nsherlock

Rookie
Apr 22, 2012
Clarkson, wa
New England Patriots, Boston Bruins
So i'll be taking my first trip to melbourne on the weekend, aside from being a massive westcoast supporter, i'll be attending a game at the MCG, tour and all...my girlfriends family are Carlton supporters. I have been informed that i should avoid wearing the blue and gold.

Due to you guys.

Now, an honest evaluation of yourselves. Will there be enough shlick to fear for my safety? Or can i expect mutual respect oosing with total hate?

looking forward to the game that defines the season next week.

I think you be Pretty Safe as Long as you don't be a Smartass and you should be Fine.

I say you get Mutual Respect but the hate as you would get against a Side trying to beat your Own

I remember the 03 final when a port supporter got in costume next to me in the members, I got chatting to him and he said he was a tad scared to ware his colors in, absolute crap, this isn't soccer.

Sounds a lot to me like you're believing the Collihate feral garbage that opposition fans, especially on BF like to spew out to justify their existence. Collingwood fans are no different to the fans of any other club. If you go to the footy a bit you'll know that there are at least 3 types of fans. Those who sit quietly and say nothing. I don't get that but hey, they're never likely to get in much trouble. There are those who vocally support their team but know how to get involved in good natured and slightly sef-deprecating banter. These are by far the majority and as long as you can be good natured you get no trouble from them. Then there are the ferals that you find in any club. Mostly they've spent every spare second running to the bar and they spew out OTT obscenities at anyone and everyone when things aren't going their way. The alcohol has often given them bravado and they will direct their venom at you (or worse) if you so much as look sideways. These people are a minority but exist at every club. I just take the view that if you want to take them on then you are on a hiding to nothing. It's a bit like poking an angry lion in the eye while he's downing his dinner. Not for the feint of heart.

The reality is that I believe you'll be pleasantly surprised. Understand that supporters of all clubs watch the footy with half an eye closed but most, when challenged can see the funny side of their own behaviour. If you go with that attitude you can have a lot of fun at any match and often walk away with some new friends. Surprisingly, this can sometimes even be true of Carlton supporters.

Hahaha @ speedytiger that is classic.

To the OP, don't listen to those Carlton scumbags. You can wear your gear with pride. Enjoy it. The MCG is a true spectacle, a sensational stadium encased in history and with an aura never to be equaled in Australia.

You fell for the oldest trick in the book - never listen to Carlscum supporters for they are but meaningless hate filled stiffs who are scared and jealous of the Maggies and no doubt the Eagles. Like footy journos they proclaim fantasies as facts, letting their vile spittle masquerade as considered and wise opinions.

Just come to the G and enjoy it mate! Win lose or draw you will have a grouse time! :)

yes absolutely wear your gear. i recall the 1st time i realised how big the eagles following was, and how much they were prepared to follow their club. 92 second semi at the G. it seemed tens of thousands rocked up, the noise from them was so huge. you might be pleasantly surprised to see how many other eagles fans also show up.

your well educated blues pals may be recalling days at victoria park. in those days in the outer, standing room crammed to beyond capacity, stories exist to make grown men cry. those stories were spread by collingwood supporters wanting more room to stand, so it was easier to scare the others away.

so again, support your team, abuse the biased umpire, get into good natured banter with the fearsome ferals next to you.

but be warned, you may get asked 'how much for a coke & a crunchie ?' ;)

I've been to many games as an opposition supporter at Subiaco Oval.... and the average Eagles supporter is a little shocked to hear anyone barrack for the opposition. They have got a little used to it since the Dockers hit town, but they are used to running the show at their home games.

This means that they are very very sensitive to opposition supporters taking it up to them. I'm sure the Coast supporters who live in Melb. arent that sensitive but I would advise any travelling BEagle supporter to harden up, grow a few more inches of skin and buckle in for the end of the game when you lose...

yes absolutely wear your gear.

but be warned, you may get asked 'how much for a coke & a crunchie ?' ;)
Dude, I live in WA. The Highest cost of living in the universe.

Couldn't be any worse than being an opposition supporter at subi.

sounds to me that you are having a thinly veiled shot at pies fans.

Its not. I like most of the football world love to give it to you, infact the large majority of my company are pies supporters, as odd as it is it means I get alot of practice.

I AM loud, I will be shouting. I avoid swearing if there are kids around, and I am VERY excited about next week.. you couldn't ask for a better test of our skills, top of the table clash at the MCG(where we definately don't play enough at!) against of all teams but you guys.. I could not be more excited.

The only player I pick on is Judd, and eventually cloke..when he starts playing for Fremantle :)

Harden the f@#$ up mate..... Seriously sounding like my grandma right about now.

I've been to many games as an opposition supporter at Subiaco Oval.... and the average Eagles supporter is a little shocked to hear anyone barrack for the opposition. They have got a little used to it since the Dockers hit town, but they are used to running the show at their home games.

This means that they are very very sensitive to opposition supporters taking it up to them. I'm sure the Coast supporters who live in Melb. arent that sensitive but I would advise any travelling BEagle supporter to harden up, grow a few more inches of skin and buckle in for the end of the game when you lose...

I completley agree with this being a West Coast supporter in Melbourne. Ive been to quite a lot of games at Subi, and the crowd their is very sensitive to opposing supporters being vocal at the footy (like they dont have the right to) whereas this is just not the case for most victorian team fans in melbourne for obvious reasons. Just so long as your not a complete idiot,and take everything in good humour, their is aboslutlely nothing to worry about. Wear your colours, and i think you may be suprised at the number of fellow eagles fans at the game!

So i'll be taking my first trip to melbourne on the weekend, aside from being a massive westcoast supporter, i'll be attending a game at the MCG, tour and all...my girlfriends family are Carlton supporters. I have been informed that i should avoid wearing the blue and gold.

Due to you guys.

Now, an honest evaluation of yourselves. Will there be enough shlick to fear for my safety? Or can i expect mutual respect oosing with total hate?

I've been to 2 collingwood vs west coast games in the last year.

I sat next to a lovely west-coast supporting couple in the qualifying final last year. I yelled and screamed barracking for my team and they did the same. We had a great deal of mutual respect and we got stuck in to each other ocassionally - but it was all in good fun. At the end of the game we shook hands and said how good the game was and parted ways.

As long as you don't sit directly behind the goals in the ponsford stand I think you'll be fine mate.

And as others have said; don't be a smart arse. If you are a smart arse and scram "holding the ball" every time a collingwood bloke gets tackled with no prior then blokes will get stuck in to you.

I think you'll be fine.

Be careful dude as the Vic cops don't let people get away with having 'gear' on their person.** pokes tongue out** due to iPad

Do Vic cops still shoot people for that kind of thing? (I've been away awhile)

You'll be fine as long as you don't act like a tool. Collingwood fans are fine. I've sat at the MCG on days when there were 60000 of them and 3 of us and never felt threatened. Even when they led all day and we pinched it in the last minute and then I stood at Jolimont Station waiting for a train while there were 1000 of them and just me with my Eagles scarf. Now if you were attending a Richmond game, then I'd advise caution...

Due to you guys.

You have been misinformed. Wear your colours at the footy with pride.

Only dont wear them walking down Chapel St shopping with the girlfriend or walking around the city. You will look like a bogan tourist!!

My first time in Melbourne...