My apologies

Norwood
I have to admit, you guys were good today. There can only be one winner, and fortunately it was us ... we really needed it.

Up to now, I never rated Carlton, but I have to admit, you have a good team in the making.

All the best for the rest of 2009, and thanks for the great game :thumbsu:

looks like you guys caught a premiership just in time... if that's the best the comp has to throw at the young blues (e.g. had to rely on the post to get the win), then it's going be a horrible time for non-Carlton supporters over the next 5 years.

Thanks, shit you guys tackle hard. So impressed we stayed in it. Unlucky to lose it but hey thats footy.

Brilliant game of footy.

I have to admit, you guys were good today. There can only be one winner, and fortunately it was us ... we really needed it.

Up to now, I never rated Carlton, but I have to admit, you have a good team in the making.

All the best for the rest of 2009, and thanks for the great game :thumbsu:

No probs mate :thumbsu:

It was a great game that could of gone either way. I think this loss against the reigning premiers will put our season in good sted.

Good times ahead fellow Blue fans :thumbsu:

Bad luck today you guys have really improved a heap.

We were lucky fev missed that goal but i think we played the last 10 mintes very poorly. It should never have got to a poster to win the game when you are 25 points up with 10 minutes left.

We got out of jail.

Good luck for the rest of the season.

looks like you guys caught a premiership just in time... if that's the best the comp has to throw at the young blues (e.g. had to rely on the post to get the win), then it's going be a horrible time for non-Carlton supporters over the next 5 years.
If fairness to us 4 of our 6 first choice defenders are out injured at the moment including our ff & chb.

We had to play a ruckman on fev who was really out of his depth when fev was on the lead. He was always going to have a day out today.

By the way Geelong are the best team in the league. 57 wins out of the last 60 games proves that. We were the best team last september but not overall.

We were lucky fev missed that goal but i think we played the last 10 mintes very poorly. It should never have got to a poster to win the game when you are 25 points up with 10 minutes left.

We got out of jail.

That's alright, I thought we played the 10 minutes before that very poorly, so it all evens out in the wash.

They're being gracious in victory (and they did still win, remember). You could meet them halfway you know.

We got out of jail.

Cheers. We're tearing our hair out at Fev, but are standing by him. Awesome game. I thought we were gone 15mins into that quarter... shows we've come a long way.

Not cool. :cool:

They're being gracious in victory (and they did still win, remember). You could meet them halfway you know.

Yep Agree. Cmon Blue fans we are better than that. If you can ever have a good loss this was it and it means even more against the reigning premiers.

If fairness to us 4 of our 6 first choice defenders are out injured at the moment including our ff & chb.

FFS stop with the injury myth.... :rolleyes:

Name them, and when they will be back playing? On 2nd thoughts, don't. Go back to the Hawks board. Come back on here when Fev slots the winning goal to knock the Hawks out of Finals....

We got out of jail.

And if you didn't have 15 players in the back 50 for the entire 2nd quarter we would have ran out comfortable winners by at least 5 goals.

Hawthorn today made Sydney look like an attacking side, Fevola had 3 players within 5m of him all game and another 3 sitting 20-30m in front of him and he still kicked 8 and lost us the game.

And if you didn't have 15 players in the back 50 for the entire 2nd quarter we would have ran out comfortable winners by at least 5 goals.

Hawthorn today made Sydney look like an attacking side, Fevola had 3 players within 5m of him all game and another 3 sitting 20-30m in front of him and he still kicked 8 and lost us the game.
Doesn't matter how you win it, so long as you do. We had all the play in that second quarter but just couldn't capitalise. Third quarter was the exact opposite.

Disappointing way to finish the game, but hey, that's footy.
We should be really pleased with the way we played Hawthorn today, are in the most part, got our matchups pretty good. Carrazzo on Hodge was a great move, and Hodge didn't have a great deal of influence over the game.

We've come a long way so far this year, and no matter what happens for the remainder of the round, we'll still be on the top 8, with our next 5 games against Fremantle (Gold Coast), Collingwood (MCG), Adelaide (AAMI), West Coast (ES) and Brisbane (GABBA). If we play to our best, there is no reason why we couldn't walk away with 4-5 wins.

you guys need to watch your backs. these hawks fans aren't giving these compliments because they are nice people, they don't think we're a threat to their tilt at the double. don't forget also that they purposely stopped Fev from getting 100 and walloped us over the last 4 years. I also remember the arrogance of the 'friendly' "blues should be like Hawks" advice all through 07 and 08.

don't be fooled ;) these hawks are vicious.

Impressive effort by the Blues today, but the "young blues" is a bit of a misnomer as they were more experienced and older than their opponents today.

Vast improvement on the last few times the two teams have met it looks like some of the preseason Carlton propaganda might have some merit this year. You might even be coming, you certainly aren't going backwards.

you guys need to watch your backs. these hawks fans aren't giving these compliments because they are nice people, they don't think we're a threat to their tilt at the double. don't forget also that they purposely stopped Fev from getting 100 and walloped us over the last 4 years. I also remember the arrogance of the 'friendly' "blues should be like Hawks" advice all through 07 and 08.

don't be fooled ;) these hawks are vicious.

Mate I love your positive attitude, and I doubt anyone would call me negative on here, but being sensible just for a minute, we aren't a threat to their tilt at a double.

The Cats and the Saints (although I still cant believe what I am seeing with the both, I thought the Cats would start a slide down the ladder after last years loss in the GF and the Saints I thought had spent their lot and were also on the down slide) are the real threats. AT THE MOMENT. But we dont play finals at the moment, and come September I think we saw the first step today in never say die, fighting Blues spirit that might just make your attitude to our chances on the money. Given how well the Cats and Saints are travelling they are likely to finish top 4 and Hawks may well come up against us in a knock out final. Now that is going to be interesting.:thumbsu:

Just as a footnote. The Cats have lost about 5 games in over 2 seasons now. They are the best side going around by a long way at the moment. And whilst we did well today, we still have to play them and for mine they are the real yardstick. The Hawks jagged one a year earlier than most expected them to and now have a host of injuries. The Cats are just going about it in their usual professional no fuss manor.

get your hand off it mate

80% of the time he was one out with campbell and the ball came in quickly. He received about half of the attention as Franklin did from your boys. Was at the game right behind the goals. One out for majority of the game, a few exceptions.

Good game today. I consider ourselves lucky that we got out of that, and rightfully you probably should have had the points. Ten minutes to go when your up by 25 is not the time to play stupid icing on the cake footy. We should have kept attacking and played the footy that got us the lead in the first place.

Seriously though you guys are going to be a force. Lots of upside from here too. Don't for one second think that thats the best we have got as well though. We are still warming up.

Yep Agree. Cmon Blue fans we are better than that. If you can ever have a good loss this was it and it means even more against the reigning premiers.

Sorry... no we dont have to meet anyone halfway...

Did the rest of the league meet us halfway when we were being gracious in defeat during the bad years... no... we were abused, insulted and derided by all and sundry and if we had gone broke and had to merge (afl conspiracy here) and had to move to another city, we would have copped all sorts of crap.

We were beat today. We do not have to meet anyone halfway in congratulating them for beating us. We were unlucky and they were.

We might not be a threat to the dawks doing the double, but we could have put a serious ding in the fender of their chances.

I rated Carlton this year, and I think they will certainly play finals. To me, the impressive thing was the way they fought back. 25 down with around 8 minutes or something to go, they could have dropped their heads. They stepped back up and really, we got out of jail.

Well down, good luck for the rest of the year.

Sorry... no we dont have to meet anyone halfway...

Did the rest of the league meet us halfway when we were being gracious in defeat during the bad years... no... we were abused, insulted and derided by all and sundry and if we had gone broke and had to merge (afl conspiracy here) and had to move to another city, we would have copped all sorts of crap.

We were beat today. We do not have to meet anyone halfway in congratulating them for beating us. We were unlucky and they were.

We might not be a threat to the dawks doing the double, but we could have put a serious ding in the fender of their chances.

Come on Dramoth, big footy and the fans have been making an effort to make this a respectful place and credit where, credit is due.

I don't think the Blues will seriously challenge for the premiership in 09, how ever i think you will make it in to the top 8 and after all you only have to be in it to win it!

Regardless of injury's great teams win most games no matter what and for the record the Cats are the best team in the Afl and have been for the last three years.

The blues had a good crack at winning the game today, whilst i dont believe you should be happy with a loss, theres a lot of positivies to take into your next game and another win is not far away for you!

The hawks won't be dissappearing to the bottom of the ladder for a while and i reckon we will meet you in a final in the near future..........

Your on the way up and it's only going to get better!

I rated Carlton this year, and I think they will certainly play finals. To me, the impressive thing was the way they fought back. 25 down with around 8 minutes or something to go, they could have dropped their heads. They stepped back up and really, we got out of jail.

Well down, good luck for the rest of the year.

Good to see some sensible posts on here by the Hawks fans.

The Baggers might not have got the 4 pts but we earnt a truck load of respect today. Plus our youngsters will have gained a huge amount of experience.

Well done to the Hawks. You might have a few key players out and a few others battling (eg: Buddy & Hodge) but you are still a heck of a football team. Hopefully a rematch in September is on the cards!