Analysis Mental Side/Discipline

Maybe it’s not thread worthy, but I don’t start threads often.

What the **** is going on mentally here, I accept there are injuries and inconsistencies in the lineup , that’s fine. But since the 22 loss this has been happening , 23 down at Geelong for instance, and games where pressure is applied and we go to water.

2024 we lifted and were awesome but even when winning effort and intensity became a negotiable , and we would win in bursts, it looked good, but the team was basically fit bar the skipper.

then we lost to freo ,and we had the Port debacle, the Dogs debacle that should have been 100, even the Pies win was only the last quarter or so we woke up, then of course the Granny and now this year it’s gone from at best massive lapses or just nothing to now full games , the last 2 weeks are non competitive.

If I look at tonight, most of the team are somewhat proven decent players, someone like Mitchell who knows, but there is at least 15-16 who have played reasonably decent footy. To just get outshone now at home , by this much.
We don’t have a forward line, but we also aren’t getting the ball down there, we don’t run hard, we don’t chase, we get outnumbered at contest after contest or we get beaten when we do have the numbers.

The other thing is the general footy and discipline stuff

• other team goals on the line that rolled through, so many this year
  • not paying attention on the mark- opposition plays on.
  • not 15 why can’t we adapt to this rule, maybe it’s sometimes called like shit, but we don’t make adjustments, we call for the ball in that spot
-teams just clog the corridor and we have no ****en idea what to do
- we tackle but they never stick, ranking went through 3 different tackles in one play for instance

The other one is our attitude to the umpiring, complain more than I do on here, Warner was going to ground and literally arguing at the same time in the second, Blakey stops for frees a lot, we argue, Rampe got sucked in by Rachelle, we give away the ticky touch wood frees so often, dumb 50s so many

All of this lack of discipline often by senior guys and negotiated effort points to an angry clueless side that is mentally ****ed, or mentally checked out, and when it’s hard not one player seems to stand up or do anything.

The coaching lacks a plan at times, then off the field we just talk shit, we post all the crap , games don’t define us, play a few tunes, I don’t even know how to describe it, but it’s like we don’t want to put the pressure on the group that losing matters or is an issue, we want to go softly softly.

We put an untried coach in at the last minute

Everyone’s on long deals, there’s so much security, we overpay to keep our own, our drafting apart from academy picks is ordinaryish, we trade/sign for other teams dregs, we barely drop anyone, we don’t manage players when we could

Sorry this got a bit rambling, but this isn’t just tonight and the problem is on the other hand the club wins more than it does and maybe we get a few back and this is a blip

But we need to decide what direction this club is going, what’s going on mentally, have we just got too many scars and it’s going to take a massive chunk of change on and off the field?

Mods feel free to delete, but the lack of discipline and thought shits me on and off the field

Dunno i expected a drop but this this unprecedented level of bad way way worse than anything from 2023.

We look like we are at least 5 years away from heading to a top 8

Forget even the results, the dumb suspensions, we can argue about lawyers, but the players are doing more and more stupid shit.

Why’s Rampe sucked in by Rachelle at all? Why shove him at all, you know it’s going to be 50

Why’s jmac go in and try to pretend to be tough

Why do players hang back at contests or not even get to them

Why can’t we tackle

We just don’t even look like we put the effort in at all

Why do we slip

Last year we kept covering it with bursts, the bursts got shorter and shorter
‘Longmire saw the fitness and the wheels coming off and jumped and we just put another version of his coaches box in

I'm tired of the talking about what we will do and won't stand for but I guess if they stay silent i'll be annoyed too, so not sure what I want. Other than improved performance

The new trend I’m seeing from players is backing back into tackles instead of just running away with the ball when we get it? We got pinged for holding the ball a couple of times doing this. It’s just lazy and inept football.

It’s become my No. 1 annoyance besides punching the ball away in defence when a player is free instead of marking the ****ing ball

Also, why can’t we get it out of defence? Last night, we only had 8 inside 50’s for the first quarter because of our inability to get the ****ing ball out of defence. It takes a goal for the ball to get out of defence. Then we can’t win a centre clearance to save ourselves and the bullshit just repeats

Parts of it is just laziness. I don’t rant often but I’m still ****ing annoyed about last night

I turned over to the A-League Grand Final at half time, I was so pissed off with our players.

And don’t get me started with Nick Blakey. Can the campaigner find the weight room at the club?

Being mentally shot extends to the coach. He has been at the club since 2017 so I am not buying this Longmitred team rubbish, Cox has been her through the rebuild and everything else.

If the coach came to us from outside the club then those comments would be more relevant. We have gone the succession plan route out of arrogance and are paying the price.

Right now which players would want to come here? Only those who need a lifeline I would suggest.

A few more 100 pt losses and maybe the mental will fix itself from being numb to it happening over and over

In all seriousness, we’ve had sports psychologists, probably heaps of other support and activities to try fix their mental

The only way to fix it is to break up the core group and completely change the team dynamic. whether its some ruthless trades or if they dont go, leave them to rot in the VFL until they choose to go

But will the club be this ruthless

Being mentally shot extends to the coach. He has been at the club since 2017 so I am not buying this Longmitred team rubbish, Cox has been her through the rebuild and everything else.

If the coach came to us from outside the club then those comments would be more relevant. We have gone the succession plan route out of arrogance and are paying the price.

Right now which players would want to come here? Only those who need a lifeline I would suggest.

That’s all a good point, you could make the case we assumed we are such a good side we could just roll the assistant in and we basically told Cox if not now, you are the next coach anyway. But if he did have the fresh ideas, would he not have mentioned them in previous years?

Even signing Warner for a short deal, could argue it says we are right in the window, we assume we are good and it will happen with talent

Maybe it’s not thread worthy, but I don’t start threads often.

What the **** is going on mentally here, I accept there are injuries and inconsistencies in the lineup , that’s fine. But since the 22 loss this has been happening , 23 down at Geelong for instance, and games where pressure is applied and we go to water.

2024 we lifted and were awesome but even when winning effort and intensity became a negotiable , and we would win in bursts, it looked good, but the team was basically fit bar the skipper.

then we lost to freo ,and we had the Port debacle, the Dogs debacle that should have been 100, even the Pies win was only the last quarter or so we woke up, then of course the Granny and now this year it’s gone from at best massive lapses or just nothing to now full games , the last 2 weeks are non competitive.

If I look at tonight, most of the team are somewhat proven decent players, someone like Mitchell who knows, but there is at least 15-16 who have played reasonably decent footy. To just get outshone now at home , by this much.
We don’t have a forward line, but we also aren’t getting the ball down there, we don’t run hard, we don’t chase, we get outnumbered at contest after contest or we get beaten when we do have the numbers.

The other thing is the general footy and discipline stuff

• other team goals on the line that rolled through, so many this year
  • not paying attention on the mark- opposition plays on.
  • not 15 why can’t we adapt to this rule, maybe it’s sometimes called like shit, but we don’t make adjustments, we call for the ball in that spot
-teams just clog the corridor and we have no ****en idea what to do
- we tackle but they never stick, ranking went through 3 different tackles in one play for instance

The other one is our attitude to the umpiring, complain more than I do on here, Warner was going to ground and literally arguing at the same time in the second, Blakey stops for frees a lot, we argue, Rampe got sucked in by Rachelle, we give away the ticky touch wood frees so often, dumb 50s so many

All of this lack of discipline often by senior guys and negotiated effort points to an angry clueless side that is mentally ****ed, or mentally checked out, and when it’s hard not one player seems to stand up or do anything.

The coaching lacks a plan at times, then off the field we just talk shit, we post all the crap , games don’t define us, play a few tunes, I don’t even know how to describe it, but it’s like we don’t want to put the pressure on the group that losing matters or is an issue, we want to go softly softly.

We put an untried coach in at the last minute

Everyone’s on long deals, there’s so much security, we overpay to keep our own, our drafting apart from academy picks is ordinaryish, we trade/sign for other teams dregs, we barely drop anyone, we don’t manage players when we could

Sorry this got a bit rambling, but this isn’t just tonight and the problem is on the other hand the club wins more than it does and maybe we get a few back and this is a blip

But we need to decide what direction this club is going, what’s going on mentally, have we just got too many scars and it’s going to take a massive chunk of change on and off the field?

Mods feel free to delete, but the lack of discipline and thought shits me on and off the field
Great post mate. Barely a thing I could disagree with.

The club just hasn't gotten enough things right over the last, say, decade and it's slowly, incrementally, been catching up with us.

• Managing the salary
  • Trading established players
  • Drafting good or the right players
  • Use of our players
  • Game plan & system
  • Leadership group
  • The captaincy
  • Grand final reviews & preparations
  • Players not adding muscle
  • Team culture

Etc.

As I said in another thread, get only one or two or even three of these things wrong and it's probably not enough to derail us and we're probably still OK. Go into Collingwood HQ on Monday morning and there would be at least a couple of things giving their Chairman, coach, players etc. massive causes for concern, and they're absolutely flying at the moment.

But we've just gotten more than a couple of things wrong. We've gotten a couple of things wrong in every one of those areas alone. So it stops becoming a case of "imagine how much better we'd be if we could just (insert one of the few persistent issues that have plagued us, like first round selections or our centre clearance work)", and it starts to become, "Where do we even begin?"

That's basically where I'm at when I look at how we get ourselves out of this hole - where the **** do we even begin?

My only possible, uninformed and probably misguided answer is - start getting things right. Make good decision after good decision to remedy each separate, individual issue. I will refer back to Collingwood as an example. I have it on very good authority that they were in panic stations internally over their future midfield stocks. Some draft busts such as the Brown brothers & Fin Macrae had left them in dire straits outside of Nick Daicos when it came to young mids. They were playing combinations of veterans Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Mitchell & Crisp at centre bounces sometimes. They were chasing two young mids, Bailey Smith and one of ours, very hard, with money & offers their current clubs couldn't, or wouldn't match. They were rejected by both, and weren't even successful at luring the lesser names they were after - Peatling, Stephens, Robertson. This club that had just won a premiership and was the biggest in the country was at crisis point in this one particular area of weakness. They go to the mid-season draft last year and take a random punt on Ned Long. 18 games later he's been close to their best inside mid this year as they sit a game clear on top of the ladder.

One decision the right way... that's all it can take. We just gotta get better one right decision at a time.

Under Roos we developed a blue collar team of hard workers. We had a no dickheads poilicy. We were rarely humiliated. And we didn't pay over the top for superstars, whether recruits or players we developed.

Oh and we won two grandfinals and and almost a third.

All that started to change in 2013, a dozen years later does any of that still apply?

Great post mate. Barely a thing I could disagree with.

The club just hasn't gotten enough things right over the last, say, decade and it's slowly, incrementally, been catching up with us.

• Managing the salary
  • Trading established players
  • Drafting good or the right players
  • Use of our players
  • Game plan & system
  • Leadership group
  • The captaincy
  • Grand final reviews & preparations
  • Players not adding muscle
  • Team culture

Etc.

As I said in another thread, get only one or two or even three of these things wrong and it's probably not enough to derail us and we're probably still OK. Go into Collingwood HQ on Monday morning and there would be at least a couple of things giving their Chairman, coach, players etc. massive causes for concern, and they're absolutely flying at the moment.

But we've just gotten more than a couple of things wrong. We've gotten a couple of things wrong in every one of those areas alone. So it stops becoming a case of "imagine how much better we'd be if we could just (insert one of the few persistent issues that have plagued us, like first round selections or our centre clearance work)", and it starts to become, "Where do we even begin?"

That's basically where I'm at when I look at how we get ourselves out of this hole - where the **** do we even begin?

My only possible, uninformed and probably misguided answer is - start getting things right. Make good decision after good decision to remedy each separate, individual issue. I will refer back to Collingwood as an example. I have it on very good authority that they were in panic stations internally over their future midfield stocks. Some draft busts such as the Brown brothers & Fin Macrae had left them in dire straits outside of Nick Daicos when it came to young mids. They were playing combinations of veterans Pendlebury, Sidebottom, Mitchell & Crisp at centre bounces sometimes. They were chasing two young mids, Bailey Smith and one of ours, very hard, with money & offers their current clubs couldn't, or wouldn't match. They were rejected by both, and weren't even successful at luring the lesser names they were after - Peatling, Stephens, Robertson. This club that had just won a premiership and was the biggest in the country was at crisis point in this one particular area of weakness. They go to the mid-season draft last year and take a random punt on Ned Long. 18 games later he's been close to their best inside mid this year as they sit a game clear on top of the ladder.

One decision the right way... that's all it can take. We just gotta get better one right decision at a time.

Love this post Caesar, it’s absolutely spot on

Some of us have seen this happening over the last few years and were shouted down repeatedly by those who think the club has never put a foot wrong

FWIW I think we can bounce back strongly and quickly in 2026, hell we may even yet mount a late season comeback from here, but the right decisions need to be made in all areas

Under Roos we developed a blue collar team of hard workers. We had a no dickheads poilicy. We were rarely humiliated. And we didn't pay over the top for superstars, whether recruits or players we developed.

Oh and we won two grandfinals and and almost a third.

All that started to change in 2013, a dozen years later does any of that still apply?

maybe we moved away from what worked by getting Tippett and Buddy and now it's catching up, maybe that is also too dramatic

A game I will always remember about the power of mental resilience and playing for the team was back in 2016 Round 16 against Geelong. For some context:
  • That was the week after Jack had the public fallout with his family (He was also the one who kick the first goal; three in fact for the game)
  • It was the game the Swans got a fast start but prime time Dangerfield got Geelong back into the game and by early Q2 scores were leveled, our defence was under assault, our forward line completely broken apart...And yet, the team completely changed the momentum of the game in that SAME QUARTER. And the Swans ended up winning that game comfortably afterwards in Geelong.
  • There was a lot of desperate acts, going for the ball, going for the mark, going for the tackle. That 2016 played for each other.
  • Heck even a first year Callum Mills tackled and took down Tom Hawkins that day. Tackling well and with effort is definitely a mindset.

Clearly the current team had a lot of mental scars and whatever the team leaders have tried it just hasn't worked. Speaking on the mental side of the game I would hope going back to the basics and practising them is a starting point. Work on tackling (our players either allow their opponents to break tackles too easily or they give them enough room to dispose of the ball and exposes us on the run) and please, mark the ball.

Analysis Mental Side/Discipline