MACDAICOS

MVFC.
Surely after doing stuff all in last years draft period we must do all we can we obtain a player with class of Cameron Bruce, a fit and fireing forward line of Tarrant and Rocca down the spine and with your Didak's, Buckley's resting down there and a Bruce playing half forward mid field role it would take some beating? :D

agreed, would be handy but not at ANY cost.

Melbourne CANNOT keep all their uncontracted players unless most agree to getting paid BELOW market value and let's face it, they ain't a Brisbane who can claim success as a motivating factor in keeping players together.

I've been saying for a while now that we need to go after a player in the caliber of Bruce. I'd be happy with Bruce or Johnstone. I am starting to become a little bit conservative about giving away Pick 7. Don't believe what you hear that this year is a weak draft. I'd probably only give up Pick 7 to get Kane Tenace as part of the Ottens deal. To get Bruce or Johnstone I'd be prepared to get rid of O'Bree or Presti. I've said that for a while now. You have to give up some quaility to get quality. We'd still come out better off with trading either of those.

I rate Bruce and I'd love him at Collingwood but the price is the issue. He isn't actually what we need right now. He does have what we need longer term though when our midfield has to replace Buckley & Burns. We don't yet know whether Brayden Shaw is good enough. What we do need now is either a top 3 pick to get a Judd/Ball or a Brent Harvey type to immediately complete our midfield and make us a serious contender in 2005.

Will people please stop talking about Travis Johnstone. He was a number 1 pick who in his entire career has managed to string together 2 decent half seasons and even that is debatable. If he was a second round pickup no one would bother with him. I couldn’t care less how promising he looked against 17 year olds last century. He looks to have some talent but he doesn't look to have much application. I'd rather have Nick Davis.

He would great in the black and white, give them all the shaw's, o'bree, presti, williams, and McHale stadium so the poor bastards have somewhere to train! :D

I don't think there's any supposed big name players that I'd want traded to Collingwood - I don't really rate any of the players being bandied about. Unless it's the likes of Judd or Riewoldt, then I'm not interested!

MarkT said:
I rate Bruce and I'd love him at Collingwood but the price is the issue. He isn't actually what we need right now. He does have what we need longer term though when our midfield has to replace Buckley & Burns. We don't yet know whether Brayden Shaw is good enough. What we do need now is either a top 3 pick to get a Judd/Ball or a Brent Harvey type to immediately complete our midfield and make us a serious contender in 2005.

Will people please stop talking about Travis Johnstone. He was a number 1 pick who in his entire career has managed to string together 2 decent half seasons and even that is debatable. If he was a second round pickup no one would bother with him. I couldn’t care less how promising he looked against 17 year olds last century. He looks to have some talent but he doesn't look to have much application. I'd rather have Nick Davis.

We might be able to get him relatively cheap then mark.

Maybe presti and a second round pick. that might do it.

Easy O'bree's on good money so ******** that little **** off and with Scott Burns going going on the vetrans list there will be spare cash. :cool:

I've been saying all along that O'Bree or Presti and a Second Round pick for Bruce and O'Bree or Presti for Johnstone should do it. Melbourne can't pay what we can so all we need is those players to want to come. Once it gets down to us competing against other clubs I don't see how Melbourne will be able to get a solid defender like Presti or midfielder like O'Bree anywhere else.

The more I think about this, the more keen I am to hang on to pick 7. I think there will be a handy group of players around in the PSD. Bide out time and see what happens there I think. The 3 clubs with picks in front of us would surely be in less favourable positions both financially and in terms of the salary cap.

I wouldn't be too annoyed of the only trading don next week was for more decent picks. The talk of a weak draft is rubbish. There are always good players around, its a matter of making your selections count.

Time to groom some of our own young stars and let other clubs come drooling over them in years to come.

you idiot sheehan -

Melbourne will not be able to get a midfielder like O'Bree or Pericomo from anyone else, b/c there are no other players like them in the comp. They are crap.

As for Bruce to the Pies, they could nearly offer him the captaincy at Pieland considering the considerable lack of talent they have.

Pottsie said:
you idiot sheehan -

Melbourne will not be able to get a midfielder like O'Bree or Pericomo from anyone else, b/c there are no other players like them in the comp. They are crap.

As for Bruce to the Pies, they could nearly offer him the captaincy at Pieland considering the considerable lack of talent they have.

Pottsie,

You just really lack credability. You also over-rate your own list. Presti would easily get a game in your side. Nicholson is pathetic. O'Bree, whilst we are sick of him, has cut you guys up a couple of times. It seems like Melbourne supporters have very short memories. Apart from the 3 Queen's Birthday games before this year, you only beat us by 9 points this year when we had Tarrant and Rocca out. You were very lucky and you all knew it. If you're going to post crap like that too often, no one will read you posts.

Dont waste ya breath on these pathetic mongs you idiot sheeahn.

Leave them be and lets sit back and watch them continue to lose 100.000$ a month.

you idiot sheehan,

I quote you from earlier "I've been saying all along that O'Bree or Presti and a Second Round pick for Bruce and O'Bree or Presti for Johnstone should do it.", this is where the true lack of credability begins.

I don't rate Nicho that much either, but he still beat tredrae, hall and richo this year. Lloyd beats him everytime. But I don't see Pericomo providing Melb with better options.

If the Pies are serious re Bruce and TJ, O'Bree and Pericomo surely would be of no interest to melb.

Well said Stan, even worse Melbourne had the nerve to ask Collingwood if they can share training base with us, yeah right Melbourne, i wouldnt even let those rich bunch of toffies have Victoria Park, Won't be round for much longer anyway so it dosent matter. :)

MACDAICOS - Your comments about Melbourne show about as much class and spirit as the Wallan Magpies. Go home country boy.

I agree with you Pottsie, Pericomo gets injured too often and lacks any skill. O'Bree has seen his best football and cant keep up with the pace of footy these days. would be lucky to get a 3rd round pick for O'bree. pericomo is worth a 2nd round pick

Ineedabrazilian said:
I agree with you Pottsie, Pericomo gets injured too often and lacks any skill.

Presti has one skill that I reckon a few coaches might be interested in. He plays on all the power forwards and doesn't get beaten very often.

Ineedabrazilian said:
I agree with you Pottsie, Pericomo gets injured too often and lacks any skill. O'Bree has seen his best football and cant keep up with the pace of footy these days. would be lucky to get a 3rd round pick for O'bree. pericomo is worth a 2nd round pick
How often was he injured before this year?

Country boy mate yeah it's great Pottsie, should come up and have a round of golf at Hidden Valley mate I live alongside the 15th hole, or if that's not your style pop past the Wallan magpies football club mate there's a few blokes there who would love to have a beer with you mate, you weak prick you melbourne lot are all the same, tough ass cyber talking big men!

Macdaicos thats a fair bit of crap you are sprouting

johnstone would show no interest at many clubs at all i would think, the demons may offload him to ease some salary cap pressure and we could get him cheap
i wouldnt mind seeing him down at pieland but only if it was because he came relatively cheap....dont want to give up too much for him

bruce we should target, he is a class player and would fit in very well, as would brent harvey, out of those two i would rather bruce as he offers more versatility

how much money is obree on? similar to johnstone? if so then there would be no point swapping them only for the sake of swapping

grayza said:
how much money is obree on? similar to johnstone? if so then there would be no point swapping them only for the sake of swapping

Johnstone's better than O'Bree. He's very inconsistent but you'd hope that at a new club he'd get his act together. He needs a bit of mental disipline. MM should straighten him up. We have more to gain out of that trade. And the reason why Melbourne might accept it is because O'Bree is on less than Johnstone, so it would ease their salary cap pressure.