Neng's Top 30 Mock Draft

neng

Apr 19, 2008
Brisbane
Admittedly, I'm not a huge follower of the draft outside of Western Australia, so if there is a little WA bias, I apologize in advance, although, they won the championships so there should be a large contingent from the side being drafted. However I do love doing a mock draft, I did it last year and have been telling myself to not do it this year, there is no need, the urge overcame me, so here it is.

Neng's Top 30

PP 1 - Tom Scully (Melbourne)
Has been touted as the number one pick for over a year now and while Jack Trengove has made an impressive late run for it through the SANFL, Scully will be picked here. He is an all-round star, he has no real weaknesses... apart from having small hands ;)

2 - Jack Trengove (Melbourne)
After the championships numerous players were being put in this spot, however Trengove put his hand out and stamped this spot by playing an outstanding SANFL finals series. He an Scully together will make a very dangerous combination through the midfield, and both should be automatic round one selections.

3 - Dustin Martin (Richmond)
After getting rid of Terry Wallace, I believe Richmond won't be making the same mistakes again. Dustin Martin is a hard working inside midfielder and will give the Tigers great service for many years. His impressive draft camp will only emphasize his ability. Would be considered at pick 2.

4 - Anthony Morabito (Fremantle)
No surpises here if you follow WA football. It is no secret Fremantle are keen to pick up this versatile and athletic star. Partnering with Palmer, Ibbotson, Hill and Suban, the wide open spaces of Subi will begin to wreak havoc on 'slower' sides if the Dockers can get the most out of this man. Anyone who is compared to Adam Goodes has to have something special about them.

5 - Ben Cunnington (North Melbourne)
John Butcher would be considered here but I belive Brad Scott's entrance into the club and his emphasis on the 'shinboner spirit' will have Cunnington landing at the Kangas for 2010. He is a gutsy and courageous player who will suit the Kangas midfield and mantra. An advanced replacement for Daniel Harris.

6 - Gary Rohan (Sydney)
John Butchher would again be considered here, but the pending entrance of Daniel Bradshaw, the development of Jesse White and last year's selection of Lewis Johnston will cause the hand of the selectors to go the exciting Rohan. He has copious amounts of X-factor and will give the Swans some speed, which they have lacked.

7 - Lewis Jetta (West Coast)
As a West Coast supporter, this is just about the toughest selection I had to make in this draft. I think all the evidence from Woosha has indicated Jetta will be heading to the Eagles. Lucas would be oh so close to this selection, however with the Eagles taking many midfielders in previous drafts, I think a bit of pace and class from Jetta is exactly what we need to make our way back up the ladder.

8 - John Butcher (Port Adelaide)
The slide of Butcher has been expected after his mediocre carnival. IIRC he was injured, but he rarely impressed throughout the year. However the recruiters will know how good he could be and his magnificent hands will sway Port to take him here.

9 - Daniel Talia (Port Adelaide)
A player that can play either end of the park and has a great attitude from all accounts. A fit for Port Adelaide who have the decent midfield, but lack a bit of quality spine. In 3 years when Talia, Butcher and Westhoff are all on the same park they could be quite potent.

10 - Kane Lucas (Essendon)
If the Eagles don't pick Lucas at 7, many believe he will slide further to the mid teens. However I believe Essendon will swoop here. He has been a standout in the junior ranks for numerous years, a proven ball winner in the champs who can also kick a goal. Was given senior experience at East Fremantle this year and performed valiantly, and even when dropped back to Colts level, he shone brightly. Also performed well at the draft camp.

11 - Aaron Black (Melbourne)
With Watts taken last year, a remodel of the midfield this year (and later in the draft last year), I believe this late bolter will be taken here. Many Basketball prodigies have come through and hit the football scene with a bang, I belive Black will too. Once Brad Miller is overtaken by Watts and Black, Melbourne will have an extremely mobile and potent forward line.

12 - Jake Carlisle (Carlton)
Next best big man, will need to replenish after the loss of Fevola

13 - Brad Sheppard (Adelaide)
I heard that Port were extremely keen on Sheppard, but I think he will be taken at Adelaide, who have some ageing rebound defenders in McLeod and Johncock. After a full season of WAFL League, I have no doubt he can step straight into AFL, I see him as a similar player to James Kelly or Sam Fisher. A player like this will be damaging with a strong developing midfield that Adelaide have.

14 - Koby Stevens (Sydney)
A solid player who was an AIS scholarship holder. He will add to the Sydney midfield.

15 - James Melksham (Western Bulldogs)
A player who seems to have so much time. Has been compared to Lenny Hayes, who plays inside and out. Bulldogs will want to keep the ball rolling and not bottom out, by selecting quality mids now, will save them from doing emergency drafting in a few years if they were to bottom out with Akermanis, Eagleton, Johnson and Hall all coming into the twilight o their careers.

16 - Luke Tapscott (Port Adelaide)
After going tall with their first two picks, it would be smart for them to go smaller now. Tapscott physically will be able to step into AFL football and the loss of Burgoyne will empty more spots. I doubt Port Adelaide will waste time by leaving Tapscott in the SANFL, and with a penetrating kick that Tapscott does, he is a tempting option earlier.

17 - Mitch Duncan (Geelong)
Versatile man who could plug any holes in the side

18 - Ryan Bastinac (Melbourne)
Best midfielder available. It is said that a strong midfield generally beats strong spine ie; West Coast in 06, Geelong of recent. By building a strong midfield in the past two drafts, Melbourne may look ominous in years to come.

19 - Matthew Panos (Richmond)
I think if Richmond drafted correctly in the last two years, the spine is what they need to focus on. Jack Reiwoldt has talent, but has shown little. Panos proved he could kick goals at the carnival, and has that aggressive temperament that good forwards have.

20 - Troy Taylor (Fremantle)
Damn, I really want this boy at West Coast, because I have a feeling he may just tear us up in years to come. A player with such X-factor is going to be formidable if Freo develop him right. With a developing midfield, if they could top that off with a spark in the forwardline. Who knows, maybe the Dockers could do something further up the ladder.

21 - Andrew Moore (North Melbourne)
Very good inside mid

22 - Travis Colyer (West Coast)
Forget his size, when has that stopped Kerr or Mitchell? Colyer has a burst of speed that many will salivate over. He could potentially plug the small forward hole, then later move into the midfield. I think the Eagles will love this pick.

23 - Nat Fyfe (West Coast)
Yes, the Eagles have McKinley already, but Fyfe won't be a straight up starter into the Eagles side. I believe it will take him a good 3 years to put muscle on and ply his trade in the WAFL but many of his coached have sung his praise by saying he has the best hands on a youngster they have ever seen. A skill that contestedly West Coast are lacking. I believe at his size, he could be a hard match up.

24 - Allen Christensen (Essendon)
Could serve to enhance the small contingency that Essendon already have. He may go missing but when he does get noticed, it shows. He can be used on the flanks and be creative, probably in a similar role to Monfries.

25 - Nathan Vardy (North Melbourne)
The best ruckman in the draft will have to wait a little while for his name to be read out. IMO he is one of the best available at this pick, and although the Kangas have McIntosh and Goldstein, he could be useful in years to come.

26 - Jesse Chrichton (Essendon)
Hard inside mid

27 - Callum Bartlett (Brisbane)
I don't know much about this boy but recommended by Alexlol92

28 - Alex Carey (Geelong)
A physically ready player who would need to work hard on his game to break into the Geelong midfield, may just help him improve that bit extra to become a good pick up here. AIS graduate.

29 - Andrew Hooper (Adelaide)
Larke Medallist, size won't matter, he is a gun

30 - Jordan Gysberts (Collingwood)
AIS graduate, and will add some talent into the Collingwood midfield. I originally thought it wasn't the best time for Collingwood to enter the draft here, but by attaining Gysberts they're not doing too bad.

There is my top 30, too a long time to think about. Please leave your comments, but I won't appreciate direct criticism. If you have criticism, make it constructive and I may fix it.

Changes are in Italics

good draft mate.

would be stoked to see the dees get scully, trengove, black and bastinac.

Be good to watch that Daniel Talia, do you think he'll play better for Port or Carlton????

27 - Jack Fitzpatrick (Brisbane)
The Lions have just about everything they need, and while they probably need an inside mid, their first pick in the draft may come close to being Jesse Crichton or Alex Carey, but they had ruckman troubles this year, and I although Clark and Leuenberger will be a force to reckon with, Fitzpatrick may just provide some healthy back up.

We have Clark, Leuenberger, Charman and McCulloch as ruckmen why would we want another:confused:

Lewis Jetta is a huge risk at pick 7. Taking Naitanui and Swift last draft were enough risks IMO. Let this one slide through and take a nice safe player like Kane Lucas. There will still be indigenous players we can draft at 22/23.

Thanks for the opinion mate, appreciated. However I would like to question whether or not Jetta is such a 'huge' risk. There may be some risk involved with drafting him, but he is a proven star in the WAFL, he steps up in big games, loves the Eagles and wants to play for us and is mentored by Peter Matera. The only risk I see involved with drafting Jetta is his attitude and size (stick thin). From what I have heard across the grapevine his attitude is fine and if he is dead set on playing for the Eagles he won't pass that up easily.

would be stoked if gysberts came to the pies at pick 30. he has grown up a collingwood supporter, it would be a fairytale for the kid and the club as i persoannly rate him above pick 30. good effort mate ;)

for a long time colyer and jetta have been my fave players from the draft so i would be stoked to get them both

as for fyfe, big risk, big reward imo:thumbsu:

Thanks for the opinion mate, appreciated. However I would like to question whether or not Jetta is such a 'huge' risk. There may be some risk involved with drafting him, but he is a proven star in the WAFL, he steps up in big games, loves the Eagles and wants to play for us and is mentored by Peter Matera. The only risk I see involved with drafting Jetta is his attitude and size (stick thin). From what I have heard across the grapevine his attitude is fine and if he is dead set on playing for the Eagles he won't pass that up easily.

He is a huge star in the WAFL hey? How many sandover votes did he get? The fact that he is mentored by Peter Matera and wants to play for us will have no bearing on whether we take him. You are right about his size and attitude though. He seems lazy and will always be skinny.

He seems lazy and will always be skinny.........................be easier if you just said you don't like him.

I love the idea of him coming to West Coast, I'm sure most would agree.

That is you're opinion mate. How much have you watched of him??
And did you watch the state game??

I think he could be called a star in the WAFL if you play in the state game in you're first season of WAFL and arguably should have won the Simpson Medal.

I am on his boat, it's not that I don't want Kane Lucas, but Jetta has something about him that says 'magic', I haven't seen things that he does in the Eagles since Sampi was actually playing good footy.

On that note, I think since Sampi, supporters have been worried about drafting Indigenous players so early in the draft. This worries me because some Indigenous magic is exactly what we need in our forwardline.

As a West Coast supporter love this draft the 3 guys l want.l really like to get Lewis Jetta @7,just the x factor we need good stuff .:)

Maybe Griffiths for pick 23!I would still prefer lucas at 7 though!Very well done though.:thumbsu:

We have Clark, Leuenberger, Charman and McCulloch as ruckmen why would we want another:confused:

Although I agree that the Lions won't take Fitzpatrick...it wouldn't be the worst selection.

Charman and Leunberger hav enot played any form of consistent senior footy in years...and McCulloch is an unknown.

If Leunberger and Charman get themselves fit, the Lions have a mighty ruck division. But at this stage, it is the very raw Mitch Clark who has had to shoulder the load.

He has come on so well and could've even got a look for AA selection this year. But so young, do you really want him to shoulder the load by himself?? Look at what we did to Josh Fraser?

But I think the Lions need is for a midfielder or crumbing forward. They have the best talls up forward now and a solid enough backline.

But the midfield is reliant on Black (ageing) and Rich (2nd year player). If the Lions can add one more genuine gun midfielder to their list, they look really strong.

I would not be suprised to see Luke Ball drop at the Lions pick if he nominates.

Although I agree that the Lions won't take Fitzpatrick...it wouldn't be the worst selection.

Charman and Leunberger hav enot played any form of consistent senior footy in years...and McCulloch is an unknown.

If Leunberger and Charman get themselves fit, the Lions have a mighty ruck division. But at this stage, it is the very raw Mitch Clark who has had to shoulder the load.

He has come on so well and could've even got a look for AA selection this year. But so young, do you really want him to shoulder the load by himself?? Look at what we did to Josh Fraser?

But I think the Lions need is for a midfielder or crumbing forward. They have the best talls up forward now and a solid enough backline.

But the midfield is reliant on Black (ageing) and Rich (2nd year player). If the Lions can add one more genuine gun midfielder to their list, they look really strong.

I would not be suprised to see Luke Ball drop at the Lions pick if he nominates.

Totally agree with this, hopefully Clark will have the form in 2010 that he had in 09.
Brisbane should get Travis Colyer:thumbsu:

Good work Neng, be happy with both those picks although not sure if pick 20 might be a little steep for Taylor. Why don't you keep going and do a third and forth round?:thumbsu: