Morton vs Cotchin

tony_montana

I notice a lot of armchair experts are saying cotchin all the way and we'd be crazy to get morton ahead of him.

Why?

Morton is 193cms, has a huge motor, beautiful kick and can play anywhere on the ground. Cotchin is clever and will be a very skilful HFF that may become a bonafide midfielder, but thats a while away, hes extremely raw and doesnt have the explosive pace of Deledio like some think, he is also 182cms so if he doesnt become an a-grade midfielder we have a HFF who wont play tall. He definitely isnt ready to play midfielde next year and will take time to adjust (my opinion only). I was on the cotchin bandwagon but the more i see of both the more i am leaning towards morton.

Some supporter on SEN put it very simply but as silly as this may sound he may just be on the money - twice we've gone for the small guy over the big guy
fiora over pavlich
tambling over franklin

lets not do it a 3rd time

I think hes right.

Mate who ever we get with pick 2 I'll be happy. The more I read about Morton and his results from draft camp the better I feel about us picking him up, yet I'm also mindful that Cotchin did nothing at draft camp except interviews. So instead of entering the debate and choosing either player I'll just leave my sig to do the talking.

want cotchin......coz we missed out on Juddy.

if not..........................

get morton so we can delist one of graham or hughes at the end of 2008.

trouble brewing right there.

i wish steamer would do the right thing.

I notice every man and his dog starting a thread on this topic without bothering to seach first.
Haha, Weaver. Its gets to a point doesnt it? :D

I just wish we would drop the whole thing.Whoever the Club pick,then i'm happy with that.We are unbelievable.Nothing compares to Richmond supporters placing unfair expectations on kids ,often leading to the player suffering under the burden.
If we didn't learn from the Fiora v Pavlich,then Tambling v Franklin when the bloody hell will we?
It's turning into Morton v Cotchin before the draft just like it did in 1999 and 2004.
Lets not fall into that again.
I would estimate that no two players at any club would have had the weight of the world on their shoulders to the extent of Fiora and Tambling.

Cotchin has a brain though nto saying morton does but we are usually picking the athletes over a smart footballer. Just because morton has a huge engine doesnt gurantee him to be a star.

I would like to see us take Cotchin. He doesnt have the pace of a lidsy but then think about it...do we really need more pace its not like we need more.

Selwood from the cats doesnt have pace or anything special about him except he has a brain and can find the footy and get in the right spots

GO FOR COTCHIN

Go Tigers!!

Morton and Cotchin are very different players but both highly sought after as the have silky skills.

Morton is tall 190cm+ who may become a KPP with a bit more growth but has the motor to be a midfielder for years to come. Has great kicking skills and can hit targets from 50m, great pace and accerleration who did very well, so I hear, at the draft camp. Outside midfielder.

Cotchin is also highly skilled but more of an inside midfielder, not overly quick but reads the game well, something that cannot be taught. Has the ability to get out of tight situations with the pill, and leave his man behind as he heads to the next contest.

Both players have huge upside and will play next year. Cotchin may be slightly more ready but not by much ... IMO

I have said Morton as he has height and thats what we need. I know Cotchin will be a very good player, but we have a stck of these players. Its time to bring in height. If we bring in Cale to be bought in because of his brother Mitch is here than I will be annoyed. That means Greg is not doing his job correctly :D

I have posted this before, but Healys "Whispers" said Richmond got Morton cheap because they agreed to by-pass Cotchin in the draft allowing the Eagles to get him, and we will take Morton the Younger with our 1st pick.

I have no first hand knowledge of them, but from all i read and hear, Morton is the one i would like to get

Before the U/18 Carnival Cotchin was rated equal with Kreuzer as a player and a leader, but unfortunately he was heavily tagged and had little influence, whereas Kreuzer dominated. Now everyone's saying "Kreuzer Kreuzer Kreuzer" but one bad carnival doesn't make a bad player.

morton over cotchin=bullet in the head.people in WA who have seen him play all year think he is an average player.we need class =cotchin

I'm with this. If the weagles don't want morton ahead of cotchin that should tell us something. Nothing wrong with being 184cm - same height as Voss. Just because Morton's tall(ish) doesn't mean he will play tall, or fill out enough to be a KPP. And learning from Geelong - take the local boy.

I want the player thats going to make this club better than the other. Whether thats Morton or Cotchin I don't honestly care.

Also, I'd like to just step in with the Tambling V. Franklin comments, Tambling was a steal at 2. Everyone though back then that it would be Deledio 1, Tambling 2 (to the Hawks), Griffen (whom the Bulldogs said they were going to take regardless) and we'd pick up Roughead at 4. But obviously Roughead went 2, and the Bulldogs still kept Griffen. Getting Tambling at that was an absolute steal. I know Franklin is NOW the better of the two, but THEN it was undoubtedly Tambling.

I'm with this. If the weagles don't want morton ahead of cotchin that should tell us something. Nothing wrong with being 184cm - same height as Voss. Just because Morton's tall(ish) doesn't mean he will play tall, or fill out enough to be a KPP. And learning from Geelong - take the local boy.

The club had problems with Mitch Morton's attitude and don't want to pick up Cale incase he ends up the same.

Also we have plenty of tall midfielders at West Coast such as Embley

who ever you dont take, we will

so take morton :D:D

It doesn't matter, because they will both be very good players. Cale Morton has the potential to be anything, while Cotchin is limited in his positions however is a much safer prospect, already being AFL size, while at 192cm and 79kgs Morton still need to put on another 3-5 kgs before he will even get a game

Morton is closer to 81kg's now and is 191.5cm, matt Rosa and Adam Selwood have no problems competing at that weight and height.

Runs a 2.98 20m time (Cotchin 2.96) so he could certainly play as a leading forward at a pinch. Also has the elite endurance to go with that height so you end up with a very versatile player.

at first i was wanting cotchin but now the more i read about morton the more i reckon we should draft him. he is a booming kick and has got a great endurance base and could play the chf role very well when he pumps up the guns for a few more years.