Coach Michael Voss - Stats, history, articles, videos

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

Look, ban the guy for the rest of the season, including finals, for frivolous use of the hotline.
But 5yrs, fmd, get a grip people.
Next time I go to the G I might txt the hotline and say the guy sitting next to me has farted and the stench is that bad, people are going to die.

Would lol if the author was EM, feels like his style, one of the few educated Pies supporters who can write legibly. and high profile….
Thought the same….exactly sort of thing he would say

Look, ban the guy for the rest of the season, including finals, for frivolous use of the hotline.
But 5yrs, fmd, get a grip people.
Next time I go to the G I might txt the hotline and say the guy sitting next to me has farted and the stench is that bad, people are going to die.

He acted like an idiot so he got treated like an idiot. I mean how stupid do you have to be to send something like that and make it traceable. Guy got what he deserved just for being dumb if nothing else.

Just saw on news.com.au, they released the actual text of the message:

“I’d like to report 23 missing persons and pre-emptively report the murder of Michael Voss.”

Smart arse and sarcastic, but not a legit threat. We’d probably see 4 or 5 like that each week here on BF at the moment.
Media whipped that up into a firestorm.

Tell you what, I reckon even if Wright was of a mind to keep Voss for one more year, I reckon Voss is short odds to pull up stumps of his own volition. They talk about the coach losing the players, but if I was in his shoes I reckon I'd be done putting up with this group by now.
Agree. He looks defeated this week. I can’t imagine the toll this bunch is taking on him.

“I’d like to report 23 missing persons and pre-emptively report the murder of Michael Voss.”

Smart arse and sarcastic, but not a legit threat. We’d probably see 4 or 5 like that each week here on BF at the moment.
And by all reports sent by a Pies member

Sounds like a creative way of saying the players are coach killers. Lacking tact, but not sure how it would be read another way.

But it was twisted into this forum being toxic and being partly responsible.

But suddenly, our performance is no longer an issue, so the club won't be too unhappy.
Such a silly thing to say. No one was ever saying what's said here had a direct link. Some were saying it's important to think about what we say and not be toxic. If you think that's an attack on you, well then perhaps time to reflect.

The link was absolutely made as being part of the problem. If it wasn't meant, it needed to be made clearer. I didn't take it as an attack on me personally. You've made some leaps, in order to reach me being silly.

Perhaps you could do with a bit of balance in the way you think.

It was an attempt at humour. He was suggesting that Carlton fans would do away with Voss, and wasn't threatening Voss as such.

The fact that it was a text to the ground hotline, only confirms this for me. It's like those government hotlines encouraging people to dob in others for silly things, and they get flooded with nonsense messages.

The media has certainly built this up. Vossy's life was not threatened.
And I'll admit to reacting to that first media report which made it sound abhorrent. It turns out it was an attempted joke (albeit poor taste) from a Coll supporter and I think the ban is heavy handed TBH. At worst make the bloke front up and apologise (not exactly sure what for) and move on. The media have certainly made a meal of it.
What I wrote about thinking before your write/text etc still holds I think.

And I'll admit to reacting to that first media report which made it sound abhorrent. It turns out it was an attempted joke (albeit poor taste) from a Coll supporter and I think the ban is heavy handed TBH. At worst make the bloke front up and apologise (not exactly sure what for) and move on. The media have certainly made a meal of it.
What I wrote about thinking before your write/text etc still holds I think.
Similar in some ways to making a joke about having a bomb in your luggage at airport check-in. They unsurprisingly don't see the funny side and you'd be a complete idiot for doing it

That's it? Really

Wow, poor taste and pathetic but nothing like it was made out to be

Tolerating and making excuses for poor performances like this Guy is what needs to be reeled in at Carlton.
Going soft and wet lettuce slaps on the wrist just doesn't cut it in my book.

The clear message at Carlton is that there will be consequences for poor performances like what this Idiot did ... not excuses and let's do better next time.

Going soft is what needs to be eradicated at Carlton.

Too harsh? Let's take a softer approach ... forgiveness ... no worries, mate?

Tolerating and making excuses for poor performances like this Guy is what needs to be reeled in at Carlton.
Going soft and wet lettuce slaps on the wrist just doesn't cut it in my book.

The clear message at Carlton is that there will be consequences for poor performances like what this Idiot did ... not excuses and let's do better next time

Show me ONE person who has said what he did was okay or should be tolerated?

Pretty adamant change is coming across the coaching ranks, but with 6 weeks left seems like we’ll wait until the end of the year to make those changes (unless we have one of those games).

Could potentially see Hansen been given the reins in round 23 as a farewell for him too.

The playing group are absolutely devoid of confidence. Both our defensive and offensive structures have melted away this year. It’s pretty grim as a supporter, must be miserable out on the ground.

It’s the board!!!

It’s the 60 year old men who volunteer for their position who are really to blame for this

It’s the 82 year old members fault from a month ago. It’s the graffiti’s fault. It’s the Collingwood members phone call which (looking at it now) was a joke.

This club is focussing on everything else except football, so no one calls them out for being pathetic.

It's a shocker

My opinion

I agree. I've worked on so many cases that have started off as "oh, it was only a joke" to things escalating way out of control...by design or accident, in DV cases especially.

Perhaps I'm hyper sensitive to this stuff...but violence is out of control in this country at many levels and words matter. In context or not...they matter.

Just call it shit behaviour and let the bloke suffer the consequences. No sympathy from me.

I agree. I've worked on so many cases that have started off as "oh, it was only a joke" to things escalating way out of control...by design or accident, in DV cases especially.

Perhaps I'm hyper sensitive to this stuff...but violence is out of control in this country at many levels and words matter. In context or not...they matter.

Just call it shit behaviour and let the bloke suffer the consequences. No sympathy from me.
The last line makes the most sense to me. I think anything beyond that is hyperbolic and disingenuous. We could have a broader conversation about the violent language of our culture, and precaution is the right of every individual, but if this language doesn't strike you as normative then you may not be well placed to make an accurate assessment. And I don't mean you pixel, forgive the use of your post to add my thoughts.

This is an absolute joke, I hate Collingwood as much as anyone but this text is pretty much one of a thousand memes going around.

What ol mate RIOLI said and pretty much got away with was 10 times as worse

This is the F world we live in today!!!

Similar in some ways to making a joke about having a bomb in your luggage at airport check-in. They unsurprisingly don't see the funny side and you'd be a complete idiot for doing it
Absolutely nothing like making a joke about a bomb in your luggage..FFS