SaintsPremiers08

Nuggets
I'm sick to death of Nick Dal Santo deciding when he starts playing actual Football during a game.

Up until 3 QTR time he was an absolute joke. The bloke doesn't know how to sheppard, tackle or run among other things.

I think we should offer him to Brisbane (for Brown), Collingwood (Didak), West Coast (Kerr) and maybe a few other clubs.

Kosi is not a Full-Forward. He does not do enough with the chances (I know our kicking to a lead is shocking). But he is not a Full-Forward.

Thoughts?

I think you should have named this thread 'Justin Koschitzke' and swapped your paragraphs around, because I know who I was more angry with.

Nicky Dal, well poor effort no doubt. Ross throwing him around surely doesn't help though, he is not a half back flanker, he is not a forward pocket and he is not a defensive player. All this wouldn't matter if Ross left him in the middle where he is actually damaging. He finally did this toward the end of the game and surprise surprise Dal started playing much better. That's no excuse for his performance though.

But Koschitzke, ugh disgraceful. Just think for a minute how hard Riewoldt works, outmarking two opponents in the forward 50, providing a target when no one else will, doing his best from shocking delivery, running up the ground constantly earning possessions when we're too inept to kick to him properly, working just as hard with a rooted hand etc. etc. If Koschitzke worked even a quarter as hard as Reiwoldt did, if he even just provided a decoy target, provided any support in terms of goals, marks, taking opponents ANYTHING we would be such a better team. But whilst Riewoldt has to try and do it all himself Kosi sits around doing nothing but being thrashed by an old man who needs a shave. Disgraceful performance.

Dal Santo is soft, I don't want to see him leave the club but it'll happen if he doesn't start to play good footy. He is so brilliant when we have the momentum (most of the time, anyway) but when it's goign the other way, he's as bad as Princess Fiona. In modern day footy you can't afford to be unaccountable and have only one side to your game. Until he learns to tackle and chase i think just leave him in the middle and do some damage when he has the ball. After all he is one of the best kicks in the comp.

2 years ago he was 3rd in the Brownlow behind Cousins and Kerr. What has happened to him? He is not a patch on what he was. Now plays like he wants to be traded.

Any danger of people being able to use the search function?

At least 3 threads have been created with the title "Nick Dal Santo".

Certain players in our group who are protected. Doesn't matter how inept they are, as long as they continue to rack up the 15-20 possies a game they are untouchable!

Football is like any online war game to use an analogy. Play selfish or for yourself, you'll get nowhere. If everyone works as a team, your nearly unstoppable.

Is Geelong for example so good because each and every player on there list is so awesome or is it because they work their arse off for each other?

Dal Santo isn't great but hes not alone, a lot of our players are ineffective even when they rack up good numbers. We just don't gel as good as we could in my opinion and the reason for that? I have no idea.

Mmm, maybe an honesty session. Team building exercises. Whatever we need to become a good team, do it over the pre-season. I know team chemistry comes with playing games together, but i think they would help us.

Dal Santo to Collingwood for their first round pick, which will be pick 6 - 9

Did Dal accept the invite to the team building excercise at the Geebung has he?

Dal Santo is a star, but as said, quite soft and playing in spurts.

That lace out pass to Riewoldt at the start of the game shows how good he is.

I wouldn't trade him... 1 bad year..

Dont trade Dal Santo, maybe put his on the trade tables and ask for something ridiculous just to send a message to him.

"Hello Geelong football club, this is St Kilda coach Ross Lyon, we're just wondering if you are interested in trading Joel Corey, Jimmy Bartel and Gary Ablett for Nick Dal Santo and picks 90 and 1001. Thanks"

One thing I noticed was a kick out from full back, Kosi was like...jogging towards it. Whilst some Pies player was sprinting. It's almost as if he didnt think there was anyone within 100 metres of him. Basically got tackled as soon as he picked up the ball...

Just looks out of it at times, not sure what we can do about him. But if we're looking for a trade his stocks are falling at a rapid rate...

^^^ I was thinking about that contest the other day as well. Either he is injured or he is not motivated at all. Even if he had sprinted all the way from Full Forward to get the mark there's no way a professional athlete should look that slow and tired. No point in trading him now, his values at his lowest point and tbh we haven't really got a better option as FF. If we could somehow trade him for a decent KP forward and a pick it might be worth it though (or maybe Kosi and high pick for Brown...)

Absolutely do not want us to trade Dal though. His poor form has been overstated this year due to his attitude, in actuality he hasn't been that bad and will still finish top 10 in our B+F. He's a downhill skiier that's all, if we trade him now we'd just see him cut us up later on at some point in a better side. Plus what are the chances of getting a Dal Santo class player for whatever pick we'd get for him?

Mate, harsh, harsh. Dal can work on the defensive side of his game. Watch him 3 years ago, he was much less accountable then but there was less scrunity on him because we had such an awesome midfiled and we were winning all the time.

I think one incident on Saturday sums up where Dal Santo is at the moment.

He was after a loose footy across Collingwood's attacking 50, when Tarkyn Lockyer made up ground on him and bumped Dal, who went to ground like a 14 year old. Lockyer then cooly slotted a goal on the run while Dal was still on the ground.

He's really battling.

Despite having a horror year, Dal is still easily in our top 10 performers this year :eek:

This is despite copping a hard tag nearly every week.

... and remember that if Dal isn't there, that hard tag goes onto someone else.

Imagine what he will be able to do with a bit of luck and some form.

I'd wish they just tell us.:rolleyes:

Sickness blamed for Dal Santo's lethargy

August 12, 2008

ST KILDA coach Ross Lyon has defended Nick Dal Santo's effort against Collingwood, saying the midfielder was placed on the half-back flank as he was recovering from tonsillitis.
"Against West Coast he went in with tonsillitis, lost five kilos and still hadn't put it on against Port and was lethargic," Lyon said.
"We put him on half-back to take pressure off him. He was all right against Port but we got some feedback at training … it wasn't a hard session but he rode it really hard and his output was down.
"He went in against Collingwood and he was still lethargic and looked really horrible for three quarters. But he's been really crook. When he's up and about we're a different team."
LYALL JOHNSON

Yeh i heard about that too. Birss MUST'VE screwed Lyon's wife. I dont understand why we'd play someone that's not fit.

I've had really bad bouts of tonsilitis, and running around is the last thing I would be wanting to do. He really shouldn't have played the West Coast game, where Birss warmed up with the team and they took 26 blokes over there. It was really poor management to play both Hudghton, whose calf was tight and sore before the game, and Dal Santo, who was lethargic and had just lost 5kg (!) before the game, to play that game. Maybe a fit Birss and Rix over a unfit Dal Santo and Hudghton would have made the difference.

It really makes you wonder what the decision making process is at the club. Sending Dal out whilst in that state is poor form to say the least. :thumbsd:

I didnt know tonsolitis could be passed on, if del santo has it he should not have played as he oviously passed it on to over half the team, the selectors and most of the coaching staff