Missing: Cheer squad

Aug 16, 2006
My house
Last seen late 1990s at the MCG, wear red and black, make noise. It appears their seats have been taken by a bowls club, or possibly reserved seating for our mime-artist supporters

Any help on their whereabouts greatly appreciated

Last seen late 1990s at the MCG, wear red and black, make noise. It appears their seats have been taken by a bowls club, or possibly reserved seating for our mime-artist supporters

i noticed that to.. very dissapointing, the hawks squad shat all over ours. get our there and support the boys!!

Dont just point the figure at the mothers club cheer squad, the rest of us supporters arent any better.

What happened to the big Essendon chants that used to reverberate around the MCG every game?

Lucky if you hear it a couple of times year now a days and I dont think I have ever heard it at the dome.

We used to be the loudest supporters going around, now all we do is sit their and go off at the umpires all game and do f--- else.

Dont just point the figure at the mothers club cheer squad, the rest of us supporters arent any better.

What happened to the big Essendon chants that used to reverberate around the MCG every game?

Lucky if you hear it a couple of times year now a days and I dont think I have ever heard it at the dome.

We used to be the loudest supporters going around, now all we do is sit their and go off at the umpires all game and do f--- else.

i second that
thats if they even bother ****ing showing up at all
the members was full on anzac day, yet half empty against the hawks, pull ya ****ing finger out fans

Yeah it's pretty slack!
I'm stomping my feet on the 'floating floor' at the dome,
losing my voice at the G..

COME ON GUYS!!!
Would help if the fans got behind the players and gave some support..
even when they shit us..make some noise! :p

I must admit,
sometimes I'm not saying 'come on dons'..I'm yelling..."pull your fingers out guys"!

Our supporters have become used to the sterile surrounds at the Dome..........

I was sitting in the afl members behind the coaches box against stk and dead set it was bloody silent. I ended up moving and going standing room 10 rows across just so i could get some atmosphere.

AFL members was pretty dull again on sat but not as bad. Do you think it could have something to do with the way footy is played these days it's nowhere near as entertaining or crowed pleasing?

hehehe, they wear red, black and white, and are based at the Telstra Dome.

i was at the st kilda game - i'll be damned if i could tell the two cheer squads apart. It was all too confusing - the red, the black.. some bomber supporters even had on white shirts! what if i'd accidentally high fived a saints supporter after a Davey goal? What if i'd tried to chant ESS-EN-DON *clap* *clap* *clap*, when they started going ST-KIL-DA *clap* *clap* *clap* - wouldn't I look the fool? Think of the television audience - until midway through the final quarter they had no way to tell the two supporter groups apart! Clearly the AFL needs to introduce mandatory clash uniforms for away Cheer squads.

bring back the yellow jumpers:confused:

The cheer squad is full of tossers, I've heard a story of a bloke who got kicked out for being too noisy?? I mean WTF is that about. It's now a place for fat ****s to sit doing their knitting and clapping the opposition. They can all **** off!

Agreed

To say the cheer squad is full of tossers is a bit harsh don't you think.
Must admit, the members of cheer squads are different sorts tho. Some even have all their teeth... I mean take Joffa for christ sake. Great example of your typical cheer squader.
I think it's kinda admirable to dedicate yourself to spending time in halls making banners with tissue paper so the rest of us idiots can scoff at what is created. Then to manfully stand-by the poles as the players run through. Great stuff, its what the ANZAC spirit is all about.
My recollection of cheer squads when i was young was much better. Can remember sitting in the Sydney cheer squad at Princes Park (my best mate was a swans supporter) with all the old granny's and half ******ed people. It was great, those people knew how to go off! The one and only time I could manage to get into the Essendon cheer squad (cause of the way they used to f'n rope off the section for cheer squad 'members' only) was the game that Salmon kicked 10 and Ablett 14 and we won. Tell you what, my arm's were f'n sore after waving one of those f'off banners all game after that one.
Anyways, i reckon it depends on where you are sitting in regards to how loud and atmospheric it seems. If your in amongst all the corporates and randoms that have just turned up for the free piss, who may not even barrack for either team - then it would suck. I was in amongst a horde of carlton and essendon supporters a couple of weeks ago, and i can tell you, there was plenty of emotion, and thus cheering from those punters.

Frankly, I've never heard other Bombers supporters make much noise either.

At the Anzac Day game, I sat next to a young couple.

Oh, she cheered like a girl -
- go James
- go McVeigh
- go Mark
- go Monfries

Her boyfriend hardly said a word.

There I was next to them, and us surrounded by black and white
- c'mon JIMMY
- Marcus, get the bloody ball
- it's yours GUS, yours.

Argh!

yep couldn't agree more! I think part of it is the AFL restrictions on coaches. Has anyone seen Sheedy running out of the box waving his Jacket lately? or giving someone the old cut throat? They sent him a please explain last week for his comments, I hate to think what would happen if he waved his jacket over his head these days...it all rubs of on the crowd...yawn!

hats off to them, when we made our charge, the most we got out of them was barely a 20 second "essendon" chant
level 3 was going much better
sooner get rid of these useless people, the better

The problem is the Cheers Squads along with society have become too sanitized. Lets face it if you drop a few F bombs anywhere in the crowd now days chances are you will be ejected so its hardly surprising the club is hell bent on making the cheer squad a nice place for all the kiddies. Too bad it is washing away much of the character that used to be involved at the same time.

Missing: Cheer squad