Michael Johnson

Re: cuddles cancer

i have to say i was reallly annoyed and dissapointed with the selection this week, only thing that may have saved johnson was the tall adelaide forward line, but he cant play on a man anyway so that pretty much doesnt work :/

was annoyed at van berlo being dropped too, did he take a dump in harves car or something? completely shut varcoe out after half while crowley does nothing for no one ><. happy for pitt but

bit extreme calling him a cancer - he was immense in the latter half of last season. form has dropped off and i'd have liked him playing in the wafl this week, but obviously they're persisting with him as he's showing something enough to warrant it. whatever the **** that may be as it's not apparent outside of the club.

he was one of the top 5 in our finals games last year for mine - give him a break, harvey is obviously having to compromise structures until barlow is back and firing.

everyone knows my thoughts on MJ, wouldnt get a game at south mandurah falcons...... maybe... MAYBE.... in ressies

Worked okay with McPhee.

Cannot compare with McPhee's form early last year. McPhee was a new player to the club, finding his feet and fitting into new tactics etc

Johnson has been at Freo for years. He is not young anymore - he knows the trade and should be able to get his attitude right without a kick in the arse. An average of 1 good game in 3 just doesn't cut it in a "professional elite level" sporting team.

Too many Freo supporters are too accepting of mediocrity. Perhaps it is because mediocrity compared to our truly woeful past has been a major step-up. But to become a champion team mediocrity in application and mind has absolutely no place.

If you accept mediocrity you shall surely get it. If you accept nothing but champion attitudes, you are a long way to being a champion team.

So, Connolly selected the side this week? Connolly kept players on the list for the past 3-4 years? I have a feeling Harvey would be more than happy to take responsibility for his own actions.

Poor thread with a very poor title.

Yep. Extremely poor thread title, which I assume is a misguided attempt at humour from a clearly unfunny person.

I'd have picked Johnson this week, and I made the reasoning quite clear in other threads. With our injuries, there was more sense in keeping Johnson than dropping him.

he was one of the top 5 in our finals games last year for mine - give him a break, harvey is obviously having to compromise structures until barlow is back and firing.

Everyone has a preferred playing position and team structure. But dedicated players put their team first and put-in for every match no matter what position they are playing.

"One trick" ponies with no heart when not playing where they want to play are just "toddler attitude" selfish little %$$^ with no place in a professional team.

Are you saying its ok to not put-in and just wait until x or y players return - way to build a champion team.

I'd rather lose every match but have 4 qtr efforts from all than watch passengers.

I take my kids to the footy and we talk about footy and life. Its not just the fun of watching footy at an "elite" level. There's supposed to be life lessons that you get out of life what you put in. Unfortunately Freo seem to be showing that is not the case (some things haven't fully changed). At Freo it almost seems you can pretend to be a professional footy player, and put-in sometimes and be guaranteed a playing position. I truly hope that is not the case - if it is there is NO real premiership possible on the horizon. I truly hope they know far more than what the supporters are seeing.

I see johnno and kepler fighting for same spot. playing forward and pitch hitting in the ruck.

at the moment kepler is winning hands down so johnno needs to be in the wafl getting form and putting presuure on kepler.

johnno's spot should be taken by a running player ie ibbbotson(if fit) or silva(if

Jonno is killing it. Hard at it and sublime.

Is having a good game, but not exactly hard at it. That was particularly soft in the defensive 50 that cost us a goal.
Has taken couple of good grabs though. That one hander was a ripper.

Johnson was good today. Competed in the ruck with Sandi off, took some saving marks down back and sent the ball inside 50 a few times. He's never going to play like DeBoer but he has a role in the team. Haters find someone new to pick on.

He did ok today, now just continue on with the improvement.

Yes I had a go at him over the last week or so, hey he deserved a kick in the rear. If the player doesn't give 100%, why not tell it as it is ?.

He did ok today, now just continue on with the improvement.

Yes I had a go at him over the last week or so, hey he deserved a kick in the rear. If the player doesn't give 100%, why not tell it as it is ?.

I don't have any problem with telling it like it is. Last week I said I wasn't going to defend him on that effort. What gets my back up is once someone gets cast in the role of scapegoat they become an easy target and there is sort of bully mentality that creeps in sometimes on BF where people sit back and wait for 1 bad play and jump straight in to gleefully put the boots in. We won well today with MJ playing a decent game yet people are still hating on him.

Im one of MJ's biggest critics, and i thought he was heaps better today, didnt make as many mistakes, seemed to have more urgency, took a few good grabs. earnt his spot for next week...... to be honest if i were to knock anyone today, it would be one of my favourite players...... hayden ballantyne.... Hayden, your a great player, i have no doubt you have been told to take the game on, but your play today a lot of the time stupid at best and at worst just plain lairising.... do the simple things first and you will be the best forward pocket in the league!.

anyway hard to be upset with anyone today. great win :thumbsu:

Im one of MJ's biggest critics, and i thought he was heaps better today, didnt make as many mistakes, seemed to have more urgency, took a few good grabs. earnt his spot for next week...... to be honest if i were to knock anyone today, it would be one of my favourite players...... hayden ballantyne.... Hayden, your a great player, i have no doubt you have been told to take the game on, but your play today a lot of the time stupid at best and at worst just plain lairising.... do the simple things first and you will be the best forward pocket in the league!.

anyway hard to be upset with anyone today. great win :thumbsu:

Totally agree - much better performance from MJ, though still a couple of obvious brainfreezes/lack of endeavour today. But without the personal attacks, and those he no doubt got from the club, would he have stepped up today? Will be very interesting to see how he goes on a continual basis this year. Some characters need their noses continually rubbed in it to perform - true champions never and professional sportplayers only very rarely.

Good to see the usual dipsticks out in force today - some even before the ball was bounced. Still, it does wonders for my own ego, knowing how many people there are on this site that know less about football than myself.