News Nathan Buckley's Collingwood coaching team taking shape

NATHAN Buckley's inaugural Collingwood coaching team is taking shape and is likely to unveil TAC Cup premiership coach Dale Tapping this week. Tapping, who steered Sandringham to a breakthrough flag two weeks ago, has signed as a midfield development coach and will begin official duties in about three weeks.
"Nathan (Buckley) gave me a call last week and it just went from there. To be asked was pretty humbling, to be honest.

Interesting Hiring by Bucks

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...eam-taking-shape/story-e6frf9jf-1226162515739

We always knew Eddie and Bucks had been working for a few months to secure the people they wanted, and a few in reserve just in case they couldn't get their first choices (Sanderson, Burns, Neeld).

Interesting to see what his role actually is, I know that article says "Midfield development coach" but he's an under 18 premiership coach, my guess is he'll be one of Bucks' 3 main assistants (forward, back, mid).:)

Good get.:thumbsu:

good get! :thumbsu:

Very good get. :thumbsu:

A mate of mine played under him at Scotch in the VAFA A section. Had a huge amount of respect for the players and they all respected and loved him. They were shattered when he was sacked by Old Scotch in a political move.

Has done well this year at Sandi.

Would be similar to Luke Beveridge when he was at the Pies as a development coach after previously being with St. Bede's. Was hoping that he wold come back to the Pies but the Hawks have just signed him up.

We always knew Eddie and Bucks had been working for a few months to secure the people they wanted, and a few in reserve just in case they couldn't get their first choices (Sanderson, Burns, Neeld).

Interesting to see what his role actually is, I know that article says "Midfield development coach" but he's an under 18 premiership coach, my guess is he'll be one of Bucks' 3 main assistants (forward, back, mid).:)

Good get.:thumbsu:

No, I wouldn't have thought he would be one of the three line coaches. Since it says midfield development coach, I would see that as either

a) Working with our young midfielders (first to third year players) to develop their 'midfield skills' i.e stoppages, spread, etc.

b) Working on development of our midfield strategies (in conjuction with the senior midfield assistant), similar to what Paul William's role at Carlton is going to be (i.e. stoppage coach).

It says that he is to meet Craig McCrae (our development coach) to thrash out the details, so that suggests possibly the first option.

What I do hope we do (and this is probably what Anthony Rocca does) is bring on someone specifically charged with working on the contested marking and general body work (i.e. at boundary throw-ins, etc) of our young talls.

Make it an extra focus for our young guys like Keeffe, Witts, Ceglar, etc, (rather than just a peripheral skill to be developed along with everyone else) I the hopes of turning them into players capable of playing in the forward line and ruck. Take them out to the number 2 oval and just get someone to bomb long balls at them while giving them close instruction on body use in contests. It would also be useful to have an umpire present in these sessions as well instructing on how to not infringe in the process.

G'day guys,
I played under Tapps at Sandy between 2009 and 2010 and he is an absolute ripper. The club was in shambles before he came and he slowly turned it around into a premiership two weeks ago. He's got a great footy brain and is also a great motivator, and i remember thinking when i was playing there that he was too good for TAC level and deserved a shot somewhere else so I'm rapt that he's got a job with you guys. You've done well. And he is mad pies supporter as well! If there's any other questions you have, fire away. :thumbsu:

G'day guys,
I played under Tapps at Sandy between 2009 and 2010 and he is an absolute ripper. The club was in shambles before he came and he slowly turned it around into a premiership two weeks ago. He's got a great footy brain and is also a great motivator, and i remember thinking when i was playing there that he was too good for TAC level and deserved a shot somewhere else so I'm rapt that he's got a job with you guys. You've done well. And he is mad pies supporter as well! If there's any other questions you have, fire away. :thumbsu:

I think I just felt my pants move a little ;)

What I do hope we do (and this is probably what Anthony Rocca does) is bring on someone specifically charged with working on the contested marking and general body work (i.e. at boundary throw-ins, etc) of our young talls.

Make it an extra focus for our young guys like Keeffe, Witts, Ceglar, etc, (rather than just a peripheral skill to be developed along with everyone else) I the hopes of turning them into players capable of playing in the forward line and ruck. Take them out to the number 2 oval and just get someone to bomb long balls at them while giving them close instruction on body use in contests. It would also be useful to have an umpire present in these sessions as well instructing on how to not infringe in the process.

While we have the umpire, the body on body coach, the man kicking the ball long, let's also add a crowd. Seems like something collingwood will pay for:thumbsu:

Thanks Deenamite! That sounds great!!

What sort of role do you think Tapps would be best suited to?

Probably midfield, he didn't really have a line responsibility at Sandy but he'd do well in charge of any line I reckon. I'm pretty sure he had offers from other clubs, including Melbourne, but knowing him this is his absolute dream role. He's great with the younger guys, and i suppose that's what he'd be doing with a development role, but he's got plenty to offer the senior blokes as well.

Thanks for the info, it's good to hear from someone with the inside scoop! :thumbsu:

The movement seems to be towards proven good 'teachers of football' rather than proven players. The two can co exist.

It seems more thought out than the old adage of "Get [insert club champion] down to the club"

I remember Paul Couch criticising Geelong for having Brendan McCartney at the club because he never played the game at the highest level.

McCarney is now a head coach and Couch has only landed gigs doing that failed Seven football show and a shit stirring article in the Geelong Advertiser.

The movement seems to be towards proven good 'teachers of football' rather than proven players. The two can co exist.

It seems more thought out than the old adage of "Get [insert club champion] down to the club"

I remember Paul Couch criticising Geelong for having Brendan McCartney at the club because he never played the game at the highest level.

McCarney is now a head coach and Couch has only landed gigs doing that failed Seven football show and a shit stirring article in the Geelong Advertiser.

Thanks mate, you're right and it does make lots of sense.

I remember some years ago in Tassie football, a guy who was pretty much a reserves player down there, coached his own Reserves side one year.
I heard him talk for two minutes and thought "shit, this guy's the best coach of people I've ever heard"

Few year later he was a senior coach of an opposition powerhouse club.

Think of a St Kilda reserves player becoming coach of Collingwood. And then taking them to three consecutive flags.

News Nathan Buckley's Collingwood coaching team taking shape