Most over-rated games ever

tige19 said:
Has anyone mentioned the FIFA series??? the most overated football series of all time.

yeah, but i reckon true football lovers know the games kinda sucks from now on, this year's version from the demo i have played will be even worse then the previous version's. Time EA started from complete scratch and worked on the gameplay.

tige19 said:
Has anyone mentioned the FIFA series??? the most overated football series of all time.
On the flip side has anyone played Madden 2005???? probably 1 of the best games anyone could who is in to top notch sport sims could ask for, i rated it very highly and is a must get for the hardcore sport gamers.

cheers

The first couple were good then they started changing the game play angles. Sports games have not been the same since.

- Europa Universalis I and II. Clumsy interface and shallow gameplay.

- Black & White. Not a BAD game, but certainly not the brilliant one that some reviews suggest. Ultimately quite tedious and frustrating.

- Cricket 2004. Any rating above snapping the CD in half is overly generous. Riddled with a disgraceful number of bugs, and has weak gameplay beyond that.

- Championship Manager 03/04. Another game riddled with bugs, not to mention a variety of gameplay flaws.

feher said:
yeah, but i reckon true football lovers know the games kinda sucks from now on.....

I've been telling people that FIFA sucked for years now.

I used to get all kinds of lovely insults fired at me on this very board simply for pointing out to people that FIFA sucked and Pro Evolution was where it's at.

Nobody believed me.

Fast forward 3 years and every man and his dog is bagging FIFA whilst claiming Pro Evo to be the greatest sports game ever.

Funny that!

And now I'm going to name the 2 most overrated games of all time, and no doubt get the same pathetic clueless insults fired at me for doing so:

Halo

and

Grand Theft Auto 3 and 4.

Of course, I clearly know nothing about videogames so anything I say about them will never hold up against the simple consumer opinions on said games.

:)

And before people begin insulting me as is the BigFooty Way of the Clueless, I'll just remind them that the title of this thread is "Most overrated games ever."

Halo = first-person shooter, nothing groundbreaking, been done before and arguably better than Halo.

GTA = fantastic concept, great sound design, bad visuals, horrible framerate, hit or miss controls. (vehicle controls rock, the rest is BAD)

And yet these 2 games are constantly rated by people (who don't really know) as being the greatest games ever.

Which, when you consider the flaws of GTA and the non-originality of Halo, makes them the most overrated games of all time.

g.

PS. I'll still be buying them both when they come out.

gPhonque said:

no problem their, i don't like it either.

gPhonque said:
Grand Theft Auto 3 and 4.

their is no gta 4, their is no 4 coming out just yet, you are probably thinking of vice city or the soon to be release san andrea's and i totally disagree, bloody good game, not overrated at all.

gPhonque said:
GTA = fantastic concept, great sound design, bad visuals, horrible framerate, hit or miss controls. (vehicle controls rock, the rest is BAD)

can't speak about the console version, but on the pc, controls are rock solid.

feher said:
their is no gta 4, their is no 4 coming out just yet, you are probably thinking of vice city or the soon to be release san andrea's and i totally disagree, bloody good game, not overrated at all.

Oops....I knew that.....bad habit of calling Vice City "GTA4"....but you know what I meant.

You say you totally disagree, and then call it a bloody good game.....

....and I agree that's it's a good game.

I even stated at the end of my post that I was going to buy it when it came out....

I simply called it overrated.

Which it is!

From a game developer perspective (or even the perspective of a fairly serious gamer - either way, I am both), it's a piece of rubbish in some ways. Visuals are average at best, framerate (console versions) borders on unacceptable......the vehicle controls are great, but once you step out of the vehicle, well........there a HUNDREDS of other games that have much smoother, intuitive, and just overall better "3rd person" controls.

So it IS flawed no matter how you look at it. It's far from perfect.

And since so many people claim it's the greatest thing ever, then surely that means it's overrated?

Think about it.

As I stated a while ago in another thread - if you want to claim that GTA is the greatest videogame concept ever, then you would have a very good argument.

Claiming anything more than that is simply ignoring the facts. The facts being that the framerate sucks, the visuals are just average, and the non-vehicle controls (running around, aiming, etc) have been done better in countless other 3rd-person action games.

If you still disagree, then perhaps you should tell us why it ISN'T overrated rather than just stating "bloody good game."

"Bloody good game" doesn't exactly tell me that you know anything about games. It tells me what you like, and that's about it.

Perhaps, and don't take this the wrong way, but perhaps you don't know what makes a great game, and you only know what you like?

And as much as gamers will never admit such a thing, that is the truth most of the time.

Just a thought.

no problem their, i don't like it either.

What does the fact that you "don't like it" have to do with anything?

I do like Halo.

And I think it's overrated.

gPhonque said:
Oops....I knew that.....bad habit of calling Vice City "GTA4"....but you know what I meant.

You say you totally disagree, and then call it a bloody good game.....

....and I agree that's it's a good game.

i was trying not to go over board, okay i guess its over-rated when you really think about it, but it is still one of my fav games of all time.

gPhonque said:
From a game developer perspective (or even the perspective of a fairly serious gamer - either way, I am both), it's a piece of rubbish in some ways. Visuals are average at best, framerate (console versions) borders on unacceptable......the vehicle controls are great, but once you step out of the vehicle, well........there a HUNDREDS of other games that have much smoother, intuitive, and just overall better "3rd person" controls.

well i do like games to have good visuals, but to me its all about the gameplay, so i won't fault it too much on the visuals.

gPhonque said:
And since so many people claim it's the greatest thing ever, then surely that means it's overrated?

Think about it.

i don't think i have ever read it being the greatest ever ... i'll take your word for it

gPhonque said:
As I stated a while ago in another thread - if you want to claim that GTA is the greatest videogame concept ever, then you would have a very good argument.

Claiming anything more than that is simply ignoring the facts. The facts being that the framerate sucks, the visuals are just average, and the non-vehicle controls (running around, aiming, etc) have been done better in countless other 3rd-person action games.

i don't think i have made that claim ... not sure what game i would consider greatest ever, maybe ISS on nintendo 64 because of the ammount of time i spent on it.

gPhonque said:
If you still disagree, then perhaps you should tell us why it ISN'T overrated rather than just stating "bloody good game."

"Bloody good game" doesn't exactly tell me that you know anything about games. It tells me what you like, and that's about it.

Settle down a bit. I like the fact that it felt like an original game, but i guess it has being done before but not combined into one game. The controls on the pc as far as i am concern are close enough to perfect for this type of game. Perhaps the camera is the only thing that needs a working on at times.

i was only trying to reply with a few words i didn't really want to go into a full debate about it.

gPhonque said:
Perhaps, and don't take this the wrong way, but perhaps you don't know what makes a great game, and you only know what you like?

And as much as gamers will never admit such a thing, that is the truth most of the time.

Just a thought.

in terms of the games i have played i really enjoyed it, and go back to it from time to time, i certainly haven't played all the so called greatest game of all time, i think it all comes down to personal preferrences. I love fps and racing game, and it combines both really well, i enjoyed but didn't like as much say a game like mafia, probably due to the fact it was a more serious type of game, and slower in terms of getting through the city.

gPhonque said:
What does the fact that you "don't like it" have to do with anything?

I do like Halo.

And I think it's overrated.

my mistake, i made a bad assumption.

feher said:
i was trying not to go over board, okay i guess its over-rated when you really think about it, but it is still one of my fav games of all time.

I agree with all of that. :) It's absolutely overrated, but I guess it's still one of my favourite games series as well. (I liked GTA1 and GTA2 years ago as well.....the GTA1 British Pack was just too cool.)

well i do like games to have good visuals, but to me its all about the gameplay, so i won't fault it too much on the visuals.

Me too, of course. It's all about the gameplay. Which is why the half-assed 3rd-person controls annoy me so much. The vehicle controls are perfect for the game imo. It's FUN! It's not deep, but it's easy and it's fun to drive around.

I've said this before, but the fact that 99% of people who sit down and play GTA3 (or VC) generally spend 99% of the time driving around randomly surely says something about the rest of the game.... (and the controls when outside a vehicle)

It's the concept that people fall in love with when they play GTA. The game around it is pretty ordinary.

As are the visuals/framerate, although you've got to give it too them for attempting such a big open game on the consoles. (which is GTA's main market)

Oh, and how did I forget to mention the AI? (which has to be close to the worst AI in any game ever made. But then, this is all part of the gameplay which, apart from the vehicle controls and the "go wherever you like" element, GTA seriously lacks.)

It will be very interesting to see how San Andreas turns out. Will it just be MORE "stuff", or will the "stuff" be polished a little this time? (by that, I mean that people are going nuts reading about all the new features San Andreas will have, when so many of the features that are already in the game are implented in such a halfarse and lazy manner...)

i don't think i have made that claim ... not sure what game i would consider greatest ever, maybe ISS on nintendo 64 because of the ammount of time i spent on it.

I know YOU didn't claim that, but so many people do. (and we're talking about overrated games...)

It's like naming "American Pie" as the greatest movie of all time. It's aimed at young people (despite what the ratings may imply), it's not very deep, and it has to shock people just to make them laugh. In fact, perhaps American Pie has even more artistic value than GTA.

ISS was a great game, but I don't see how you spending lots of time with it has anything to do with whether it's one of the greatest games of all time. (One of your favourites? Sure!)

Settle down a bit. I like the fact that it felt like an original game, but i guess it has being done before but not combined into one game. The controls on the pc as far as i am concern are close enough to perfect for this type of game. Perhaps the camera is the only thing that needs a working on at times.

Hey, I'm fine........sorry if I came across a bit fired up, but I guess I have a writing style that is better heard than read. (not that that makes any sense at all!)

The camera, when outside the vehicle, is part of the controls. (aiming, turning, etc)

Which suck.

So you agree with me. :)

i was only trying to reply with a few words i didn't really want to go into a full debate about it.

Oops!

(and here I am thinking this is a discussion forum?) ;)

Anyway, I now know you don't like discussions, so you don't have to reply if you can't be bothered. (although I do have to ask why you visit discussion forum when you don't like discussing things...?)

gPhonque said:
I agree with all of that. :) ISS was a great game, but I don't see how you spending lots of time with it has anything to do with whether it's one of the greatest games of all time. (One of your favourites? Sure!)

To me ISS (on n64) was probably my all time fav game on any console/pc, so at least to me its my greatest game ever, it had great controls, the graphics imo for the time were great, and i just played it all the time, and best of all it was a soccer/footy game. maybe it was so great to me because fifa became so crap? what about you do you have a greatest game ever? i don't think you have answered that.

gPhonque said:
Hey, I'm fine........sorry if I came across a bit fired up, but I guess I have a writing style that is better heard than read. (not that that makes any sense at all!)

it's cool :D

gPhonque said:
Anyway, I now know you don't like discussions, so you don't have to reply if you can't be bothered. (although I do have to ask why you visit discussion forum when you don't like discussing things...?)

I don't mind posting long post from time to time ;)

I do like discussing thing's, just feel this topic can get out of hand a little quickly, and i actually had other threads i wanted to look over that i had more intrest in at the time. i also didn't want to take it too off topic as this thread is about the most over-rated.

i don't think i have answered which game i think is the most over-rated, i guess the one that springs to mind for me is doom 3, i kinda figured i wasn't going to like it, as i don't like games where you kill aliens, and non-human creatures, so i may be a unfair. The game i was most looking forward to was call of duty united offence, but didn't enjoy anywhere near as much as the original due to the heavy scripting of the ai, which i knew was going to happen after i read the review.

I think alot of people think HALO is overrated because of the controls. I use to hate it but once my mate brought his xbox over and i got use to the contorls and now i love the game.

I think a lot of people think Halo is overrated because it's one more FPS in a world saturated with them - it's a good one, no doubt, but it is spoken of in terms better reserved for the Second Coming.

Stan. said:
These games are great, I get online and play them for hours.

DoD whips it out and slaps BF1942 right on the forehead and the whole CS community attitude throws me off the game so I hate it but besides that it is over rated because people go on like it's the greatest game in the world when it's really just the same thing over and over and over and over. Dust Dust Dust Dust.

Warcraft 3

A typically polished, professional Blizzard production, but failed to have the feeling of perfection that Starcraft and Diablo 2 had- that you were playing the ultimate expressions of their genre. As a matter of fact I found WC3 pretty downright mediocre- played half of the first campaign, then cheated my way through the game to get to the cut scenes (which in themselves are almost worth the install they are so good!)

I think the problem was that Blizzard's games have always tended to be awesome because they looked at creating the ultimate in playability and prettyness rather than any particularly revolutionary concepts.

Starcraft (well Brood War specifically) was the ultimate in resource gathering rts- it was just well rounded and so downright fun that it would have to be close to the most perfect game ever made.

After that, WC3 was an enormous let down- the 3d graphics looked far inferior to SC's sprites and seemed to just be there for the sake of it- (their cartoon-y look just didn't seem right at all) - given that they totally failed to utilise the 3d camera in any real way, the game would have been far better served with a fully 3d environment but sprites for troops, a-la medieval total war.

Finally, the campaign characters were all bloody annoying and had zilch appeal- the portraits looked really really bad, and even the voice acting for the characters seemed ********ty compared to the rest of the units. Put that aside the super cool starcraft and brood war characters, and meh.

The focus on micro-management and the fact that you always seemed far too zoomed in made the game bloody frustrating and annoying- the rpg in a rts hybrid sounded like a good idea, but the fact that they weren't prepared to implement either in a full-on way just made it suck- if u could have characters who could level and pick up a diablo-esque variety of items in starcraft sized battles, that would be cool. As it was though, u were incapable of doing either thing.

A lot of people liked WC3, but personally I hated it. Kind of ironic that a company can have an unbelievable pedigree, extremely high production values, huge capital and the best programmers going about and put enormous effort into churning out something that felt remarkably half assed.

Most over-rated games ever