Melbourne Storm

Lidge said:
Nah - I reckon will get him. The kid will be itching to play regular first grade footy. He'll get that in Melbourne. The coin on offer, moving interstate etc would be secondary factors only at this stage of his career.

I dno though Lidge, the Broncos could offer him "life after Lockyer". But still, I hope he comes here!

Oh and Coughlan, Kearns did sign, check out the herald website! :D

philhawk said:
Oh and Coughlan, Kearns did sign, check out the herald website! :D
yeah just saw that when i was flicking through the paper, is pretty handy insurance indeed

Hawkk said:
Speaking of the Storm I have problem.

ATM, I'm an on/off Souths fan, mostly steming from their gutsy re-entry into the NRL, BUT being a Victorian living in Queensland and having a friend that goes for the Storm - they are probably that I should be supporting, I'm at odds over who I should really support. Should I become a Storm supporter, or stay with the Rabbits? I hate jumping on wagons so I want to be in it for the long haul.

Can you have 2 teams?

Hawkk, whatever you do, don't drop the Bunnies, because they will be turning the corner in 2007. No one, will have a problem if you also follow the Storm (they are a great team to watch), but after going through all the pain with Souths, just hang in there. ;)

I am coming down for the Storm v Warriors game 17-19 August.

Where is somewhere to stay-any suggestions?

I'll probably gp to the races on Saturday arvo.

Rus13 said:
I am coming down for the Storm v Warriors game 17-19 August.

Where is somewhere to stay-any suggestions?

I'll probably gp to the races on Saturday arvo.

If you're only coming down for 2 nights you'll be right. Bars are open 24 hrs in Melbourne. The money you save on going without a hotel room you can put towards your bar tab.

Chris Walker is likely to leave the Storm according to today's Hun. Not surprising I suppose considering the lack of opportunities he has had whilst in Melbourne, but he would probably get more game time next year with 2 established backs leaving, with only 1 replacement.

The Knights though have lost a heap of backs and are keen. Will no doubt offer more money than us too. It looks like Walker will join his 5th club then! :eek:

Decision on Moon is coming closer. The Cowgirls are keen and the Boncos have upped their offer. I don't think we will get him.

year of the roo said:
Chris Walker is likely to leave the Storm according to today's Hun. Not surprising I suppose considering the lack of opportunities he has had whilst in Melbourne, but he would probably get more game time next year with 2 established backs leaving, with only 1 replacement.

The Knights though have lost a heap of backs and are keen. Will no doubt offer more money than us too. It looks like Walker will join his 5th club then! :eek:

Decision on Moon is coming closer. The Cowgirls are keen and the Boncos have upped their offer. I don't think we will get him.

No you did not. To be truthful, the cowboys don't need him either, we've got thurston and niclau who will be massive players for us.

Any Possibility of these happening next season........

6. Cronk
7. Cam Smith

or

6. Cronk
7. Aubisson

thebigboy said:
No you did not. To be truthful, the cowboys don't need him either, we've got thurston and niclau who will be massive players for us.

Any Possibility of these happening next season........

6. Cronk
7. Cam Smith

or

6. Cronk
7. Aubisson
No way will Cronk be moved from half back, no way will Smith be moved from Hooker. As I have already alluded to, we have ample replacement for Hill at 5/8 with Geyer, Inglis, Aubusson and Bond. We will need someone to replace Geyer/Inglis in the backs though.

thebigboy said:
James Aubusson, is he ready to step up and play regular footy next season, cause im fairly sure that he was an Junior Kangaroos Half Back.

That would put him in front of cronk surely

Yes you're right.

We're going to kick out our half-back who's done a magnificent job for us this year for a player that played on the bench for Australia in the Under 18's.

:thumbsu: :rolleyes:

philhawk said:
Yes you're right.

We're going to kick out our half-back who's done a magnificent job for us this year for a player that played on the bench for Australia in the Under 18's.

:thumbsu: :rolleyes:

Did i know that, obviously not:rolleyes:

Anyway, Cronk hasn't been magnificent, he has had some good games but he will never make it into any rep teams execpt for a small role of the bench.

Also, there are at 9 better half backs than cronk (Kimmorly, Johns, Gower, Orford, T.Smith, Prince, Head, Thurston when he plays there, Sherwin).

So it's not unreasonable to move him.

thebigboy said:
Did i know that, obviously not:rolleyes:

So why post this?

thebigboy said:
James Aubusson, is he ready to step up and play regular footy next season, cause im fairly sure that he was an Junior Kangaroos Half Back.

:rolleyes:

thebigboy said:
Anyway, Cronk hasn't been magnificent, he has had some good games but he will never make it into any rep teams execpt for a small role of the bench.

Also, there are at 9 better half backs than cronk (Kimmorly, Johns, Gower, Orford, T.Smith, Prince, Head, Thurston when he plays there, Sherwin).

So it's not unreasonable to move him.

You really don't think before you post do you?

a) Looking at the Storms position with a rookie halfback, i'd say he's done 'reasonably well'. With all those supposed 'big name players', how come those teams are excelling, with some (like the Knights and Cowboys), struggling to make the 8.

b) Tell me one players who has played against Cronk this year and has done better than him? Orford and Scott Prince earlier in the season aside, do try to find me one. :rolleyes:

Kimmoreley - Don't make me laugh

Johns - He's the best, what do you expect

Gower - Utter crap

Orford - Cronk's mentor, seeing the Storms position this year and Coopers young age, I think you can expect him to only get better. :rolleyes:

T. Smith - Thats a good joke, how many good games this year has he had while not off his face?

Scott Prince - Good player but useless without Benji. Will struggle next year with Cambell IMO.

Head - What rubbish. What has he actually done (while not being injured 24/7) to warrant being 'better than Cronk'?

Sherwin - Is this before or after he got dropped to Premier League for poor performances. :thumbsdown:

Conclusion: I stand by my previous summary of Cronk when I labelled his season to date 'magnificent' and you need to actually think before you post in future. :thumbsu:

philhawk said:
So why post this?

:rolleyes:

You really don't think before you post do you?

a) Looking at the Storms position with a rookie halfback, i'd say he's done 'reasonably well'. With all those supposed 'big name players', how come those teams are excelling, with some (like the Knights and Cowboys), struggling to make the 8.

b) Tell me one players who has played against Cronk this year and has done better than him? Orford and Scott Prince earlier in the season aside, do try to find me one. :rolleyes:

Kimmoreley - Don't make me laugh

Johns - He's the best, what do you expect

Gower - Utter crap

Orford - Cronk's mentor, seeing the Storms position this year and Coopers young age, I think you can expect him to only get better. :rolleyes:

T. Smith - Thats a good joke, how many good games this year has he had while not off his face?

Scott Prince - Good player but useless without Benji. Will struggle next year with Cambell IMO.

Head - What rubbish. What has he actually done (while not being injured 24/7) to warrant being 'better than Cronk'?

Sherwin - Is this before or after he got dropped to Premier League for poor performances. :thumbsdown:

Conclusion: I stand by my previous summary of Cronk when I labelled his season to date 'magnificent' and you need to actually think before you post in future. :thumbsu:

You're opinions interest me....as you may or may not have read, i did think that cronk had played some good games, and most of them have been good. in saying this, it is easier to play well consistantly when you have arguably the best backline in the competition around you and a strong forward pack to give you good metres as well as a strong defence, restricting there go forward, meaning that he is always in good position when called upon.

However, it would be interesting to see how he would go if he were playing at a struggling club without the plethora of talent around him. Would he be rated as highly. The answer to that is obvious. No:thumbsu: and could he improve a team

Your rating of Kimmorley I believe shows how biased you are towards the storm, whilst he has struggled with injury this season, he is still rated amongst the best halves in the game and

Tim smith has had indiscresions this season, does that make him less skilled, No, is he a better prospect for the future than cronk, undoutably yes IMO.

Left out Thurston, who will be the next dominant half back in the competiton IMO and im there are a lot of experts who agree.

Cronk v Thurston in origin in the next few years to try and get a QLD No. 7 jumper. Thurston will be a shoe in unless they use him at 5/8 when lockyer retires.

Tell me one players who has played against Cronk this year and has done better than him? Orford and Scott Prince earlier in the season aside, do try to find me one. ---- As i have mentioned above, due to the storms top defence, the opposition halves not get the some opportunites in the same field position as him, hence it is difficult to beat him. Im not 100% sure but even though Thurston was named at 5/8 v Storm in Townsville, he played most of the night at half-back, and was easily man of the match as well.

The biggest test for cronk will come in the finals, can he be the playmaker that can take the storm all the way??

Conclusion: Your basically telling me that you think that cooper cronk is, and this is going by your ratings, that apart from Johns and Orford, he is better than all the other half-backs in the NRL??? And i also stand by my ratings that i don't rate cronk high in importance and skill as the other 9.

Cooper Cronk has this team on top with basically the same team as seasons before, when all Matt Orford could do was lead the team to about 4th and 5th.

What does that tell you? The Storm should be delighted with the way Cooper has settled in as half-back, and they'd be stupid to insert a rookie like Aubusson ahead of him.

thebigboy said:
You're opinions interest me....as you may or may not have read, i did think that cronk had played some good games, and most of them have been good. in saying this, it is easier to play well consistantly when you have arguably the best backline in the competition around you and a strong forward pack to give you good metres as well as a strong defence, restricting there go forward, meaning that he is always in good position when called upon.

Sure, yet why do teams like the Cowboys struggle in that regards then? They've got the forward pack and they've definitely got the backline? ...
Is that a reflection on Thurston?

thebigboy said:
However, it would be interesting to see how he would go if he were playing at a struggling club without the plethora of talent around him. Would he be rated as highly. The answer to that is obvious. No:thumbsu: and could he improve a team

That's a stupid way to argue things in my opinion. What is that statement based on? Nothing whatsoever. It's like saying Andrew Johns, if he went to Souths, could turn the team for the better overnight.

thebigboy said:
Your rating of Kimmorley I believe shows how biased you are towards the storm, whilst he has struggled with injury this season, he is still rated amongst the best halves in the game and Tim smith has had indiscresions this season, does that make him less skilled, No, is he a better prospect for the future than cronk, undoutably yes IMO.

Again you base that on nothing in particular and purely speculation. Kimmoreley has had a pathetic season this year, culminating in his woeful performances in his last two matches again the Storm and the Roosters(particularly). To be honest, he hasn't struggled with injury this season as most halfbacks have been the same - and even despite that, his performances over the past few years havn't been any better.

Tim Smith is fairly skilled, i'll give him that. But again, you are basing your judgement purely on your own opinion so to say 'undoubtedly yes' is a stupid reaction when based upon your own opinion. Certainly the well respected critics of the game are continually rating Cronk among the Top 3 half-backs this season and seeing his relatively young age and the fact that it's his first season, his game will only get better and better and better ...

thebigboy said:
Left out Thurston, who will be the next dominant half back in the competiton IMO and im there are a lot of experts who agree.
Agreed, but it's hypocritical of you to quote 'experts' when analysing Thurston yet failing to note the 'experts' praise of Cronk

thebigboy said:
Cronk v Thurston in origin in the next few years to try and get a QLD No. 7 jumper. Thurston will be a shoe in unless they use him at 5/8 when lockyer retires.

To be honest, I don't really see Cronk many Origin games. Thurston has a massive future in this regards and to be honest, i'm not too unhappy to not see Cronk play Origin. He's only young and will get better, but i'd rather he played for another 2-3 years before even being in contention to play Origin.

thebigboy said:
Tell me one players who has played against Cronk this year and has done better than him? Orford and Scott Prince earlier in the season aside, do try to find me one. ---- As i have mentioned above, due to the storms top defence, the opposition halves not get the some opportunites in the same field position as him, hence it is difficult to beat him. Im not 100% sure but even though Thurston was named at 5/8 v Storm in Townsville, he played most of the night at half-back, and was easily man of the match as well.

Nope, you're right, I think he was named MOTM in that match. But interestingly enough in the return match down at Olympic, I believe Cronk was named MOTM. Saying the "Storms defence" is an excuse for Cronks performance this year is rather weak IMO as Cronk has shown numerous times this season that he possesses both the kicking, passing and particularly the running game to step up when needed (his try against Parramatta and his break against the Sharks last week spring to mind).

thebigboy said:
The biggest test for cronk will come in the finals, can he be the playmaker that can take the storm all the way??

Agreed, but if Kimmoreley could do it in 99, Price in 05 then I reckon under the guidance of Bellamy and seasoned players like Smith, Hill and Geyer, Cronk will be fine.

thebigboy said:
Conclusion: Your basically telling me that you think that cooper cronk is, and this is going by your ratings, that apart from Johns and Orford, he is better than all the other half-backs in the NRL???

I never said that actually. I merely stated that Cronk had had a superior season to the abovementioned players and that his current season was indeed 'magnificent', something you found need to play down.

philhawk said:
Sure, yet why do teams like the Cowboys struggle in that regards then? They've got the forward pack and they've definitely got the backline? ...

That's a stupid way to argue things in my opinion. What is that statement based on? Nothing whatsoever. It's like saying Andrew Johns, if he went to Souths, could turn the team for the better overnight.

Again you base that on nothing in particular and purely speculation. Kimmoreley has had a pathetic season this year, culminating in his woeful performances in his last two matches again the Storm and the Roosters(particularly). To be honest, he hasn't struggled with injury this season as most halfbacks have been the same - and even despite that, his performances over the past few years havn't been any better.

Tim Smith is fairly skilled, i'll give him that. But again, you are basing your judgement purely on your own opinion so to say 'undoubtedly yes' is a stupid reaction when based upon your own opinion. Certainly the well respected critics of the game are continually rating Cronk among the Top 3 half-backs this season and seeing his relatively young age and the fact that it's his first season, his game will only get better and better and better ...

Agreed, but it's hypocritical of you to quote 'experts' when analysing Thurston yet failing to note the 'experts' praise of Cronk

To be honest, I don't really see Cronk many Origin games. Thurston has a massive future in this regards and to be honest, i'm not too unhappy to not see Cronk play Origin. He's only young and will get better, but i'd rather he played for another 2-3 years before even being in contention to play Origin.

Nope, you're right, I think he was named MOTM in that match. But interestingly enough in the return match down at Olympic, I believe Cronk was named MOTM. Saying the "Storms defence" is an excuse for Cronks performance this year is rather weak IMO as Cronk has shown numerous times this season that he possesses both the kicking, passing and particularly the running game to step up when needed (his try against Parramatta and his break against the Sharks last week spring to mind).

Agreed, but if Kimmoreley could do it in 99, Price in 05 then I reckon under the guidance of Bellamy and seasoned players like Smith, Hill and Geyer, Cronk will be fine.

I never said that actually. I merely stated that Cronk had had a superior season to the abovementioned players and that his current season was indeed 'magnificent', something you found need to play down.

Prince in '05 wasn't an unknown, he had experienced Origin and had played 1st grade for 8 seasons

Your right, you didn't say that, however of your ratings of the mention halfbacks, it is implied that you believe he is better than all of them.

I will acknowledge the fact the Cronk has had praise from the media and he will get this when his side is flying like it is, but his players outside him make him look better than what he is.

I must have missed the comments made that put Cronk in the top 3 halfs.

To say use examples of Kimmorleys effort against 2 teams isn't right. It hurts me to say this but he tore NthQ apart in townsville.

It's not crazy to say that cronk couldn't lift a bottom team, as he is not at that level at the moment and im not whether he will be.

Aubusson looks set to play the role that Cronk played at Melbourne last year. Coming off the bench providing cover for 6,7 and 9. He is a long long way off displacing the marvellous Cooper Cronk.

year of the roo said:
Aubusson looks set to play the role that Cronk played at Melbourne last year. Coming off the bench providing cover for 6,7 and 9. He is a long long way off displacing the marvellous Cooper Cronk.

He's too small for mine YOTR. IMO, his size wont enable him to cut it at this level. I just hope Michael Bond is a bit bigger!

philhawk said:
He's too small for mine YOTR. IMO, his size wont enable him to cut it at this level. I just hope Michael Bond is a bit bigger!
He is taller than Cronk and S.Turner and the same height as Slater! Needs to bulk up a bit, but he is still young. Don't give up on him just yet.

sainters said:
How do you get to OP using Public Transport?

Train to Richmond Station then walk up Swan St. Alternatively catch the number 70 tram (Wattle Park) and get off at Vodafone Arena, the tram goes up Flinders St.

thebigboy said:
philhawk said:
As a Cowboys fan, I'll answer that :).

Good forwards and backs the Cowboys have, but during the run of losser they had not been playing as well (as a group and individually) as they did earlier in the season.

I believe the performance last week against the Broncos showed that the Cowboy players were too used to Thurston being the player to get them out of trouble. The moment Thurston went off the field the remaining 16 player *knew* that they would have to perform their best (individually and as a team) to win *and* they managed to do it.

To often in the previous months players weren't doing the extra work that doesn't show on the stats sheets, vs the Broncos they did.

Bad teamwork from the rest of the team on the field will make any halfback and/or 5/8 look bad, regardless of their ability.

Good teamwork will make them good, regardless of their ability.

My opinion os the Storm have great team work and good halves :thumbsu:.

Danger game for the Storm today. We are possibly due for a loss soon, our record away is no where near as good as at home, we are apparently resting Kidwell, Webster is missing with the flu, and we have Inglis, Crocker and Crossman all playing who are very under-done.

I think we will do very well to win this one.

Melbourne Storm