Melbourne Storm

Sep 11, 2005
Seeing as how much I and many other people love the Storm :)p), I thought it would be best if I started up a thread for "all things Storm".

In regards to this weekends match, we've got a tough one against the bye, but I think we should overcome it. :p

In regards to the players, Inglis was interviewed on the footy shows and he reckons at least another 3 weeks before he is on the track. So I really don't expect to see him for another 4-5 weeks. Jake "Turncoat" Webster was also there, but I really dislike him for ditching us for the Gold Coast Rorters.

In regards to player movements, the Storm were really eager to sign young Ashton Simms, but unfortunately he re-signed with the Dragons. According to the Herald Sun now, Nate Myles is the Storms No. 1 priority. But I doubt he'd come down. It would be really good for his footy I reckon, but not too many players make the move down to Melbourne unfortunately. :(

Let's hope this changes soon!

Anyhow, more news to follow as soon as I get it! :cool:

went to my first NRL game ever Vs the Bulldogs, best game ever, have loved watching it on TV but decided to go for this game.

Awesome to see the Storm Flying!

It's funny, people supporting the Storm ATM seem to be Essendon supporters and Hawthorn supporters. :p

Im thinking of going to a game sometime, my Brother goes to some games (Essendon supporter :p) he says it;s alright...ill try and get to one someday.

sainters said:
It's funny, people supporting the Storm ATM seem to be Essendon supporters and Hawthorn supporters. :p

Im thinking of going to a game sometime, my Brother goes to some games (Essendon supporter :p) he says it;s alright...ill try and get to one someday.

What do you mean ATM! Last 7 years! :p

You should head out to the Brissy game mate. :thumbsu:

Imagine if the Storm Win a GF over the Next Couple of years, you might get the chance to head to the south of France to support them in the WCC.

That would be fun.

Start saving.:thumbsu:

You guys have a very good team.

philhawk said:
What do you mean ATM! Last 7 years! :p

You should head out to the Brissy game mate. :thumbsu:

It's very hard for me to find the time, i work most W/E, i struggle to get to very many AFL games, because of this constraint i can really only support my local footy team. which isn't a bad thing.

If it wasn't for work, i would have gone to a game last year, i even had a ticket.

I will go to a game eventually.

How do you get to OP using Public Transport?

Speaking of the Storm I have problem.

ATM, I'm an on/off Souths fan, mostly steming from their gutsy re-entry into the NRL, BUT being a Victorian living in Queensland and having a friend that goes for the Storm - they are probably that I should be supporting, I'm at odds over who I should really support. Should I become a Storm supporter, or stay with the Rabbits? I hate jumping on wagons so I want to be in it for the long haul.

Can you have 2 teams?

Hawkk said:

ATM, I'm an on/off Souths fan, mostly steming from their gutsy re-entry into the NRL, BUT being a Victorian living in Queensland and having a friend that goes for the Storm - they are probably that I should be supporting, I'm at odds over who I should really support. Should I become a Storm supporter, or stay with the Rabbits? I hate jumping on wagons so I want to be in it for the long haul.

Can you have 2 teams?

Why not?

I support two teams, granted one much more than the other, but two teams all the same.

Who knows. The way things are going, I might get to see the Warriors in Melbourne twice.

Hawkk said:

Can you have 2 teams?

Ofcourse you can Hawkk! Souths are on the up and i'm sure that in the meantime, there's enough of your "love" to go around to both Souths and the Storm! :p

That doesn't make you a bandwagon supporter by any means, just allows you the chance to support another team while you first team goes through a complete revamp.

Oh and by the way Hawkk, I see the Storm as a refreshing solution to Hawthorns current predicament. ;)

But for you, Hawks AND Souths, you've got it tough mate. :p

philhawk said:
Jake "Turncoat" Webster was also there, but I really dislike him for ditching us for the Gold Coast Rorters.
To be fair to Jake, we ditched him. He wanted to go test his value on the open market and the Storm weren't gonna put up with that after Orford's saga last year. So we went and got Quinn who I reckon is a better player anyway.

The one I'm disappointed in is Steve Turner. We nurse him through all his injuries, persist when he struggles to regain form, finally does regain his form and then he ****ess off to his 3rd team. Not bad for someone just over 20. Went for the bigger pay check, nothing more nothing less. Alas he is not alone in that regard in the NRL.

year of the roo said:
To be fair to Jake, we ditched him. He wanted to go test his value on the open market and the Storm weren't gonna put up with that after Orford's saga last year. So we went and got Quinn who I reckon is a better player anyway.

The one I'm disappointed in is Steve Turner. We nurse him through all his injuries, persist when he struggles to regain form, finally does regain his form and then he ****ess off to his 3rd team. Not bad for someone just over 20. Went for the bigger pay check, nothing more nothing less. Alas he is not alone in that regard in the NRL.

Can't begrudge Turner for moving. At Melbourne he's 3rd in line for the full back job behind Inglis & Slater. At 8 other clubs, he'd be the starting full back. I don't see him being much different to all the young key forwards that Nth Melbourne had a decade a ago that couldn't get a game behind Carey & Longmire (i.e. Welsh, Kingsley, Mooney, Stevens) that we released to play elsewhere.

Lidge said:
Can't begrudge Turner for moving. At Melbourne he's 3rd in line for the full back job behind Inglis & Slater. At 8 other clubs, he'd be the starting full back. I don't see him being much different to all the young key forwards that Nth Melbourne had a decade a ago that couldn't get a game behind Carey & Longmire (i.e. Welsh, Kingsley, Mooney, Stevens) that we released to play elsewhere.

But he'll be the 2nd Full-Back at the Gold Coast anyhow behind English Full-Back, Richie Mathers?

I agree with you Year of the Roo when you say that about Turner, but I still feel that Webster should have shown a bit more loyalty.

One of my best Storm memories was Round 16, 2000 at Olympic Park against the Broncos. We'd won the premiership in 99 and were decimated by State of Origin exclusions. Down 10-12 with a minute to go, we scored under the post with barely a few seconds left. What made it all the more special was it remains the only Storm game I have watched from a corporate box. Decent crowd of over 14,000 that day.

Just looking at attendance records, we've had 13 crowds of 14000 or more (at Olympic Park), but none since 2000. If we can get 12150 to the Broncos match this Friday, it will be our biggest Olympic Park home crowd since Round 25, 2000.

In 2000, we won our first 7 home games, a record we've equalled this year and can eclipse on Friday. In fact, we've won our last 12 games at Olympic Park.

One thing I'd like to do is win a home final this season. I went to the Dragons match in 2000 and that was disappointing. Would be good to square the finals ledger.

This week is the week when the Melbourne bandwagoners start coming in :D

They should easily eclipse 12,000 with the big Origin game to build up the hype and it's a promoters dream 1v2.

And no AFL in Melbourne. Boring Freo v Essendon on TV, even I couldn't care less about that.

I miss the days when I could go watch the Storm on a Friday night, stroll over to the G, and watch the last quarter of the footy. Little chance of that these days having a) Storm playing home on a Friday night, and b) AFL on in Melbourne on a Friday night at the MCG. Best example of that was early in 1999:

Friday March 26, 1999
NRL Round 4 Melbourne v Canterbury (26-17 Melbourne win)
AFL Round 1 Kangaroos v Geelong (141-135 Geelong win)
- Cats trailed by 5 goals at 3/4 time, kicked 8 in the last to win

A great night all round.

Lidge said:
I sure can begrudge him! And he is getting a game, I think he has played almost every game of the year on the wing. Just because he wants to play full back and there are 2 there ahead of him is a pretty **** poor reason to leave a club that showed much faith and patience in you.

He could easily force his way to full back anyway by continuing to perform, moving Slater to a wing and with Inglis possibly moving to stand-off.

Melbourne Storm