Son of Superboot

Boot studder
Brisbane Lions
Raith Rovers FC
I'll start, 1998, Rd 4 - 3 games, 3 different states.
Departed Brisbane Thur arvo and drove straight to Melb and attended the Fri night game Magpies vs North at the MCG. Game over, straight in the car and drove to Syd for the Sat night game, Swans vs Eagles. Again back in the car and drive back to Bris for the 2:10 pm start, Lions vs North.
From front door to front door, total round trip 3500km. Just me and mate, with a lot of sleeping in the passenger seat.

I'll start, 1998, Rd 4 - 3 games.
Departed Brisbane Thur arvo and drove straight to Melb and attended the Fri night game Magpies vs North at the MCG. Game over, straight in the car and drove to Syd for the Sat night game, Swans vs Eagles. Again back in the car and drive back to Bris for the 2:10 pm start, Lions vs North.
From front door to front door, total round trip 3500km. Just me and mate, with a lot of sleeping in the passenger seat.
One. Multiple times.

I think that my "personal best" was Round 5 & 6 in 2019. I have an AFL membership so can get tickets to any MCG/Marvel game pretty easily and went to a bunch of games with different friend groups over those two weekends. Plus I'm also a Melbourne Storm fan which added two additional games.

Fri 19th April (Good Friday)
North Melbourne Vs Essendon @ Marvel
Melbourne Storm Vs Sydney Roosters @ AAMI Park

Sat 20th April
St Kilda Vs Melbourne @ MCG
Richmond Vs Sydney @ Marvel

Mon 22nd April (Easter Monday)
Hawthorn Vs Geelong @ MCG

Weds 24th April (Anzac Eve)
Richmond Vs Melbourne @ MCG

Thurs 25th April (Anzac Day)
Essendon Vs Collingwood @ MCG
Melbourne Storm Vs New Zealand Warriors @ AAMI Park

6 games of AFL, 2 games of NRL across at 3 different grounds in the space of a week.

Most is 5 games twice:

Rd1 1997
Thurs night: Melb d NM @ MCG
Sat day: Coll d Port @ MCG (Ports first game in AFL)
Sat night: Haw d StK @ Wav
Sun: Rich d Geel @ MCG
Mon: Ess d Carl @ MCG (greg williams push umpire)

Rd 3 2001

Thurs night: Carl d Ess @ MCG
Sat: Rich d Bris @ MCG
Sat night: Coll d Bull @ Docklands
Sun: WCE d StK @ Docklands
Mon: Melb d Geel @ MCG

Interestingly both rounds there was no Fri night game... maybe due to Better Homes n Gardens dominance

If you're a non-Victorian and you haven't done Melbourne trips where you watch 4/5 games on the same weekend you don't really love footy. Don't think I've ever got to 6 though.
100%

my post above is just me goimg to random games for footy weekends

4 last time I was in Melbourne.

Almost missed the Saturday night game though. Pit stop at Y&J on the way to the G from Docklands.

Probably been to 4 on a weekend once or twice but doubt done that since the late 1990's.
It was more compelling to see other games than just my own team then, but now I struggle to even want to goto a second game any weekend.
Just too much chunks of game time absorbed in ball up either 50 metre arc with 36 players condensed to one half of ground that has reduced the appeal of see as many games as possible.
Was fun to goto a game just to see some Ablett magic back then or Carey, Adrian McAdam, Allen Jakovich and Lloyd. Used to love to catch the Lions if they in Melbourne on same weekend to see Vossy, Chris Johnson, Akka, Brown and the rest of them apply their magic in early 2000s.
The rotations explosion and territory style game that mutated the spectacle in last 15 or so years just means I barely goto two games in a weekend now.
Usually if there a few finals in Melbourne will try to make most of that with AFL membership to make it at least feel like getting some value back on how much it cost each season to pay for it. Finals time is the time to make the most of it in recent decades.

I'll start, 1998, Rd 4 - 3 games, 3 different states.

back in the day i lived through 6 games simultaneously trying to match a to j with the 5 other games listed in the record. if it was a close game the scoreboard attendants would update every few minutes in the last qtr.

Attachments

• 12088268_1635418876716993_6969390809286439954_n.jpg
    12088268_1635418876716993_6969390809286439954_n.jpg
    75.6 KB · Views: 17
Pre-covid I'd try and do a footy bender once a year and base it around whenever Freo were playing in Melbourne, usually doing Friday night, Saturday arvo MCG to Marvel (or vice versa), then Sunday preferably at the MCG. If there were Thursday or Monday games I'd try to include those but they didn't seem to be as common then.

Now it seems as though the fixture is making it harder to catch two games in one day, with MCG and Marvel games frequently overlapping, which is irritating as I enjoyed walking from the G back to the city and getting a meal then walking to Marvel for the night game...

Over the Easter Weekend me and the boys did a footy trip from WA and we caught all 6. It was a lot of footy, but was an excellent experience having never been to the G or Marvel before. We scoped this out when the fixture was announced.

Did Rock up at QTR time to both Essendon and Melbourne Games because we got lost. Games Ranked are:

1. Hawks - Geelong, absolute belter game with great atmosphere
2. Carlton - Port, Was looking a fizzer but came round
3. Freo - Essendon, Freo Dominance and quiet home crowds
4. St Kilda - Suns, pretty average performance by the suns but still
5. North - Bulldogs, Lots of Goals and little bit of effort by North in the second, Horne-Francis is Excellent.
6. Melbourne - GWS

Footy crowds in Melbourne are a lot nicer, and it's nice too go see some footy that isn't Freo or WCE. Great Time, already planning next years.

back in the day i lived through 6 games simultaneously trying to match a to j with the 5 other games listed in the record. if it was a close game the scoreboard attendants would update every few minutes in the last qtr.
I can remember as youngster, standing in the terraces at lakeside oval, having this explained to me. You'd often hear a cheer in last 1/4 during a game, when nothing was happening, and you would look up and see that D had come back and beaten C by 2 pts