Nathan Jones...

-Rossoneri-

Essendon/AC Milan
As an Essendon Supporter i would love to have this kid at Windy Hill although i would still rather Swallow... I here all this talk that Jones lacks pace but makes up for it with his fitness and ball getting ability. Ive watched him play a few times and he looks big and bulky but he isnt slow. Hes quick of the mark but lacks that extra gear.

I remember againts Gippsland when he just took the ball out of the centre and no one could catch him!!

Isnt he only 2cm shorter than m. murphy? Ok maybe he doesnt have the same pace, but hes not that short is he?

He might go top 10 he is the same size as basically a Mark Johnson hardly no difference... He might go later on in the top 10 maybe 7 and up i would think.

He probably should go Top 10'ish, with the biggest chances being Essendon, Brisbane and Fremantle, but if he doesn't, I'd say Melbourne at #12 would be a good bet.

If he keeps falling past there, clubs are making a mistake, plain and simple. He may not ever win a Brownlow, but is the type that could captain and win the B&F of a premiership team. Not saying he will, but he is that type.

zafa23 said:
Isnt he only 2cm shorter than m. murphy? Ok maybe he doesnt have the same pace, but hes not that short is he?

He is not that short, no. There are many quality players around his height; Cousins and Crawford at examples. Being 178cm doesnt automatically mean you are a poor player but clubs are tending to go for the midfielders who are pushing 6foot (or taller) especially earlier in the draft.

I think there are some reservations about the blues taking a 180cm player at #1. Not because Murphy isnt a good player but because he does not have the versatility to play in positions other than midfield as easily. Say for example he was 187cm then he could play off half back for afew years to learn the ropes and when he gets more established in the midfield he could push forward to create a mismatch and jag a goal ala Buckley or Judd.

theorangeapple said:
I think there are some reservations about the blues taking a 180cm player at #1. Not because Murphy isnt a good player but because he does not have the versatility to play in positions other than midfield as easily. Say for example he was 187cm then he could play off half back for afew years to learn the ropes and when he gets more established in the midfield he could push forward to create a mismatch and jag a goal ala Buckley or Judd.
You mean like Xavier Ellis ;)

:p

People reckon im stupid but i honestly can see jones going to the pies at 5.

There may be better quality players available, but he fits what collingwood needs. Obviously is hurn is still available at pick they will jump all over it otherwise jones could end up in black and white.

Collingwood are lacking in the ruck department but the best ruckman (ryder) probably isn't going to bee tall enough to be a genuine ruckman at AFL level. I know goodes anf the like do it and he is very similar to them but the last thing the pies would need is for another player to fall into the Cloke/Rocca/Fraser Bracket. Tall guys, not quite ruckmen

What do they do next?? Take a midfielder. Chances are jones wont be around at pick 23 or whatever they have so why not at 5.

Please tell me if my logic is completley wrong.

MJ101 said:
Collingwood are lacking in the ruck department but the best ruckman (ryder) probably isn't going to bee tall enough to be a genuine ruckman at AFL level. I know goodes anf the like do it and he is very similar to them but the last thing the pies would need is for another player to fall into the Cloke/Rocca/Fraser Bracket. Tall guys, not quite ruckmen

What do they do next?? Take a midfielder. Chances are jones wont be around at pick 23 or whatever they have so why not at 5.
I understand what you're saying, but we do need tall defenders as well, so a Kennedy, Ryder or Clark would be well within the category of need.

I don't see us stretching for Jones at #5. If it was going to be any midfielder, I would say it could be Swallow, for his pace.

hugh_11 said:
haha. hes good, but not that good
See, I don't know that he isn't that good.

He doesn't really have any major flaws - he's a hard at it, inside midfielder with good pace and skills. I could see Richard Douglas climbing the order, but probably not to Collingwood at #5.

Essendon at #7 should definitely have him on their board though.

theorangeapple said:
He is not that short, no. There are many quality players around his height; Cousins and Crawford at examples. Being 178cm doesnt automatically mean you are a poor player but clubs are tending to go for the midfielders who are pushing 6foot (or taller) especially earlier in the draft.

It's not a worry at all. Marc may not be the tallest bloke, but he's got the class and the footy smarts to do well in a number of roles...he kicked 21 goals in 13 games last year in a more attacking role, so I'm sure if Denis thinks he's not ready for the centre square yet, he could still cause plenty of worry for the opposition across half forward, Luke Power style.

theorangeapple said:
I would be suprised to see a player of that height and pace go top10. Late teens is my bet.
OA do you really think so??? - Adelaide would be rapt to pick him up at 16 or 17.

I understand what your saying about players of his size BUT this kid can play the game

I have question marks over his disposal. Seems to kick the ball anywhere when he gets it.
Personally don't rate him that highly because of this deficiency in his game. However his endeavour and application are first class.

Wayne's-World said:
OA do you really think so??? - Adelaide would be rapt to pick him up at 16 or 17.

I understand what your saying about players of his size BUT this kid can play the game

Look at Jared Moore last year, very similar type. Well built, same height, had a very good U18 Carnival. Many people on here were talking him up about being top10 or at least first round. He ended up going at 31.

We will wait and see but I would be suprised to see Jones go inside the 10. Wont last too long though.

bluebagger said:
It's not a worry at all. Marc may not be the tallest bloke, but he's got the class and the footy smarts to do well in a number of roles...he kicked 21 goals in 13 games last year in a more attacking role, so I'm sure if Denis thinks he's not ready for the centre square yet, he could still cause plenty of worry for the opposition across half forward, Luke Power style.

Alot of players have class and footy smarts. Cousins and Crawford have that in spades but they also have extremely elite endurance. Both players get away from taggers using that ability to run all game. Murphy did not do the beep test at the DC. He might be very good, he might not. But at that height, he would want to be.

I have been to Eagles pre season training and there is nobody who works hardeder on the track than Cousins. Runs his heart out, everthing is perfectly done. He gets the max out of himself, at that height players need to.

I am not having a dig at Murphy here. I havent seem much of him at all but my only query is that clubs will be able to plonk a tagger onto him and while he isnt slow, he wont have the extreme pace to get away. That is why he needs the endurance. Somone like Stenglien would be 10cm taller, clubs would dump Stinger onto Murphy, Stinger would be hard for Murphy to move both in the clearances and in the air. No doubt the instruction from the opposing coach would be to send Stinger forward and use that 3 inch height advantage.

While that isnt a massive issue and its a problem alot of players around that height have to deal with, do you really want a #1 having those issues?
Something to ponder.

I have seen Nathan Jones and Jared Moore and Moore is a bit taller that Jones who,I was told is 176cms.Maybe he's grown.

people say height this height that./ speaking to terry wallace in the hols. regardless of height, he believes a club should take the ebst available player with that specific pick, whetehr it be pick 10 or pick 89. it doesnt matter. he says if your good enough, u should/ ought to be draftd. Kid will got top 15 coz he is good enough, has dominated junior comps and at the highest junior level. forget about his height, look at monfries and murphy. clubs would be neglegent if they didnt take him if he was worth a top 10, favouring a tall chf type coz such and shuch retired and left a hoel in that possy.

watchign the kiid play, ball magnet, genuine midfielder. def good enough top 10, so forget about height!

theorangeapple said:
I agree with your assertions and also believe that Jones is logically a late first round pick, however, I believe that Melbourne will take him if he's still there at 12. I believe he will be there and will become a Dee. Whilst it may be a tad early he suits our mix and has been earmarked.

by the way orange,,, forget his height,, pace mate. His endurance aint a question. i played 16 nationals this year, and couldnt break into midfield coz i wasnt able to crack 13+ beep at start of try outs. and rightfully so, u need to be extreme fit to play at that level.

Murphy did it for 3 and a bit qtrs playing on ball for vic metro u/18's and racke dup possies. so dont query his endruance. if the kid can play at that level fopr that long in the midfield, he shouldnt have a problem, ill give u the hot tip. he is by far and away the ebst thing goin around in this country atm that is draftable, no doubt. will be a star, great fella as well.

Trav 20 said:
theorangeapple said:
I agree with your assertions and also believe that Jones is logically a late first round pick, however, I believe that Melbourne will take him if he's still there at 12. I believe he will be there and will become a Dee. Whilst it may be a tad early he suits our mix and has been earmarked.

Dont you think he sounds abit too similar to Moloney, McLean and Sylvia. Or is that what you are after?

No reason why he couldnt go at 12, if a club rates him high enough.

I am sure we will all be sitting down watching the draft and find alot bigger suprises than Jones going at 12.

johnson_26 said:
by the way orange,,, forget his height,, pace mate. His endurance aint a question. i played 16 nationals this year, and couldnt break into midfield coz i wasnt able to crack 13+ beep at start of try outs. and rightfully so, u need to be extreme fit to play at that level.

Murphy did it for 3 and a bit qtrs playing on ball for vic metro u/18's and racke dup possies. so dont query his endruance. if the kid can play at that level fopr that long in the midfield, he shouldnt have a problem, ill give u the hot tip. he is by far and away the ebst thing goin around in this country atm that is draftable, no doubt. will be a star, great fella as well.

Yeh, wasnt saying that Murphy had poor endurance. I was just saying that he would want a very strong engine. However, I got 12.6 in a beep test. I think Judd gets 15's and Cousins even higher. These guys arnt just good athletes, they could be triathletes, its a combination of natural endurance and pure hard work.