Business & Finance Night Fill?

The Mighty Ducks
G'day all.

After a bit a of help. The work I am currently at isn't paying me enough. (I know we can all say that but I really am underpaid) I am looking to undertake a 2nd job as a supermarket night fill. I can work nights so the hours are fine but I was just wondering if anyone has experience in this area?

Some questions I'm curious about are:

How did you go about getting the job?

What are the hours like?

What is the money usually like?

Any help would be much appreciated.:thumbsu:

I can Speak for Woolworths

Pay (Before Tax) about 18 an hour, casual 20ish

Hours-Anything from 6-12 (usually 4 hours between 7-11) and 5-10 on saturdays, Christmas is pretty busy however, along with Easter

Job is easy as anything, Just apply online, quick interview to see if your not an absolute deadshit, and your in.

Willing to listen to music, bit of physical work and Moaning from Indians its fine

Job is easy as anything, Just apply online, quick interview to see if your not an absolute deadshit, and your in.

So why do both my local Woolworths and Coles stores have people working the registers that can't even add up change, yet I don't even get so much as a reply to my (repeated) applications for night fill jobs there?

I did it at Coles for 6 Years to get through uni and high school. The pay is always dependant on age - part timers get less than casuals, but they get the stability of set hours and usually are the last called if they need people (depends what your sitaution is like). They will still ask for extra shifts around Easter and Christmas obviously.

I thought it was a simple job - the biggest test is just remembering where things are. The hours are usually 4 hour shifts - they have to give you a break after 4 hours, so if you do more hours than that, they give you a 15 minute break. You have to be accurate with the products.

I got the job by filling out the application - they then brought you in for a simple interview, and then asked you to complete some basic counting and maths problems. Basically logic problems, nothing too stressful. I wouldn't say anyone can do it - you still need to think and concentrate, but you have to be quick as well.

Woolworths pay goes up after midnight to around 24/25 ahour (full adult) little more if casual.start at any time from 9pm to 1 am depends when they need you.The later you start better money and you get paid for your breaks don't limit your shelf just to night fill the woolworths warehouse also pay around the same pay as night fill and has day and avo/night shifts........... good luck

I assume money will be better, I make an extra 7 or so dollars an hour when doing nights.

So, money wise it'll probably be worth it. Let me tell you though, night shift sucks balls. It's good for the first month or two, then, for me anyway, it hits. Your body clock will be gone.

I guess if you don't have to study it wouldn't be so bad, but I assume you will be having to get up in the morning for your first job ... prepare yourself, it sucks balls.

I assume money will be better, I make an extra 7 or so dollars an hour when doing nights.

So, money wise it'll probably be worth it. Let me tell you though, night shift sucks balls. It's good for the first month or two, then, for me anyway, it hits. Your body clock will be gone.

I guess if you don't have to study it wouldn't be so bad, but I assume you will be having to get up in the morning for your first job ... prepare yourself, it sucks balls.

Cheers for all the help guys. Much appreciated.

Just wondering if you just went into your local supermarket and asked around or applied online? Any idea which would be better?

I don't work for Coles btw, but generally speaking if you're a casual you will get more for nightshift, it's kind of akin to weekend rates.

I would apply online & go into the shop when it's quiet to talk to the manager.

Pretty shit job. Gets pretty depressing after 6 months or so. there's only so much music you can listen to.. Plus, you'll always get someone who takes their job really seriously. I mean good on them for loving their job, but it's a nighfill at a supermarket. Never feels like you're getting anythign done either cause there is just more and more to do.

Didn't mind it for the first few months though, pretty cruisy and decent money for not doing much. Usually worked 3 shifts a week of 4 hours. It's good if you get a few people around your age to talk to, liek I did. They all left a few months into it though and it got shit after that.

Also, I disagree with Bombers_Forever, pretty much anyone can do it. Had some complete dumbarses and some people who couldn't speak any English.

used to work at coles back when i was about 16 and they had me do night fill every now and then.

thank god i love the music on my ipod otherwise i probably would've died of boredom. our coles was fairly small, so i used to just waste time.

i really wouldnt recommend it, unless you like hanging by yourself for hours on end and they allow you to listen to your own tunes. because the shit they play there would make me put my cardboard cutter through my head.

used to work at coles back when i was about 16 and they had me do night fill every now and then.

thank god i love the music on my ipod otherwise i probably would've died of boredom. our coles was fairly small, so i used to just waste time.

i really wouldnt recommend it, unless you like hanging by yourself for hours on end and they allow you to listen to your own tunes. because the shit they play there would make me put my cardboard cutter through my head.
Very true, **** working at Coles sucked ass.. But I was 16 and it was a way for my parents to teach me the value of work, and wanting to kill myself out of boredom. Every day putting on that ****ing blue shirt and pants ****ing sucked, thank **** for decent jobs. I really do feel sorry for adults who have to work there because it is my idea of hell on earth.

I quit in November after 4 years and was getting around $21 an hour when I finished (Coles). Good pay and if you get good blokes working there can be an alright job. But yeah boring as batshit and can get you down going oh sweet its 8pm friday night, I guess I'll go to Coles again. But as far as jobs paying $20+ go its one of the easiest going around and nights suit students. Just demand not to work saturdays so you can watch/play sport and stick to it.

Agree Juddy - anyone with a brain can do the job, too many people who think it is simple rock up and do a terrible job.

I forgot about the music - it is particularly painful during Christmas. Managers might let you have an ipod if there are no customers around. e.g. Our lcoal store closes at 10pm, so if you do 8pm to 12 midnight, there is two hours of peace.

Group interviews are all the same.

You'll do a couple of group tasks, they'll ask some generalised questions (ALWAYS speak up), they might get you to do a brief one-on-one interview with one of the people, and there will probably be some sort of form to fill out.

Easiest thing is to speak and show initiative when you know they're looking at you. The people who sit there in silence and don't say anything never have a chance.

i went to one when i was about 14. it sucked hard, i was pretty shy at the time so i probably got like 5 words in.

Got a group-interview thingo for a nightfill position at Woolies next week. Anybody been to one of these?

I used to sit in on those interviews for a Coles store back when I was 19 (mass exodus of older staff) and here is the best stuff I can suggest.

1. Speak eloquently. If they hear the word 'youse' as in "youse guys", "'dem' guys", "I wanna 'axe' a question" or any curse word you're automatically crossed off the list.

2. Be clean. Sounds simple I know but seriously you must be clean shaven and not reek of B.O. Also, have a mint before you go in.

3. This has been mentioned but it is important, speak up and make strong eye contact.

You have to remember the folks running the interview are just doing a job. There'll be anywhere between 8-15 people in there and they aren't going to remember half of them. So just speak up when appropriate and make sure that you are one of the ones they remember.

I'm sure Woolies will be the same.

One last piece of advice is no matter how stupid or inane the questions they ask you (and there are some shitty ones) just go with a simple answer no matter how toolish you may sound.

For example if asked 'what animal would you be and why?' just say a dog for its loyalty or a horse for its work ethic don't say a mexican walking fish for its individuality. It may seem uninspired but they aren't looking for poets, they're looking for workers.

All that being said, work in a pub. Much better.

All the best.

2. Be clean. Sounds simple I know but seriously you must be clean shaven and not reek of B.O. Also, have a mint before you go in.

This.

When you see people arriving in jeans, you know they're going to make an awful first impression. You can never underrate the effect of clean dress pants, shirt and black leather shoes. :thumbsu:

Don't you need to be 18 yo for Night Fill?

not necessary stores have a duty of care for staff to get home safely so if you under 18 (no license) it would be hard to get home.but if you worked with a brother or friend they could take you home.but in most case's stores do hire people over 18.