The Spornstar

I've got a graduate position in Sydney next year so I'm making the move from Melbourne to Sydney. I know most of you probably don't give a stuff, but I'm telling you anyway!

I'm looking to rent fairly close to the CBD, perhaps in suburbs such as Surry Hills, Wooloomoloo (don't have a clue how to spell it), Glebe, Pyrmont, Paddington, Leichardt etc. Anyone recommend any of those suburbs or any others? I personally know nothing about Sydney so any suggestions are welcome.

Another thing, is it really that hard to get decent Aussie Rules coverage up here? Is Fox Footy a must?

Welcome to paradise :rolleyes:

Firstly, Fox is a must if you follow anyone other than the Swans, and want to see any talk shows other than The Eddie Show or Bruce & Caro.

Paddington is nice - bit trendy, but not bad, and its handy to the SCG. So is Surry Hills - less trendy. Pyrmont is ordinary, but it is close to town. Leichhardt is good - little bit further out.

Accross the harbour - Neutral Bay, Waverton, kirribilli etc are very nice.

I live up on the northern beaches, which is godzone, but if you are planning to spend a lot of time in the city it is a bit far.

surry hills...so you can dine regularly at one of the best thai restaurants in Aust - Longrain!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
You bludger!

Bloody leading goalkicker moves to Sydney. I feel like a St Kilda official.

It's about time you stepped up to the plate and shouldered some of the load!

Congrats on your new job, it's not a bad place, Sydney, always something happening. The real estate is pricy (probably about 30% higher than in Melbourne) so that might limit where you're able to afford. But, often in the pricier suburbs there's still a range of accomodation and you might be able to find an affordable place.

My brother lives in Leichhardt and likes it there, nice area, Norton St. is similar to Lygon St. it's the Italian centre of Sydney and there's a lot of nice cafes and restaurants there. It's about 8kms from the city. Newtown's another good spot plenty of restaurants covering almost every cuisine from the world, it's gentrified a bit over the years but there's still cheaper sections of Newtown, plenty of pubs. Other Inner West places like Petersham, Stanmore, Glebe (which is right near the city) are cool, plenty of public transport round there.

The Eastern Suburbs are a bit pricier though there's still plenty of relatively affordable places. A bit further out from the city, Coogee (bout 10km out) is a nice, beachside suburb. Bondi's a good spot, Paddington's a nice area. Round Centennial Park is nice too. They'd be the pick of the Eastern Suburbs for me.

Lower North Shore suburbs like Kirribilli, North Sydney, Mosman, etc. are quite nice though pricy. A lot of shops and cafes along Military Road which is kinda similar to Chapel Street in Melbourne.

Good Luck with your move! :)

Sydneyfans just about covered everything

If you still want to hang out in the student scene, anything inner-west or inner south is a good place to live. The further west you go the cheaper the accomodation, but also the further west you go the less sea-breezes, beaches and easy access to the ocean you have.

It also gets hotter out west in the summer - much hotter.

Glebe and Newtown are really the go for undergrad types I reckon. Newtown is like Fitzroy or Collingwood, whilst Glebe is more gentrified, bit like Prahran or somewhere like that.

I live in Centennial Park (with BSA) and its a great little area. If you are interested in the Eastern Suburbs then Cent Pk is probably the Eastern Subirbs best kept secret. Its a very handy, not to mention smart place to live.

Although the Spornstar may like the student scene, I'm not sure what his girlfriend would say! ;)

And don't worry Mark, after my trial in Europe I will come back a much more experienced and worldly player (with a seriously stuffed liver no doubt)

Glebe, Leichhardt and Annandale are all good areas, as are Newtown, Stanmore, Enmore.

East and North you'll probably pay more than you need to.

Oh Jimmy....how will we be able to play games without "Matty Lappin" playing?

How long are you going over there?

Anyways all the best for when you make your move & make sure you keep in touch on Big Footy!

We'll have to fly you down Hudson style whenever we need your Lappin like skills on field!

:D

Originally posted by Porthos
Glebe, Leichhardt and Annandale are all good areas, as are Newtown, Stanmore, Enmore.

East and North you'll probably pay more than you need to.

yes.. agreed...

also pyrmont & ultimo, (probably the closest to the city, with an oversupply of modern style apartment complexes), would be overall cheaper than the east & north...

check out www.domain.com.au for details on rents etc

Good thing Spornstar brought this thread up or i mightve had to...

Im also moving to Sydney next year (career wise move) as i think its the best thing for me at the moment - my brothers already there and lives in Liverpool (anyone know anything about that area??)

Anyway, will make sure that Fox footy is all set up before i leave :)

Originally posted by iceman

Im also moving to Sydney next year (career wise move) as i think its the best thing for me at the moment - my brothers already there and lives in Liverpool (anyone know anything about that area??)

unless u'd be working out in the west, liverpool is quite far away from the cbd... around 32kms away from the city..

the benefits are that property is v.cheap and affordable...
liverpool is one of the fastest growing areas of sydney... lots of young families and migrants are settling out there..

Apparently the fastest growing area in Australia.

I sometimes go to the Westfield there and I never see any good looking girls there. I think they all move to the beach as soon as they are old enough.

No shortage of crime either.

let me know when thats on and me and Bsa will come along too and take pictures, should be a classic

nuthin like a bit of 'aerial ping pong' talk to get him wound up ...

my brothers already there and lives in Liverpool (anyone know anything about that area??)

Liverpool ?? The Leyland Brothers don't go that far for a holiday !! Hell, the only time I ever go to Liverpool is if I am driving down to Melbourne, it's in the boony's !!

Sydney is a terrific city to live in but as the others have said, real estate is a nightmare and will no doubt be a shock to the system. Weather is great and there is a tendency to be a lot more outdoors because of it. To fully appreciate what Sydney has to offer, it is always good to be relatively close to a beach, and there are plenty of them. Thai food & alfresco dining are all the rage regardless of the car fumes you endure, which also brings me onto traffic - you ain't seen nothing yet !!

As for footy, apart from watching the Swans, the coverage is a little spasmodic but you will get used to it. You may want to consider getting Fox here to help with your withdrawals. Just to ensure you don't switch camps, make sure you go and see a game of 'throwball' as soon as you get here, you'll never look at it seriously ever again.

If you want to keep playing footy, you could try your hand in the SFL which is the next best thing down from the Swans reserves. Depending on where you actually settle, I can put you in contact with the closest club.

Newtown is a terrific suburb and quite alternative due to the student population. It would be a good place to start off from as it is close to the city. if you want to go a little further out, Leichardt is great and Norton St. is a mini version of Lygon St. Carlton so that might make you feel at home. If you want to be near the beach, Clovelly is a good option in the east and a little more peaceful & cheaper than Bondi & Coogee (plus you don't have to worry about all those bloody limy backpackers either). Don't go any further south as it can get a little feral down that way, apart from Caringbah & Cronulla which aren't too bad. On the north side, the lower north shore is great but pricey (and you run the risk of running into me). You may also want to consider avoiding Manly, even though it is good it still is expensive and chock full of people every weekend. Maybe Harbord or Curl Curl next door could be better option ?? Inner city places are damn expensive and best avoided, however, Glebe is a pretty groovy suburb and worth considering depending on budgetary concerns.

If you want anymore help, feel free to PM or email me !!

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Apparently the fastest growing area in Australia.

I sometimes go to the Westfield there and I never see any good looking girls there. I think they all move to the beach as soon as they are old enough.

No shortage of crime either.

That rules that area out then.... i'd expect that since i work in the IT industry, most of my jobs will be in the CBD (i think), and ill probably look for some place about 20 odd minutes away (too close would probably be too expensive)

Thanks for the help guys. At the moment I am favouring living not too far from the CBD as I don't really want to bring a car up to Sydney. I'm pretty much ruling out the North Shore, so I guess I'll have to look around a bit in some of those other suburbs that you guys suggested. I'm coming up to Sydney this week to have a look around (and conveniently going across to the Carlton v Sydney game!;)).

NYMets - Manly's a sensational place but as I said, I want to be close to the CBD. Still, your idea has merit!

If all you watch is Carlton games, Fox would be a bit of a waste....there's only 3 live a year.

If you watch as much as you can, you need Fox Footy.

Originally posted by Porthos
If all you watch is Carlton games, Fox would be a bit of a waste....there's only 3 live a year.

If you watch as much as you can, you need Fox Footy.

I watch Carlton games no matter what, and then watch as much other stuff as I can depending on how much time I have each week.

They may only have 3 live Carlton games a year, but I want to watch full replays. Can I get them on ch.9 or 10?

Probably not, no...usually they have an abbreviated showing of the 2nd Sunday game real late on a Sunday.