The BRICKSTER

New York Knicks, Man Utd
I like him only because he is quick, i really don't know enough about him, but we took him pick 12 in the 2004 draft. I just want to know when he is going to start showing his full potential. Was he the right person to pick up at pick 12 i dont know

what are your thoughts on him

thanks

Has very, very good skills. Probably better skilled then Deledio but not the ball winning abilities. A great left foot but suffers because of his frame. He needs to put on some weight and muscle this summer. A few pre-seasons in the gym should get him there. I can see him as winger or small forward at the moment, somewhere where skills and class are needed and not so much posession getting.

this boy is a freak. that goal he kicked against geelong was a ripper. will be an awesome player mark my words. not sure if he will tear it up this year or not but he will the one after.

This may be a big statement but with some time and effort he can be our verison of Alan Didak (without the off field dramas). His skills are sublime..

Darth_Tiger said:
this boy is a freak. that goal he kicked against geelong was a ripper. will be an awesome player mark my words. not sure if he will tear it up this year or not but he will the one after.

Did you see the one against North. On the boundary line snap? Freakish. Has an incredible knack for freaky goals.

Good kid, moves really well. He needs to bulk up. Most kids take three pre-seasons (this will be his third) to get to where they need to be with weight but he was very skinny when drafted so he may take one more.

Dunno if anyone agrees with me but I've thought for a bit that we should really throw Meyer down onto a hbf and try and model him on Gilbee at the dogs. It might also teach the kid how to find the pill a bit by himself and brush up on defensive presure. Ideally I'd like him to rotate through the middle but I'm not really sure whether he has the motor for it or not. He really needs to be locked in the gym with an italian grandmother spoonfeeding him whilst he does weights if he's going to have a future as far as I'm concerned

insert rob murphy instead of gilbee and you are spot on :thumbsu:

Simche said:

His best game was against the Cats and he spent some of the game across half back, his pace and skills were awesome. He will have a future, it will just take time, in 3 years he will be a star.

Meyer will become very close to our best player in a couple of years. He has all the tools he just needs a couple of years for his body to develop.

Simche said:

The Richmond staff would know exactly what regime/diet would be best for Danny. He won't become a lot bigger in 1 pre-season. Someone at the gym everyday doesn't immediately get huge it takes time. Remember Meyer is running a fair bit and with such a skinny frame it's a lot harder to put weight on. Give the kid time with a plan and he'll reap the benefits.

Also looking at the bulldog players. None are incredibly muscley, they're all just fit and well toned. We mightn't want Danny to put on incredible amounts of weight on if we want him to be the silky winger.

yeh and did you watch the eagles game, they got ****ing smashed

dont look at the dogs look at the premiers, eagles are bricks and run as hard as anyone

Wally07 said:
Meyer will become very close to our best player in a couple of years. He has all the tools he just needs a couple of years for his body to develop.

I TOTALLY agree with this statement.

this kid is the one im looking forward to the most.

Nathan Brown esq. (Our Nathan Brown!!)

PLSC said:
yeh and did you watch the eagles game, they got ****ing smashed

dont look at the dogs look at the premiers, eagles are bricks and run as hard as anyone

I agree here. You do need the muscley, stronger type player who can run. But I was only referring to Meyer not our entire list. Take a look at how well Gilbee has developed, he ain't a tank.

2005 - Tuck
2006 - Raines
2007 - Meyer

:cool:

I like the Gilbee comparison. Let him loose on a HBF next season and he will give the Rising Star a nudge.

Bentleigh said:
2005 - Tuck
2006 - Raines
2007 - Meyer

:cool:

I like the Gilbee comparison. Let him loose on a HBF next season and he will give the Rising Star a nudge.

I think that's where we should be moulding JON. Meyers talents would be of more benefit going forward I reckon. He has a beautiful left foot kick and sublime skills, I don't think we can get the best out of him on the HBF.

Tigerbob said:
I TOTALLY agree with this statement.

this kid is the one im looking forward to the most.

Nathan Brown esq. (Our Nathan Brown!!)

I am in love with this bloke... and rarely do l agree with the other Wally, but Meyer will be a star!!!

No one has talked about how courageous this kid is too... doesnt mind backing into packs. In two or three years, he will surpass Polo and Deledio and l cant wait!

My only concern is that he is South Australian and l dont think he is as comfortbale in Melbourne as the other interstate draftees.

Meyer and Tambling are the bellweathers of how the club progresses.

If they live up to their potential, we may just be able to erase the painful past 20 years. If they dont, the losing streak keeps getting longer.

Maybe next year is too early, but if they're not in our best 10 players in 2008, we're stuffed.

1980 said:
Meyer and Tambling are the bellweathers of how the club progresses.

If they live up to their potential, we may just be able to erase the painful past 20 years. If they dont, the losing streak keeps getting longer.

Maybe next year is too early, but if they're not in our best 10 players in 2008, we're stuffed.

Spot on mate

Punt_Road_Roar said:
When does this kids contract Expire and what are the chances he goes back to Adelaide and then lives up to his potential. :mad:

That just happened, and I think we signed him up :thumbsu:

I don't want to be a party pooper but, I'm clearly not Meyer's number one fan. He looks very thin and more a pocket type to me, does he have an engine big enough to handle the midfield? I'm not sold as of yet on his potential to become a gun, but you guys probably know more of Meyer than me so I'll go with you on that one. He played 8 games this year, fingers crossed he can pull 15+ out of next year.

Completely unrelated to his talent, but has anyone heard him talk? I find it somewhat funny...