.1%)

Grand Final: Scythe94 vs. Demon Attack
  • Grand Final: Scythe94 vs. Demon Attack – it all comes down to this!

Scythe94.png

What Scythe94 says:

Defenders:

Demon Attack.png

What Demon Attack says:

GRAND FINAL, 2 minutes remaining…

Dwayne Russell: Okay, back to the centre, Scythe94 leads Demon Attack FC by 10 points. What are we in for?

Dermott Brereton (mansplaining voice): This is very exciting because it is very close. Can they get the next goal to make it even closer? That’s how math works, you see.

Ben Dixon: I have nothing interesting to say.

Dwayne: Ball is bounced, Darcy wins the tap down to Oliver who is immediately wrapped up. Quick throw up and Darcy belts it forward, Jeff White can’t match his height. Giansiracusa has pushed up and knocks it out to Embley, quick kick forward. Rocca is spoiled, ball falls down to Milne who steps around Nick Smith, can’t go with him, and snaps around the body.

Derm: G-Train!

Dwayne: Gehrig! Huge grab, too strong for Sam Taylor and will line up from 20 metres.

Derm: He just manhandled him. Threw him aside.

Brad Johnson: Too big, too strong. What a game!

Dwayne: In comes the G-Train, will this be the firestarter? YES IT WILL.

Derm: Wow. What a finish.

Brad: Who will stand up here? Huge centre clearance.

Dwayne: Darcy win yet another hit out, down to Ablett who brushes Bartel aside and hands it off to Marc Murphy, quick kick out wide and Aussie Jones runs on to it, this is exciting, takes a bounce before drilling the ball to Grant, 60m out.

Brad: Modra is free.

Dwayne: Goes long towards Modra but McGovern drifts in to take the mark, 45 seconds remaining.

Derm: Man up.

Dwayne: No obvious targets so he goes long down the line HUGE MARK by Fletcher who has pushed up.

Ben: This guy can kick it a long way.

Derm: Torp range?

Dwayne: No, he hands it off to Kennelly running hard, protected by Bickley with a big bump on soyboy McCluggage, give him some tissues, the Irishman kicks it to a dangerous area and it’s THE WIZ! FARMER!

Brad: Wow!

Dwayne: He has taken a screamer, on the back of Gibson, what a sit!

Derm: Siren!

Ben: That signals the end of the game.

Brad: I am smiling so wide right now!

Dwayne: Siren has gone. Can you believe it! The Wiz, 35 metres out on a slight angle, to win it all. Takes a deep breath, walks in….

WHO WILL WIN? VOTE NOW AND DECIDE :madv1: :madv1: :madv1:

Winner: Demon Attack (73.3%)

Results: Grand Final
  • Congratulations to Demon Attack (73.3%), a worthy winner of the Fantasy Draft Comp!

Bracket (6).png

Demon Attack your badge will be organised soon. Thanks everybody for playing, this thread was the most fun I've had on BF in a long time :love: