My Health Scare

• Thread starter Thread starter Quadzilla

G'day.

I had heart palpatations on Friday afternoon after feeling crappy in the morning...so I went to Flinders Medical Emergency about 6pm.

After tests and ECG it appeared my heart was in Atrial Fibrillation and I was admitted very early (430am) Saturday morning into Flinders Private Hospital (where I am typing this now)

What is atrial fibrillation (AF)?

During atrial fibrillation, the heart's two small upper chambers (the atria) quiver instead of beating effectively. Blood isn't pumped completely out of them, so it may pool and clot. If a piece of a blood clot in the atria leaves the heart and becomes lodged in an artery in the brain, a stroke results. About 15 percent of strokes occur in people with atrial fibrillation.

How is atrial fibrillation treated?

Several approaches are used to treat and prevent abnormal beating:

*1 Medications are used to slow down rapid heart rate associated with AF. These treatments may include drugs such as digoxin, beta blockers (atenolol, metoprolol, propranolol), amiodarone, disopyramide, calcium antagonists (verapamil, diltiazam), sotalol, flecainide, procainamide, quinidine, propafenone, etc.

*2 Electrical cardioversion may be used to restore normal heart rhythm with an electric shock, when medication doesn't improve symptoms.

#1 was to be used - aspirin, celaxine and metopropol to attempt to correct the rythmn. Cardioligist gut feeling yesterday was that #1 wouldnt work on me (weight issue and possible sleep apnea were the main blocks he figured) [he said he would love to be proved wrong] then that would mean #2 on Monday morning.

So Saturday was ECG's and tablets and injections (but as I was in Flinder's Private - TV, laptop, nice nurses .... not soooo bad)

Sundays's ECG showed normal rythmn=cardiologist most happy! (me too)

:thumbsu:

Need ultrasound today then for cardio dude to tell me what next? --- hopefully home.

I need to get serious about losing weight to reduce risks of stroke ... my Dad was 'big' and he had a stroke at 59 and a massive one and died at 61. I'm 52! :eek:

(9pm will be latest I intend to work) is my own personal goal to start with ... plus living near beach now - plenty walking/swimming!

,,, so look after yourself and de-stress as much as you can in this crazy world!

cheers

Kev

Had the same problem myself Kevin. Had atrial fibrillation (AF) 3 times in a month. They seem to think it was my tables i was taking for my enlarged prostate and since being taken off them tables for over 2 months now i haven't had AF. I've just had an operation on my enlarged prostate and i've found my fountain of youth... pissing up a wall is much easier now.

I'm still on tables for the heart (Flecainide) and tables for blood pressure (Cordilox) just in case. I'm hoping to go off both of them later as things now are running heaps better with my prostate operation... hopefully no more heart scares for me (fingers crossed).

Take care Kevin and i hope everything works out... we're thinking of you in these hard times.

cheers Pete and Marina - hope all works well for you, too :thumbsu:

Hope your ok Kevin,

Good luck with everything mate.

My girlfriend has been in hospital in and out for the past few months, they diagnosed her with having a Tumor in her lower bowel last week, so have since removed it (aswell as an ovarie which was attached) and she will now have to start chemotherapy. She only just turned 23 on Saturday aswell.

Sounds like you will be well really soon mate, which is awesome to hear. Always get worried about my old man who is a bit bigger, but has recently lost a heap of weight and he definately feels alot better for it.

Good luck man :).
Matt

Hi Kev,

I'm sorry to hear you have been unwell. I was tempted to start discussing your medications and treatment but it's way better to get the information straight from your treating doctors who are familiar with your specific situation.

The main thing I wanted to say was that provided there are no adverse events (shouldn't happen given you are under care) that this situation can be a big positive for you.

Hopefully you've been give enough of a fright that once you leave hospital you'll retain the motivation to improve your health by reducing your stress levels and by losing weight.

Exercising is great for reducing stress and can help to reduce food cravings if you keep it up. However from what I have seen the main way you'll lose weight is by cutting down on your food intake. I would assume that you'll be able to access dietician input while you are in hospital and they'll be able to help you with strategies for controlling cravings.

Best wishes.
Toots

cheers toots and matt,

matt-hope all goes ok with ya gf, too.

Ultrasound done - heart healthy - home now with meds to control it. Sleep apnea tests and weight clinic follow up thru Flinders to occur :thumbsu:
back to work thursday (pm)

cheers toots and matt,

matt-hope all goes ok with ya gf, too.

Ultrasound done - heart healthy - home now with meds to control it. Sleep apnea tests and weight clinic follow up thru Flinders to occur :thumbsu:
back to work thursday (pm)

Good to hear all is ok i know several people who had sleep apnea once they got on their sleeping machine Brand new people

Went and saw jon Stevens Sat Night he had heart sugrey last year he was saying that he went for a check up and then went and was having lunch when his Doctor rang and said sit still dont get excited ring a ambulance and get to hospital his left side of his heart was 96% blocked.The Docs all said he should have been dead

Good to hear all is ok i know several people who had sleep apnea once they got on their sleeping machine Brand new people

cheers birdman :thumbsu:

... hopefully the missus will also get a test, too ... then look out :D

Its amazing that about 30% of the adult population have sleep apnea, but its quite an undiagnosed condition. Its something that i'm dealing with atm, its scary being told you regularly stop breathing during sleep, but its something that just needs to be faced like any other condition.

If people have symptoms such as excessive snoring and tiredness, its definitely worth following up with a GP, sleep tests are available and although there is a considerable waiting period, they are free.