hawkfan5

Having a few problems with a bit of maths homework.

Forgot to bring my calculator home and the calculator on the computer's answer just looks wrong to me so can you help me out... this is the question:

If y=x squared - 2x - 3

What does y equal if the x value = -5

Can you show me how you worked it out too?

Thanks heaps, Rob.

y = x squared - 2x -3
x = -5

Therefore:
y = (-5 x -5) - (2 x -5) - 3
= 25 - (-10) - 3
= 25 + 10 - 3
= 32

Hope I got that right.;)

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
y = x squared - 2x -3
x = -5

Therefore:
y = (-5 x -5) - (2 x -5) - 3
= 25 - (-10) - 3
= 25 + 10 - 3
= 32

Hope I got that right.;)

That's what I got the first time too... but my friend had to argue and say it was wrong, lol.

Anyone else think differently?

Thanks for the help bomber spirit.

y
= x² - 2x - 3
= (x + 1)(x - 3)

f(-5)
= (-5 + 1)(-5 - 3)
= (-4)(-8)
= 32

and mate, forget the calculator :rolleyes: understand the process.

Originally posted by hawkfan5
Having a few problems with a bit of maths homework.

Forgot to bring my calculator home and the calculator on the computer's answer just looks wrong to me so can you help me out... this is the question:

If y=x squared - 2x - 3

What does y equal if the x value = -5

Can you show me how you worked it out too?

Thanks heaps, Rob.

Yep I know people have answered but I wanna do it too :D (i like algebra :D)

y=x^2 - 2x - 3
x=-5

y=(-5)^2 - 2(-5) -3
y= 25 + 10 - 3
y= 35 - 3
y= 32

There ya go :D again :D

Is this just like, normal year 10 maths Rob?

32 is correct - basic algebra.. ahhh.. that brings me back. it's simple if you follow the "rules", such as they are. just have to break it down into small operations, not try to solve the whole big thing at once.

just wait till you encounter calculus (if you do at all). now THAT is a mongrel. only failed it 5 times at uni :D :D

Re: Re: Need a little help

Originally posted by BomberGal
(i like algebra :D)
Chrissy, times are tough, but let's not panic here.:p
OK, here's an interesting number : 3.14159265358979323846264338327950288419716939937510 . What is it used to measure?:p :D :D :D

Re: Re: Re: Need a little help

OK, here's an interesting number : 3.14159265358979323846264338327950288419716939937510 . What is it used to measure?:p :D :D :D

Also known as Pie. Used to measure.....maybe i should leave this for the yr 8's?

Hehehe, I loved calculus in yr12, friggin hard though.

Hawkfan, forget calculators, they should only be used to speed the calculations up, not do them for you. Especially in yr12 when being able to do calculations in your head will save you a lot of time (and every minute counts in yr12 exams, trust me)

Re: Re: Re: Need a little help

:mad: I'm not that crazy :mad: :D

ahh, is the correct answer pi? :D (not pie as in another reply there :D)

I'll have to work out some sort of award for you Chrissy. You're leading by heaps in the MLFo tipping comp as well, so I'll have to work out something for you.:)

Pi is also used to measure angles in radians. ie 2 x pi is a full circle, pi is a half circle, pi on 4 is 45 degrees etc. Invaluable for doing trig problems and in complex number calculations.

I'll have to work out some sort of award for you Chrissy. You're leading by heaps in the MLFo tipping comp as well, so I'll have to work out something for you.:)

I'm leading? woo hooo! by how much? wait, *goes and checks* yaaay I'm leading by 7 tips! :D You got six this week? ahh how could you! I got four...my worst tipping all year! LOL. I swear, I was gonna tip Richmond and Kangaroos but everyone told me not to...so I thought well they all obviously see something I don't...now I wish I'd listened to myself :mad:

"You are ranked 6282 out of 51421 tippers in the AFL competition." Is this good? huh huh? :D

isn't pi the ratio of the circumference of the circle to the diameter? or something? *shrugs*