SlicKeR

So my first attempt at a thread, maybe kinda silly but wanted to share an experience with you all.
There was once a thread on here about how you became a richmond supporter, i remember posting that i was in hospital for the 80 grand final and my grandmother tip toed in early the day of the grandfinal and covered my bed with everything and anything richmond. blankets, pillows, caps, beanies, balloons, teddy bears etc and that was the time i started my one eyed support for the mighty tiges.
However, until recently i forget a little treasure i got soon after that lovely win.
I was moving house recently, from the middle of nowhere into a nice apartment 5 minutes from the dome, last night i was unpacking some boxes and came across a box i recognised but hadnt opened for YEARS...it was one of those boxes you carry around for decades, never open but know there is important stuff in there, with this box i was stumped, couldnt remember what was in it, so with a little excitement in the belly? i sliced open the tape that had sealed this box for a good portion of my life.
How to explain the feeling i got when i opened it...was butterflies in my stomach, some weird sense of excitement, relief, memories and feelings all rolled into one. My 5 year old son asked me what was wrong, being the switched on little fella he is, i replied to him that nothing was wrong as i carefully pulled out the old woolen style jumper, floppy collar and all, size 5 that i was given the day after the 1980 grandfinal by the same grandma that decked out the wodonga hospital in yellow and black that day.
It was in perfect condition, it had the name of every player that pulled on the jumper that year sewn into each arm with autographs by Jim Jess, Maurice Rioli and to be honest others i cant understand!
My proud moment was when i pulled it out of the box, my son was like...you bought me a new jumper daddy! and the best part of this story? is that he put the jumper on, it was a touch too big but come next year, my son will be wearing the coolest jumper to the footy, being that he is also a staunched Tiges supporter. oh and his favourite player is as he says it...Dusty Martin.
We are both looking forward to next year and cant wait for the first bounce :)

So my first attempt at a thread, maybe kinda silly but wanted to share an experience with you all.
There was once a thread on here about how you became a richmond supporter, i remember posting that i was in hospital for the 82 grand final and my grandmother tip toed in early the day of the grandfinal and covered my bed with everything and anything richmond. blankets, pillows, caps, beanies, balloons, teddy bears etc and that was the time i started my one eyed support for the mighty tiges.
However, until recently i forget a little treasure i got soon after that lovely win.
I was moving house recently, from the middle of nowhere into a nice apartment 5 minutes from the dome, last night i was unpacking some boxes and came across a box i recognised but hadnt opened for YEARS...it was one of those boxes you carry around for decades, never open but know there is important stuff in there, with this box i was stumped, couldnt remember what was in it, so with a little excitement in the belly? i sliced open the tape that had sealed this box for a good portion of my life.
How to explain the feeling i got when i opened it...was butterflies in my stomach, some weird sense of excitement, relief, memories and feelings all rolled into one. My 5 year old son asked me what was wrong, being the switched on little fella he is, i replied to him that nothing was wrong as i carefully pulled out the old woolen style jumper, floppy collar and all, size 5 that i was given the day after the 1982 grandfinal by the same grandma that decked out the wodonga hospital in yellow and black that day.
It was in perfect condition, it had the name of every player that pulled on the jumper that year sewn into each arm with autographs by Jim Jess, Maurice Rioli and to be honest others i cant understand!
My proud moment was when i pulled it out of the box, my son was like...you bought me a new jumper daddy! and the best part of this story? is that he put the jumper on, it was a touch too big but come next year, my son will be wearing the coolest jumper to the footy, being that he is also a staunched Tiges supporter. oh and his favourite player is as he says it...Dusty Martin.

That is a very nice story mate :thumbsu:

My grandparents were better to me than my parents ever were so i can relate (bit harsh but true)

as a kid i remember sitting behind the goals watching richo wrestle 1 on 1 in the goalsquare, throw his opponent aside and take the mark. i wish we could still see players do that.

seeing richo kick 9 against the dons while at the game with bombers mates that loved to tell me how 'shit' richo is :P

this year, seeing jack kick 10, seeing lids go off with a bad shoulder injury but come back on, players being knocked out and coming back on, and some of the fight shown by our kids.

but that first one stick in my mind as my earliest memories of richmond.

There was once a thread on here about how you became a richmond supporter, i remember posting that i was in hospital for the 82 grand final and my grandmother tip toed in early the day of the grandfinal and covered my bed with everything and anything richmond. blankets, pillows, caps, beanies, balloons, teddy bears etc and that was the time i started my one eyed support for the mighty tiges.
How to explain the feeling i got when i opened it...was butterflies in my stomach, some weird sense of excitement, relief, memories and feelings all rolled into one. My 5 year old son asked me what was wrong, being the switched on little fella he is, i replied to him that nothing was wrong as i carefully pulled out the old woolen style jumper, floppy collar and all, size 5 that i was given the day after the 1982 grandfinal by the same grandma that decked out the wodonga hospital in yellow and black that day.

Nice story but we lost the 1982 grand final

Literally i reckon 9 out of my top 10 would be Richo but ill give u another one

1995 i was a kid and i remember watching the Essendon Vs Richmond Final
5 goals down at half time i thought we were cooked i was sooo miserable as all my friends were Essendon supporters and i knew id cop it all week at school, than the second half entered Scotty Turner who knocked out Gary Odonnel with a great hit and went to full forward and kicked 2 goals! And Matthew Knights who ripped the game apart! we got up and i was stoked

Port Adelaide match earlier this year, celebrating my birthday with a few mates listening to the match on radio. As the afternoon wore on and we put more and more longnecks away it became apparent that the tigers were going to win. At the final siren I was holding my 10 month old son and sung the song at the top of my lungs while hugging my boy. Until that moment I was having second thoughts about whether I could bring myself to force my son to barack for Richmond. On that day, after such an emotional win (so much crap written about us in the papers leading up to that match) I realised I could not let him barack for anyone else...

There was once a thread on here about how you became a richmond supporter, i remember posting that i was in hospital for the 80 grand final and my grandmother tip toed in early the day of the grandfinal and covered my bed with everything and anything richmond. blankets, pillows, caps, beanies, balloons, teddy bears etc and that was the time i started my one eyed support for the mighty tiges.
How to explain the feeling i got when i opened it...was butterflies in my stomach, some weird sense of excitement, relief, memories and feelings all rolled into one. My 5 year old son asked me what was wrong, being the switched on little fella he is, i replied to him that nothing was wrong as i carefully pulled out the old woolen style jumper, floppy collar and all, size 5 that i was given the day after the 1980 grandfinal by the same grandma that decked out the wodonga hospital in yellow and black that day.

good onya slick, tis a good story...oh and that champion young fella of yours is a good judge..all the best:thumbsu:

Terrific story. Thanks for sharing.
My first memory is my first game in 1977 at Moorabbin with my dad. Drove down from Murchison and we stood in the outer and watched us win.
Trip home was a long one, but made good by the fact that I had started what would now turn out to 33 years of following the greatest football on the planet and a burger, Bg M and White Knight from the hamburger stand in Seymour (no freeway in those days).

Literally i reckon 9 out of my top 10 would be Richo but ill give u another one

1995 i was a kid and i remember watching the Essendon Vs Richmond Final
5 goals down at half time i thought we were cooked i was sooo miserable as all my friends were Essendon supporters and i knew id cop it all week at school, than the second half entered Scotty Turner who knocked out Gary Odonnel with a great hit and went to full forward and kicked 2 goals! And Matthew Knights who ripped the game apart! we got up and i was stoked

This was the game that got me hooked! I remember sitting on the couch with my dad watching the game. My dad was really excited but at half time he seemed a bit upset. I asked him something along the lines of.. how many goals do we need. He shook his head, put down his beer and put up his hand and said "we need this many goals". I told him that i thought they could still do it. He then gave me that little laugh that you get when someone doesn't take you seriously. I remember him counted down the goals finger by finger, looking at me with a bit more of excitement every time one was scored. When siren went, i reckon my dad was more wild then the coach lol. Its silly but i kinda thought i had something to do with it.

One of my first ever father son bonding memories came from this win!
I reckon next fathers day i will get him a copy of that game if possible.

Great story. I remember when you posted the last time about your grandma and this was a worthy sequel!

Stories like that make you realise the value of supporting a great club.
People who don't follow sport closely dismiss the passion and emotion we all feel as misplaced but it gives real fibre to your soul to enjoy such moments.
I can just hear the sphincter clenching wowsers going on about what a waste of effort such passion is considering 'it's just sport' but they are too quick to cast stuff like this aside...

Lovely read SlicKeR... :thumbsu:

Me?
Dunno about a personal proudest moment but I'm crusty enough to have already been at school in 1979.
Tigers were still not winning that much but there was an air of excitement around with a quality core of younger players starting to come through including 'Disco' Michael Roach who was starting to really emerge. (Perhaps a little similar to JR & The Tigers of today? ;))
Anyway, mid year Roach exploded & took what is still IMO one of the greatest high pack marks of all time against The Hawks.
It was shown on all of the news and was also on the front page (I think) of the HUN in colour (rare in those days).
I cut it out carefully and stuck it on the cover of one of my school books and I remember being so rapt to be walking around school, proudly showing off my hero's great effort.

And obviously it just had to be my avatar on BF + just for your viewing pleasure today:

[youtube]H6p9AmXlfYc[/youtube]

& of course the next year, 1980 was an amazing thrill... we pretty much monstered the competition and slaughtered The Pies in the GF.

When we again start to rise and dominate the comp I reckon I will feel like that again... :)

My moment has more to do with my mother rather than the club; however here it goes. I am number 6 of 7 in my family and as such learnt that you don't and can't always get what you want. When I was a little taker my primary school bought a Geelong membership and allowed students to have a turn each week to go to games on this membership. Of course there was not enough for all however because I was part of the school sports we got first crack at them so I quickly put my name up for the Richmond game. The hope was to go with my Richmond supporting dad as I had not seen him much because the folks after many years had gone there sperate ways.

For one reason or another the old man was not able to go so I asked my oldiest brother who also followed the Tigers. On the day of the game mum had managed to finally get the house to herself and was going to enjoy a very much deserved day off. My bother came past and we took off in his car (he has always driving a Ford but I still love him) before we left he said he needed to go past his house and check his phone messages (this is before mobile phones) and was called back to work and as he was in the Army at the time that was that.
We headed back home and I thought I would stay out of mums way. When she found out I was back home she asked what was happening and I said I would just have to miss out. That was when I first heard my mother swear and till this day will not forget it "bullshit you will. You have been looking forward to this for months."
Next thing I know we are in the car with Mum driving at a million miles an hour to get to the game on time. Richmond came back to post a great win, Mum got into the spirit of the old outer at Kardina park I heard my mother swear for the second, third and at the very least eighth time that afternoon.

Stories like that make you realise the value of supporting a great club.
People who don't follow sport closely dismiss the passion and emotion we all feel as misplaced but it gives real fibre to your soul to enjoy such moments.
I can just hear the sphincter clenching wowsers going on about what a waste of effort such passion is considering 'it's just sport' but they are too quick to cast stuff like this aside...

Lovely read SlicKeR... :thumbsu:

Me?
Dunno about a personal proudest moment but I'm crusty enough to have already been at school in 1979.
Tigers were still not winning that much but there was an air of excitement around with a quality core of younger players starting to come through including 'Disco' Michael Roach who was starting to really emerge. (Perhaps a little similar to JR & The Tigers of today? ;))
Anyway, mid year Roach exploded & took what is still IMO one of the greatest high pack marks of all time against The Hawks.
It was shown on all of the news and was also on the front page (I think) of the HUN in colour (rare in those days).
I cut it out carefully and stuck it on the cover of one of my school books and I remember being so rapt to be walking around school, proudly showing off my hero's great effort.

And obviously it just had to be my avatar on BF + just for your viewing pleasure today:

[youtube]H6p9AmXlfYc[/youtube]

& of course the next year, 1980 was an amazing thrill... we pretty much monstered the competition and slaughtered The Pies in the GF.

When we again start to rise and dominate the comp I reckon I will feel like that again... :)

im gonna shoot bambi

that mark..

Isnt a mark