Mike Munro

as I've mentioned before, ACA is pure prostitute journalism. in principle, I refuse to watch it.

Media Watch is a terrific program. I wish we had had it in the States, although I reckon you would need a 24-hour channel to account for the amount of irresponsible journalism that takes place there.

Originally posted by sussudio
as I've mentioned before, ACA is pure prostitute journalism. in principle, I refuse to watch it.

Absolutely true under any serious broadcasting rules it should be taken off air but the show goes on:mad:

Originally posted by Stealth bomber
Media Watch is a terrific program.
This week's edition was a ripper - good to see them actually giving credit for the good journalism to be found amongst the garbage...and even better to see them roast Munro's sorry arse!

I must admit to being stunned when I heard 'Sunday Times' and 'good journalism' in the one sentence. Such an unnatural blend of words.

BTW, anyone catch Ray Martin doing his ACA piece on the Farmhand appeal? It was like Russell Coight meets Frontline...

I reckon his best work was the cover of Steppenwolf's "Magic Carpet Ride" that he did with Slash for the Coneheads soundtrack, a couple of years after Hanoi Rocks disbanded.

Originally posted by sussudio

True. ACA is a load of rubbish, masquerading under the guise of Current Affairs and news. It's basically gutter journalism. As I've mentioned before it's stories usually centre around neighbourhood disputes. If you want real current affairs watch the 7.30 report, Four Corners or Foreign Correspondent. I steer well clear of ACA.

I hate that show, and HIM, with an unrivalled passion.

I can't believe so many spoon-fed, brain dead people watch that crap. It is the SAME crap every night, every week, every f*cking YEAR.

- dodgy tenants
- miracle weight loss cures, cellulite creams, varicose vein treatments
- bureaucratic bungles
- rising bank fees
- tragic tales of droughtstricken farmers
- neighbours from HELL

For GODS SAKE.

Plus, every story is COMPLETELY and utterly manipulated to 'outrage' the f/wit audience. I've even seen them edit entire interviews down to two or three words to completely twist their words around to suit whatever cause they're trying to preach.

The day it's axed, I throw a tickertape parade down Rundle Mall.

ACA and Today Tonight are trash masquerading as journalism. Watch ten minutes of CNN, BBCWorld or Four Corners and then you will see what proper journalism really is. I wonder whats on ACA tonight, probably a story about some 'Aussie Battler' who bought a house for $2,000 and discovered cracks in the walls, and now they are going after shonky builder. What total and utter (rapp!

He made Quentin a 'star':D

But you have to remember that this were the people who gave that Yank in the desert a banana after they filmed him stumbling around a while.

Makes Neighbours an enjoyable show :D

After watching watching that video, I have decided that Mike Munro is pure evil. Previously, I had only rated him as an expletive that started with 'c'.

that bimbo on Ch7 all she ever says after each story is "hmmmm"..well the times i have watched it.

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank
that bimbo on Ch7 all she ever says after each story is "hmmmm"..well the times i have watched it.
Mike Moore should sue for copyright infringment!

Originally posted by Frosties_Flank

Is that Naomi Robson your talking about ?
She's host of the poor mans A Current Affair ,Today Tonight. [in Vic]

Originally posted by JUBJUB

Is that Naomi Robson your talking about ?
She's host of the poor mans A Current Affair ,Today Tonight. [in Vic]

The thing that sums up Naomi Robson is a story they ran on TT a while back on the 'Naked News' pheonomenon sweeping countries like Russia and of course, the Internet.

Robson then had the gall to make some pious remarks implying how demeaning those sort of shows were for the sphere of journalism.

Of course this didn't prevent TT from actually showing the report, or from the utter crap that it spouts 5 nights a week.

Robson, what a hypocrite! I think I'm adding her to the 'celebrities you hate' thread.

Originally posted by wagstaff

The thing that sums up Naomi Robson is a story they ran on TT a while back on the 'Naked News' pheonomenon sweeping countries like Russia and of course, the Internet.

Robson then had the gall to make some pious remarks implying how demeaning those sort of shows were for the sphere of journalism.

Of course this didn't prevent TT from actually showing the report, or from the utter crap that it spouts 5 nights a week.

Robson, what a hypocrite! I think I'm adding her to the 'celebrities you hate' thread.

It's not her fault, she's just reading from the autocue!!!

No wonder shows like ACA and the Channel 7 show with Stan Grant hated Frontline so much. It was a perfect portrayal of the Current Affairs "business" on commercial television.

Note I am using the term "business" very loosely.