collingwood
Judging by what mick said in the post match press conference, we can expect a few kids to get a game. Other then cox i cant see any obvious selections. possibly isles, or maybe clarke?!
he just said he was very impressed by the young kids performances, now i didnt go to the game but from ppl's reports i cant see any obvious inclusions (bar cox). Brown, reid could be roughies?!
any thoughts?

I went to the Willi game and Cox didn't have a whole lot to do but made some good runs. Didn't look unfit and should come back for some height and some class in defence.

Clarke has been promoted and is in good form. Theoretically it'd be better not to play him, but on the other hand, who gives a ####! He seems to have a solid head and won't be too phased by the odd stuff up.

I would happily play Wellingham this week if we could promote him. He's an out and out gun. Still makes mistakes as a young fella new to footy does, but does so much right.

Brown would be a silly choice to play against Hall. Wakes is on his last legs, but better to damage his confidence than Nathan's.

Reid is still someway off. If he gets a run this year, then give him a burl in a lesser game. Sydney game has national focus.

There's a few like Iles & Davies who played well, but right now I reckon we're class deficient and carying the likes of Toovey, Stanley, Bryan etc. etc. requires some balancing. These types don't cut it. I reckon Iles will get a gernse though. We really have to chop Toovey though, so Iles in might work ok.

I went to the Willi game and Cox didn't have a whole lot to do but made some good runs. Didn't look unfit and should come back for some height and some class in defence.

Clarke has been promoted and is in good form. Theoretically it'd be better not to play him, but on the other hand, who gives a ####! He seems to have a solid head and won't be too phased by the odd stuff up.

I would happily play Wellingham this week if we could promote him. He's an out and out gun. Still makes mistakes as a young fella new to footy does, but does so much right.

Brown would be a silly choice to play against Hall. Wakes is on his last legs, but better to damage his confidence than Nathan's.

Reid is still someway off. If he gets a run this year, then give him a burl in a lesser game. Sydney game has national focus.

There's a few like Iles & Davies who played well, but right now I reckon we're class deficient and carying the likes of Toovey, Stanley, Bryan etc. etc. requires some balancing. These types don't cut it. I reckon Iles will get a gernse though. We really have to chop Toovey though, so Iles in might work ok.
Interesting its as though you and mick went to different games. I think iles will probably get a game, seems to be a mm favourite.
Dont know what ppl have against toovey sure he fumbles abit and maybe makes wrong decisions but thats to be expected. I think his defensive side is outstanding given his game count, really stood up when stanley couldnt.

So why can't we promote him? What's the minimum period a player can be on the long-term injury list? If it's only six weeks or so, bite the bullet with either of Bucks or Jimmy. From reports, it could be six weeks for both of them anyway - and, as much as we need them, they sure as Hell aren't doing us a lot of good sitting in the stand!

Clarke and welling
my dillema is that neither of them are tall defenders, and they arent goign to free up any talls either. unless we put cloke back, but then we are screwed up forward.
He also gave maxwell a fair spray maybe it will jolt him from his slumber

Interesting its as though you and mick went to different games.
Why? I was generally quite positive on all players on Sunday (except for Cook).

I wouldn't sacrafice Brown or Reid to our second highest TV audience of the year (barring finals). Too raw.

Iles was good in an Iles sort of way. As was Davies.

Cox was quiet but good. Brown was OK, but too raw for the big time. What other talls do we have who can play defence (JA/Clem/Presti/Harry out)? What others do we need against Sydney (with Hall?).

Clarke in the ruck? apparently he can do everything

edit. have to bring back cox imo, i reckon he will do better against the sydney forwards then say toovey, toovey had one good game, his first

I wouldn't sacrafice Brown or Reid to our second highest TV audience of the year (barring finals). Too raw.

Cox was quiet but good. Brown was OK, but too raw for the big time. What other talls do we have who can play defence (JA/Clem/Presti/Harry out)? What others do we need against Sydney (with Hall?).
yeah fair call, i just went back to the footage, and he was refering to non-talls and non-defenders so im guessing that could mean clarke.
He also said that the side will change because of injury and because some of the boys down at willy are ready to be played for the first time, but he did concede that they will decide next week after their hitout for williamstown.

I can't see the difference between sacraficing all the others we have done it to. I feel it would be easier for the bigger bloke, because some of these skinny blokes like Dick, and Thomas, look like they would break on debut. Brown is described as raw, yet it confuses me, because a top side in West Coast can get his twin brother out there, and for him to not look raw, then why can't we:confused: If you can't imagine what he would be like, you probably don't have to look much further than Mitchell's games to find that answer.

Read on a board about Reid (No pun intended) by one particular regular Williamstown scriber, and it said that Reid was getting burnt by poor delivery at the Seaguls. Perhaps Reid would play better in the AFL than he is showing in the VFL. But a key forward is Reid, and a Key Defender we need. Unless we put Travis Cloke at CHB, and rotate Maxwell, Goldsack, Toovey, Wakelin, and Stanley through full back.

Travis Cloke would be good as a Centre Half Back I have always thought. could be wrong, but MM hasn't given it a "decent" go to get a true gage on Travis at CHB. His raking left footy kicks, pumping long into our forward line, with Fraser, Reid and Rocca if he isn't having a snooze benefiting from it.

I reckon we could be in trouble, and fall down the ladder in the next five weeks, because our defence is looking dodgy, MM must act on it, and try new things. Rotating defenders who don't yet possess the strength to match it with Hall, or Boyle, or Gehrig, or Mooney, or Lloyd in the next five weeks. Let each kid get tired, and then move on to another role, while the next fresh kid tires these five key forwards. Concerntrate on leaning on the forward, as much as possible, play body on body alot, as you know as a key defender, you give it your all for your 5th of the game time in that role. Now last week, how irritating it was to me, to see Robbo towel up Stanley for as long as he did, and MM did nothing. Idiot. Stanley just got tireder and tireder, until Robbo was making him look slow, and Stanley aint slow.

But I digress:D

With respect to the Brown brothers, we are essentially asking Brown to come in and play a KP defensive position with our injuries. That's poor management.

Mitch has been a pinch hitter up forward for WCE off the pine. They have the gorilla up forward and despite Hansen being out, they still have some interesting players to rotate as talls through the half forward position including Staker & can rest Cox/Seaby if they want. Le Cras seems to play a bit taller than his height. Mitch does not have the pressure on him anywhere near what full back would have. Relatively speaking, there is limited pressure.

Nathan also busted a shoulder late last year and missed games, whereas his brother did not. Eitherway, they are both young bucks with heaps of raw potential. They both have away to go before tapping it fully.

Rusling Egan and Anthony are all out long term. Couldnt we promote him for Egan? And why didnt we do it three weeks ago when Egan first got hurt?

If not we'll regret the premature promotion of Nicholls.

With respect to the Brown brothers, we are essentially asking Brown to come in and play a KP defensive position with our injuries. That's poor management.

Mitch has been a pinch hitter up forward for WCE off the pine. They have the gorilla up forward and despite Hansen being out, they still have some interesting players to rotate as talls through the half forward position including Staker & can rest Cox/Seaby if they want. Le Cras seems to play a bit taller than his height. Mitch does not have the pressure on him anywhere near what full back would have. Relatively speaking, there is limited pressure.

Nathan also busted a shoulder late last year and missed games, whereas his brother did not. Eitherway, they are both young bucks with heaps of raw potential. They both have away to go before tapping it fully.
I agree... although I'll be there the day he does debut and play senior footy.