Melbourne or Sydney

Should I visit Melb again or go to Sydney?

• Melbourne

Votes: 21 61.8%
  • Sydney

Votes: 10 29.4%
  • Stay in Perth

Votes: 3 8.8%

West Coast Eagles
I have just recently come back from a three week stay in Victoria. I am planning on going back over East for another 2 or 3 week stay starting late Jan early Feb and coming back before Uni starts. At the moment im working to save enough money while my parents will pay for the airfares as a Christmas/Birthday present.

So which city should I go to?

Well ... it'll be summer ... so go to Sydney. Melbourne is the place to be during the footy season ... but in summer ... Sydney wins over Melbourne IMO. Not saying Melbourne is a bad place during summer ...

But yeah ... i've hardly spent any summers in Melbourne since i moved here. Always been up in Sydney or at our house on the Gold Coast. :)

Well if you've just done Melbourne, do Sydney!

Both got plenty to offer IMO, but summer in Sydney is pretty hard to beat.

come to Sydney dude !
We'll show you a good time !

If you've already been to Melbourne - then come to Sydney. You can't beat those beaches in summertime and the fishing is pretty good too.

Not to mention heaps of soccer and heaps of LOI cricket, and there's an Arts Festival on during January as well, and of course Australia Day in Sydney is a great day out too.

cheers

If you have already been to Melbourne, then you should check out Sydney this time.

Sydney has grouse weather, and lots of things to do.

I often think that melbournes weather during summer is percieved the wrong way.I think you will find that the really stinking hot days like over 40 degrees melbourne and adelaide have alot more of them than sydney and brisbane but they are consistently between 28-33.Which still makes our weather worse:confused: I would go to melbourne still to go to our one dayers and you will see a true pack of morons going sick in bay 13;)

I'd invite you to stay here at Manly but how do I know you're not one of those wierdos that you hear about on A Current Affair that you talk to on the net and then :eek: :eek: :eek: ..nope better play it safe.:D There are heaps of backpakcer accom type places here but I imagine hotels would be more expensive than Melbourne.

People are friendlier in Melb and I run myself ragged trying to do all the things I want to when I go down...but I have to admit that when and if the sun finally comes out....the city here is beautiful. The only prob is that the public transit sucks bigtime (except for the ferries and they just cut them back dramatically this week!)esp to the more beautiful spots.:cool:

I'll say Melbourne only because I've never really liked Sydney.I found every time I went that I'd get my photo taken in front of the Opera House and the Bridge, walk around a bit and get bored. In fact a few tourists from England recently said exactly the same thing to me.

Of course, maybe we were all missing something, surely the 4 million or however many people who live there must find something to do after the novelty of the opera house and the bridge has worn off...

Looks like Melb is leading the poll at the moment. I was planning on staying in Melb longer, but wanted to come back home for Christmas. The great thing about Melb is the public transport (the trams especially) as it is cheap and sometimes free (city circle trams).

Does anybody have an idea on the price of backpacker accom in Syd? Where I was staying in Melb it was $22 a night or $140 for the week this was on Spencer Street.

i_luv_westcoast, I'd say Sydney since you just visited Melbourne, undoubtedly the best time of the year to be in Sydney is summer time. Sydney has great beaches, the harbour's full of people enjoying the water, and the weather is for the most part, sunny and warm, but not too hot.

I like Sydney and Melbourne and can see myself living in both in the future, Melbourne is a very nice city with many attractions but is more laidback than Sydney, easier to get around (with the great public transport) and the people are friendlier. If it wasn't for Sydney's harbour and beaches (especially in the summer) I reckon Melbourne would have it over Sydney but as it is I rate them equally. Very different cities but both well worth the visit!

Sydney in January is pretty hard to match as everyone who's usually pre-occupied with work, go out and have fun in surf during the day and then go out for more fun at night!

Both have there good sides.... I would pick Sydney though.... I do plan on moving back there after I finsh yr 11 next year.

Oh and Em, Your more then welcome to come up with me in Feb ;) :)

Mags

Originally posted by aggels
I'll say Melbourne only because I've never really liked Sydney.I found every time I went that I'd get my photo taken in front of the Opera House and the Bridge, walk around a bit and get bored. In fact a few tourists from England recently said exactly the same thing to me.

Of course, maybe we were all missing something, surely the 4 million or however many people who live there must find something to do after the novelty of the opera house and the bridge has worn off...

OPera House and the bridge???? they're tourist attractions, and its hardly something that you go to see everyday when you live here.

here is nothing better than Bondi Beach, and to a lesser extent Coogee Beach. For the best day in Sydney, get to Bondi Beach about 11, lay on the beach, get lunch at a cafe, go swimming, head to the junction about 3, do some shopping for various stuff. Go home, go to Coogee around about 7, and enjoy the nightlife there till about 3. Defineatly great stuff.