New from UK

mckay1402

Draftee
Apr 16, 2015
Hi I'm a newbie to AFL but decided on the first week to follow Fremantle. After the second week destruction of Geelong I am very happy. Can't wait for the Swans game in a couple of weeks as I reckon (from my very limited knowledge so far) that it will be between Swans, Hawks and Dockers this year...tell me I'm wrong!

Hi. I think you can see where I am from ;) Freo is a nice club to follow as it's fair to say that they received a lot less assistance than some other "expansion" clubs. They have a great coach and although some of their champions are nearer to the end of their career, there's a superb new stadium on the way and travelling to the west remains a great challenge for the eastern teams. It's one of the great things about bringing the WA teams into the competition for my money.

Surprisingly given who I support, I would still not write off Port Adelaide who have had a tough start and have Lobbe to come back to bolster their ruck stocks.

Back to Fremantle, if you haven't watched the below video already, you definitely should!

I take it you watch games on ESPN here. I listen to various shows/podcasts including On The Couch (Fox Footy on itunes), Sports Today (3AW but 6PR in Perth has a similar show), Football Preview (3AW) and SEN (check the playlist on AudioBoom).

Welcome to the great game! Are you an expat? How did you get on to Aussie rules?

I used to watch it in the 80s when it was on sunday mornings. It's on BT sport and I have every match recorded so I can watch them at my leisure. I'm even considering going to my local club in the UK (Yep we have AFL in the UK) to see if I can get a game

My nephew played with the Middlesborough Hawks when he was over there. Enjoy the great game mate, spread the word.

Just watching Collingwood v st Kilda. Great start by the saints. I think this actually might be overtaking rugby add my favourite sport

Welcome to the greatest game on earth. That game last night was a pretty bad advertisment for the game. Watch North vs Port much better game.

Welcome. Being Canadian, hockey was always my favorite sport - until I found Aussie Rules. Love this game - it will capture you if you aren't careful. ;)

A couple of "must see" videos for the AFL newbie:

Welcome. Being Canadian, hockey was always my favorite sport - until I found Aussie Rules. Love this game - it will capture you if you aren't careful. ;)

A couple of "must see" videos for the AFL newbie:

That first video is awesome! cant help think to your self whilst watching 'This is the best game in the world'. Why Gold coast? Spreading the word in Canada?

Gold Coast because I am a pretty new fan (this is my 3rd season) and felt it best to follow a new team. I liked the Suns colors more than the Giants.

Yes, I have gotten many people in Canada to sample the game and continue to preach the AFL gospel.

New from UK