SonOfScray

Apr 7, 2002
Bay 18 L3
Bruins, Ice, Aces
There's been a few conflicting reports on Minson's game on the weekend with some saying he wasn't able to make an impact in the ruck and was generally poor whilst others saw his ruck work to be solid enough to allow Darcy forward and be a dangerous option.

I felt he had a few very harsh decisions paid against him, a lot of line ball calls went to his opponent and a few decisions had me absolutley perplexed.

Ruck work IMO was OK without dominating, I felt we at least looked more dangerous going forward from the clearances (which we are poor at) when Minson took the ruck and Darcy was forward.

Minson again provided some biff, which for a team such as ours is a much valued commodity. He also got back and make some spoils, laid a ripper of a tackle which shook the earth. All that being said he'll need to start positioning himself to take a few marks and get a bit more of the footy if he is to continue his development as a good player for us.

Quite a good game. Let's remember he has played only a hand full of games and had a good opponent in Cox. Also releasing Darcy is a bonus. when he gets experience and is able to work better with the mid field players better.

I think we definitely look a better side with Minson in instead of Bandy. And I hope we keep it this way because it gives us a target up forward in Darcy. But despite big Will looking so big he seemed to be out-positioned on almost every throw-in. This will come with experience and I like the way he's not afraid to throw his weight around. He's a very good prospect and we should stick with him.

For a player, especially a big fella who has played a total of 6 senior games, i thought he did ok, especially the fact that he played on one of the best in the competition in Dean Cox.

Big Will has to play the rest of the season in the side, not only for his development but also to help out Darce.

I was pleasantly surprised when i saw Will taking the first bounce against the Eagles.

I agree with the sentiments here, that Will needs to be persevered with in the seniors for an extended period. He certainly seemed to make more of an impact than Daniel Bandy has shown in the first 3 weeks.
On that basis alone, as well as lack of other viable alternatives at this stage I believe he should get further opportunities.
Yesterday was the first time this year that we have been able to utilise to some measure of success Darcy's versatility up forward, and I put that down to Minson being able to exert some contest in the ruck.

Whilst he in no way won his duel with Cox, he at least provided more 50/50 contest's than Bandy's performances to date. Thus affording Eade the use of playing Darcy up forward at times, as a tactical manouvre, without totally conceding the ruck contest.

It's no use having the tactical weapon of a ruckman who floats forward, if by using it you totally concede ruck contests in the process. Therefore I think the development of Will this year is one of the keys to our overall structural improvement in the longer term.
If we can add that extra dimension to our ruck play, this will only provide Eade with more tactical tools at his disposal, and in turn making opposition coaches think a little more about how to play us.

I would like to know whether Will has the tools to also rest up forward (as a further option for Eade).
Does anyone here who has seen Will play over an extended period with Werribee play have any thoughts on his potential in this department?

It thought he performed OK but was very surprised that he received some mentions in the Ching.
He still has a long long way to go but I think we need to maintain him in the team for a few weeks yet and just see if he can make some more improvement.
While Eade is indicating that he won't have Darcy, Minson and Street in the same team I don't think Minson can ruck as much as what we asked him to do yesterday. In an ideal set-up we would have Bandy assisiting Minson in the ruck with Darcy playing CHF but unless Bandy can return to form quickly we might struggle to get a ruck set-up that allows Darcy to spend long times forward.

I rate Minson's potential but I also think most of our supporters are expecting too much too early from him.

Despite being caught out of position at some of the boundary throw ins i though Minson had a very good game. He helped out in defence a fair bit and definately held his own at the centre bounces which usually resulted in us clearing the ball or locking it up. The umpires were very severe on Minson when he did nothing at two specific incidents i can remember including a direct goal to Cox which was rubbish umpiring. Minson playing didn't kill us on the scoreboard and Darcy was able to go forward which made our side look very potent. Surely he will play against the Crows.

I thought he struggled, particularly early. He seemed out of his depth, and he tackled crudely. He will probably get another run this week but only for the lack of a suitable replacement

He may well develop, and I hope he can do it quickly, but based on what I saw yesterday he isn't as good a player as Bandy.

(910) said:
I thought he struggled, particularly early. He seemed out of his depth, and he tackled crudely. He will probably get another run this week but only for the lack of a suitable replacement

He may well develop, and I hope he can do it quickly, but based on what I saw yesterday he isn't as good a player as Bandy.

But at the stages in their career we would expect that Bandy is by far the better player, which obviously isn't the case.

I thought he was ok, it's hard to say watching on the tele but i don't think they delivered it to him in the forward line well at all, they never seemed to look for him when he was there, they tended to go to the ol faithfulls in johno and co.
When in the ruck he was as good as darcy was against cox, minson nullified him as best he could but their midfield just cleaned us up. We got done on center clearances big time.

certainly better than bandy has been this year. Whenever bandy has gone to the ruck this year he has goofed us big time within his first touch, and darcy has had to go back to the ruck. It was obvious eade felt we weren't loosing anything by having will there and darcy could stay up forward.

Keep the Monster in the team. I'd rather see Street in the side if it means Bandy doesnt play. It's simple... Minson is OUR future, Bandy is NOT! Sure, he was outpositioned on occassions but dont be fooled Cox is a damn good ruckman who uses his large frame well at boundry throw ins. I thought the Monster did well in the centre bounces, we were just murdered in the clearances. Also, with Minson in the side we have the added felxibility of have Darce up forward which will be a real bonus when we learn to kick it LONG to him.

The big fella was ok in the middle and provided a good contest - does look lost when sent forward however. Might be better playing in the ruck then going to the bench.

Minson, whilst showing promise, still has a long way to go. At this point he is merely competing in the ruck and gaining few possessions around he ground.

He has much to learn about directing the ball to a rover and we are disadvantaged when Darcy moves forward.

He will take time and and we will be ordinary in this area pending his improvement to AFL level.

One of our major weaknesses is our inability (with the exception of Darcy and possibly Rawlings) to take a mark overhead. If there is anybody at Werribee who possesses this skill, bring him in now.

Reckon they should have a look at dale morris, 190cm takes a strong grab and better still can play on the ball as well. By the way Peter Street's ruckwork for werribee on the weekend was fantastic. Still gets a bit lost around the ground but dont think he missed a hit out. Didnt see the west coast game so cant judge wheteher minson did enough.

pumpter said:
The big fella was ok in the middle and provided a good contest - does look lost when sent forward however. Might be better playing in the ruck then going to the bench.

This is my only question mark over the benefit of playing Will at the moment.
With Eade liking to rearrange the furniture, we really a ruck to assist Darcy, who can play another position, other than the pine :p

Without question Darcy (IMO anyway), and our team structure needs a versatile ruck apprentice.

It's a very tough call for Eade as on the one hand Bandy (when in form-) fits the bill (versatility wise) short term, but on the other hand we really need to be fostering the development of either Minson or Street as a longer term solution.

Personally I favour the longer term option, for the reason I'd rather be deficient in the role this year whilst their development makes progress (hopefully!!) than have to groom someone as the rest of the younger talent in the team (Cooney, Ray, Harris, Griffen, Williams, Walsh et al) hit their strides.

Minson had a reasonable game.

As for team balance, thats a toughy; I think ideally we CAN fit Darcy, Minson and Bandy in the same team, but that really does rely on Bandy getting his act together. We cant have both Minson and Bandy in the team while we wait for B to gather good form.

While generally poor, I think Bandy has looked best while rucking, and would be best suited to rucking and floating to center half-forward where he can hopefully take a few contested marks or use his agility to lead closer into attack. After his season a few years ago, I cant imagine NOT picking him, but his lack of skill and confidence at the moment is seriously worrying.

THAT SAID, however, Minson will certainly be in the team this week no question, and Bandy will too. Should be interesting.

Agree on Morris. As well as taking a grab he can shut down opposition players. Good defender which would release Grant or Murphy to play up forward.

Minson's game?