The Cotch

It makes sense ! I'm warming to this idea everyday. Coach with runs on the board, gets the ABSOLUTE most out of his players, especially the young ones and gifts no one games unless they earn their spot. I know I might sound like a broken record with varying views everyday but it's just another one to throw up there.

Thoughts??

Collingwood will need to be upfront with him soon if they dont want to go with him.

Was he still coaching West Coast during the season when he was appointed to Collingwood?

Still dont think he would want Sheeds around.

Sheeds comment about Premiership chances he would see as undermining him as he likes full control.

The only bloke I can really think could do it but I wish he was ten years younger. He is not sentimental towards Richmond by the way.

For 10 years i have thought that Collingwood were ordinary, yet they have consistently been in the mix (prelims/grannies). Sign of a good coach for mine - gets the best out of individuals. Throwing it out there - would Richard Tambling be playing VFL if he was at Collingwood?????

Get him!!!!!!!!!!!!

Highly doubt MM will be at Collingwood next year, they have seen what Voss has done already and fat boy Mcguire will be desperate to wrap up Buckley before anyone else gets him.

My preference for coaches:

1. Hardwick
2. Malthouse
3. Matthews
4. Williams (He is a tool but won't take any shit)

Highly doubt MM will be at Collingwood next year, they have seen what Voss has done already and fat boy Mcguire will be desperate to wrap up Buckley before anyone else gets him.

My preferencefor coaches:

1. Hardwick
2. Malthouse
3. Matthews
4. Williams (He is a tool but won't take any shit)

spot on barnzy, pies wont let buckley slip. i would be wrapped with mick. one of the few that could stare the players down with the words " when i wore that jumper ... " i love seeing a malthouse spray too. lethal would be awesome also, but cant see him leaving the media now. lot less stress for decent cash, he is on a winner. and finally choco. he would be value too. hard, premiership player & coach. def would be a good fit but apparantly loves being in s.a with family. also if port do alright this year they will renew him. imo we need a proven hard ass.

Said earlier tonight that I would like to see the club give Wallace another contract and have them put the heat back on the players, but if they do sack Wallace (which in reality is most likely to happen) then I wouldn't mind having Mick come in for 2-3 years if we weren't able to secure a younger bloke like Hardwick.

The reason is Mick wont be afraid to make the hard calls on players whether it be Richo or some rookie who has just arrived at the club. He wouldn't be afraid to give the players a spray when it was deserved and would also back his players to the hilt as long as they gave everything they had for him on gameday.

spot on barnzy, pies wont let buckley slip. i would be wrapped with mick. one of the few that could stare the players down with the words " when i wore that jumper ... " i love seeing a malthouse spray too. lethal would be awesome also, but cant see him leaving the media now. lot less stress for decent cash, he is on a winner. and finally choco. he would be value too. hard, premiership player & coach. def would be a good fit but apparantly loves being in s.a with family. also if port do alright this year they will renew him. imo we need a proven hard ass.
Heard that Williams is under pressure from his wife to move back to Melbourne when his time at Port expires, although she does support him in his quest to get a new contract.

I think "Dimma"Hardwick will be the best we could get of the new breed as Longmire is firmly entrenched in the Swans or Roos mindset..my biggest issue is the coaches that are under Plough, keep Soupa and Kingy but the rest have to go ..sorry Chocco but it is time to get off the island and Rawlings can go as well. Fresh blood with the fresh eyes..my smokey would be K.Hinkley.

Being Richmond coach is more than just coaching a footy team. You need to deal with all the club politics, coiterie crap and blokes like sheedy shhoting their mouth off and raising expectations about premierships.

A young coach like Hardwick may the right guy to coach the footy team, but there are very few coaches around with the mentality and experience to deal with the off field crap that always brings this club down.

Malthouse would be the only guy around that could deal with it. Sheedy could easily deal with politics, but he cant coach. Choco has proven at Port he is can take on sponsors and backroom blokes, but Port is junior rookie league when it comes to this kind of inbreeding

Heard that Williams is under pressure from his wife to move back to Melbourne when his time at Port expires, although she does support him in his quest to get a new contract.

thats interesting rt. if that is the case, our chances of getting choco are heaps better than i thought. mate what wifey wants, wifey gets. ;)

Being Richmond coach is more than just coaching a footy team. You need to deal with all the club politics, coiterie crap and blokes like sheedy shhoting their mouth off and raising expectations about premierships.

i agree 1980, but what does that say ? to me a lot more than just the coach has to change at the tiges.

I think Double-M would be a good choice, even though he's 55, he may not be young but I think if Malthouse came over, he wouldnt take any **** from the players, he'd actually make them work there a**es off.

Also looking at the facts, he took West Coast to the 1991 Grand Final in his second year at the club, winning the premiership in 1992 and 1994, took the Eagles to the finals from 1990 to 1999, then you look at his record at Collingwood taking them to grand finals in 2002 and 2003 (his 3rd and 4th seasons at the club)... So I think if we grabbed Mick it would be a good move for us and he knows how to handle the pressure aswell.

Dare I say "pick Mick"?

Given the removal of Wallace and the parting of Collingwood and Malthouse, I reckon MM would be the best of (possibly) available choices. Especially given the recent propensity for ex-Tigers in club placements.

There is something to be said for a young coach who grows with the club, but I don't really know enough about Hardwick to know where he fits.

Our club is too broken to go for a first time coach (Hardwick should be recruited as an assistant).

Malthouse is too old and mellow.

Mark Williams is an interesting one - an absolute footy nut and a teacher by profession so that is a good mix.

My preferred coach is a bit left field but would be perfect:-

- One of the hardest players of his era
- A dual premiership player
- Premiership Captain
- Premiership coach
- 9 years in the system as coach
- Spent time in a club that only knows success

He would be a huge get but the club should move heaven and earth to secure him.

He will take no shit and make it happen.

Woosha.